Again with the Fetching…

November 8, 2007

At the very real risk of becoming boring – or obsessive…can I show you my latest FO?  How about another pair of Fetchings?

908

Pattern:  Fetching (again!)
Yarn:  Studio Sport, Neighborhood Fiber Co, Colorway :  Cooper Circle
Started: 11/5
Finished: 11/8

I know some of you were tempted by my last pair to try this pattern  – but I really hope that this is the one that really makes you cast on.  Come on – how can you beat how fast these are? I finished in three days – and those were work days so I really didn’t have a lot of knitting time.  This is the yarn I got in the swap – amazing yarn.  I still have two skeins left so I think I may make myself socks.  Rose really was a very generous swap partner – this yarn is just awesome!

909

Cieara seems to be excited to have them (although apparently shy).    She typically doesn’t wear anything I make her (remember this?  Never wore it.  Sigh….) but I think she may wear these.  She has been trying them on all day – even when they were on the needles.

Yesterday, I took a lunch for the first time at my new job and took a walk to Seaport Yarn.  I was looking for a measuring tape (mine broke), some wool wash…you know, since I’m on a yarn diet, it isn’t like I was looking for yarn.

I was disapointed in the store.  It is on the 5th floor in an office building, which is odd.  It really is more like offices filled with yarn than a store.  And it seemed sort of junky.  You have to be buzzed in the door (weird for a store!) – and there is a reception area with a desk full of what looks like garbage, and a couch with crap all over it.  If there wasn’t a paper sign that said “Seaport Yarn” I never would have known where I was.  I walked down the hall – and there were offices filled with yarn (except the offices with desks and yarn and crap all over).  No apparent organization – just yarn of all types everywhere.  Great yarn – no complaints there  – but it was really just chaotic.  I would have been ok – except after I started picking up stuff, a woman came over and said “you know we don’t take credit cards – only cash or check”.  WTF?  Nothing on their web site about this – and honestly, it took me a couple of minutes to actually understand what she said.    No credit cards?  I never carry cash other than for coffee, and I don’t even know where my checkbook is!  I actually had to run out to the ATM to get cash.    I know merchants pay fees on cards, but I can’t imagine not taking them is a good long term strategy – its unlikely that people will splurge if they have to plan it upfront and bring money.  Although it was very good for me in staying on my yarn diet (sort of!). 

When I came back after getting cash, another woman (I think the owner) asked me what company I worked for – and then solicited me for her market research firm.  Total turn off.  Total.  And I felt like I couldn’t get away from her.  And she just kept on talking about how her market research business was bad and that she asked “her knitters” for help…yuck.  I don’t go to yarn stores to be sold anything but yarn.  If I hadn’t promised someone that I’d buy yarn, I would have left.  I don’t think I’ll go back  – which really is a drag since it is two blocks from where I work.  The other woman there was really nice – and the yarn was exceptional – but the whole experience just turned me off.  But if you are in the area – try it!  Maybe it just was me.

So who was the person I promised yarn to?  Larry! 

915

Larry has been feeling a little left out on the whole Fetching thing….so I showed him these.  I wonder if I’ll like them as much as Fetchings?  The pattern doesn’t call for Debbie Bliss Cashmerino, but I had to get him some since it just makes such nice, soft gloves.  But he’s requested that I finish his socks first, so right after that, I’ll cast on.  And this doesn’t count against the yarn diet since Larry bought the yarn. 

Not to copy someone, but today was Friday for me.  I’m off tomorrow – and also on Monday.  So its Friday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday and Monday.   Ahhh….and Cieara is sleeping over friends on Friday and Saturday so its a fairly kid-less weekend.  And I have knitting group.  And knitting friend plans.  Life is good!

Have a great weekend!  And go cast on for your Fetchings!