Spooky Socks

887

Before it gets too late, I thought I’d say Happy Halloween!  (OK, the title of this is really lame, but I thought I’d go with the holiday).  We didn’t get one trick or treater this year – not one.  Poor Larry – I got home from work, and he had the pumpkins lit, the candy ready – and nothing.    And Cieara was out with friends.  So he was all by himself.  But we had a nice dinner….and kept the lights on just in case.  We live on a country road – very dark.  We typically get one or two kids early on.  But apparently they all went somewhere else this year.  Now that we don’t have small kids we are really out of the whole Halloween thing – do kids still trick or treat?

I thought I’d show you the sock I just finished…..it was going to be for my step-son who just started college – but I don’t think the yarn is washable, and I just can’t see a college kid doing hand wash.    So they are Larry’s.   Nice yarn, eh?  Its Scheepjes Neveda – sorry – I can’t find this yarn anywhere online.  I bought it on vacation.   Its DK weight – very squishy.  I’m really enjoying it…sort of….

883

So I like the yarn – but for some reason, I just couldn’t wait to finish the sock.  No idea why – its not like its the second one.  I think perhaps I was worried I wouldn’t have enough yarn – so I finished it even though I sort of thought that it was a little short…

885

See how the heel flab is actually under his heel?  Yep – a little short.  You can also see it pulling the gussets in the other picture.  But you know what?  That’s just too bad – I really don’t want to pick out the kirchener stitch and add a inch.  So Larry will just have to get shorter feet.  But now what?  Do I make the second sock short like this one, or make it the right size?  Let’s just hope that this doesn’t get thrown in the wash – because it really can’t afford to lose any more inches!

So as some of you commented, Andrew’s regetta was cancelled last weekend because of the rain.  So we won’t get to see him crew until the spring.  Very sad – I had been looking forward to it.  I did get to go to knitting group though, and had a very nice time there. 

Well, two more days and another weekend!  Hope the rest of your week goes fast!

11 Responses to Spooky Socks

  1. tiennie says:

    I think you’ll just have to do it the same. Socks tend to stretch with wear, right?! Happy Halloween!

  2. Opal says:

    I’m sorry you’re so disappointed with the sock. I love the yarn. I say you make the second sock the right size. Just my two cents. 🙂

    Love the Jack o’ Lantern. Happy Halloween!

  3. Peggy says:

    They should stretch with wear, I’d make the second one the same size. Lovely yarn regardless of the fit!
    Happy Halloween!

  4. Terri says:

    Happy Halloween to you! We got our first ever trick or treaters last night and they took us by surprise. As we’ve never had any before we didn’t give it a thought. It’s not something that is traditionally celebrated in Australia, but thanks to all the American tv shows we get here, it is becoming more popular. I guess I’d better make sure I have something next year!!

  5. chris says:

    I’d definitely make them the same – they will stretch equally. We didn’t have any tricksters either – quiet night. We usually get one car load. I enjoyed the quiet, watched a movie with Dan and Knit!

  6. lobstah says:

    We live right in town and still don’t get any trick-or-treaters. It’s definitely a demographic thing–there’s hardly any kids in this town. My parents in CT live on a new-ish suburban street and get loads of em!

  7. Arleta says:

    No trick-or-treaters, sad. Eat all of the candy, that’ll make it all better. Cute socks, maybe they’ll fit you. 🙂

  8. Jeanne says:

    I didn’t get any tricker treater because I left my house dark and went someplace else. Yes, I’m the grinch of Halloween.
    I personally finish my socks a little short because I hate it when they get baggy. Definitely finish them the same.

  9. Ina says:

    Happy Halloween! Pity the kiddies didn’t get to see that excellent vampire kitty jack-o-lantern. I didn’t get as many night visitors as expected either, even though the weather was fine.

  10. stitch-dom says:

    Happy belated halloween to you! I love the idea of Larry being told to get shorter feet – perhaps he can curl up his toes…all the time?

  11. hakucho says:

    I love Larry’s new socks. Very handsome with the multicolor tweed. I bet those will keep his feet warm this winter 🙂

    Sorry about you not having any trick-or-treaters. Yes, kids are still
    very much still doing it! We had about 50 at our house, though this was the first year none if my boys took part. Finally my baby realized he was too old for it 🙂

    happy knitting 🙂

Leave a Reply

