Lillian Tank

UFO August is working very well for me….not only did I finish the first chevron sock this weekend, I finished something else too…

648

Pattern:  Lillian Tank
Yarn:  Plymouth Jeannee
Started:  July 18, 2007
Finished:  August 11, 2007

649

I made two slight modifications to the pattern – first I made the bottom in the small size, but increased after the ribbing in the middle to the medium size.  The pattern also called for ribbing around the neckline and armholes – I’m sure it would have been really cute – but I didn’t have enough yarn to do that. 

651

I think it turned out very well.    Definitely looks better after being blocked – the lace pattern needs it.    I think it suits Cieara – and I think it fits her!  She seems pleased with it  – although she said it made her hot and that maybe she’d wear it when it gets cooler.  I hope that she wears it this summer.

I liked the yarn – nice basic cotton blend.  And the pattern was good – I think this is a talented designer, and I hope she publishes more. 

Now I’m working on the Maple Leaves Scarf – I really hope to finish it in the next week or so.  I had to frog an entire sock back – it was the second Opal sock and it was just too small.  I’ve known that it was considerably smaller than the first, but just kept on going.  I was so irritated that I had to frog it completely (I was past the heel and halfway to the toe!) that I asked Larry to do it.  Grr!  I hate when I delude myself!

Have a good Monday!

18 Responses to Lillian Tank

  1. chris says:

    The Top is just Beautiful – and it suits Cieara! Glad to see you’re making progress on your UFO’s – it’s inspiring. Waaa about the sock.

  2. adrienne says:

    Your top is lovely!!!!!!

  3. Laurie says:

    She loves it! I can see it in her face. It’s beautiful!

    Take that sock and toss it around the room. Teach it a lesson! It won’t give you anymore trouble.

  4. Lorraine says:

    Wow- she looks amazing- but then, she’d probably look great in anything.
    It looks like Fir Cone lace on the bottom.

  5. Jeannie says:

    Yay for some finished projects. The tank looks lovely and Cieara looks beautiful. That’s painful to hear about frogging a whole sock! I would have had to pass on that job too.

  6. Opal says:

    Wow! That tank looks gorgeous on Ciera and she looks so happy in it. I call that a successful project.

  7. Beth says:

    That top is goegeous! 🙂

  8. Terri says:

    The tank is gorgeous and so is Ciera! She looks lovely in it. Well done you. Commiserations about the sock frogging, but you are in good company. The Yarn Harlot was also deluding herself about sock sizing this past week and also had to do a bit of ripping back. Makes me feel better to know others do this too! :o)

  9. tiennie says:

    So pretty! It is really lovely on her!

  10. donna lee says:

    What a pretty top! I love it. The color is soft and feminine and lovely. I, too, had to frog an almost finished sock and it was depressing. I lived in denial, all the time saying “it’s not too big, it’s just stretched a little…”

  11. rhoda says:

    great color and top on Cieara. 🙂

  12. darwinia says:

    What a lovely tank! Very flattering on her! I can;t wait to see the Maple leaves scarf…does this mean fall is coming? Where did summer go?

  13. hakucho says:

    You did it..finished the tank!! Yay 🙂 I’m so happy for you and it’s so beautiful. Cieara looks just beautul in it. Perfect. I bet it will be nice over a T or turleneck this fall, too. I’m sure she’ll love wearing it!

    happy knitting 🙂

  14. knitxcore says:

    awesoime, and even if she can’t wear it in the summer, she could layer it with something else when it gets cooler?

  15. Risa says:

    That top is really cute.

  16. Oiyi says:

    Very pretty! I love the color.

Leave a Reply

