Busy busy….

November 28, 2007

OK, before I get to the knitting part of the post….I’d like to talk about manners.  When the kids were little, we would have “manners nights” in an attempt to teach them manners (I’m not sure how succesful it was – Andrew, if you are reading this and eating  – get your elbows off the table!)  My own parents were pretty psychotic about manners – it was drilled into us at every meal, every occasion.  God forbid I didn’t use the right fork, hold it the right way, or not acknowledge someone in the most appropriate manner for whatever situation.  I’m not that bad – but sometimes it drives me crazy how other people act.  So – I have a message for someone. 

Dear Person I Sat Next to Tonight

I understand that you’ve had a long day, and are probably very hungry.  And I know that popcorn is sold at the station for you to eat, and that a lot of people eat it on the train.  And you bought a ticket, so it is your right to eat it on the train too.  But here is a hint – popcorn shouldn’t fly all over when you eat it.  Another hint – if the popcorn flies into the person-who-is-sitting-next-to-you’s purse – and you see it happen?  You should apologize.  Really.  Don’t just look away and pretend that you didn’t see it.  And don’t keep right on eating so that the damn popcorn flies all over you, the seat, the floor and the person sitting next to you.

Thanks – now I’m going to go dig all the popcorn out of my purse.

Whew – thanks.  I feel better already

Well, my box of Christmas stress finally arrived….

962

This is just a little bit of it – but I have some knitting to do…and some decisions to make on what I’m going to make (I know – I actually bought yarn and haven’t finalized what I’m going to make…).  But I have 4 weeks, so I think I’ll be ok.    I’m not going to say what color is for who – but I do really like this yarn.    I think it is very close to Cashmerino as far as softness. 

I did get started today – and I’m well on my way!  Can you guess what I’m making?

966

Larry and I sat down last night to plan the month – there is just so much going on.  After this weekend, we have two birthdays the following weekend (Cieara’s on Friday, Andrew’s on Sunday).  The weekend after that we are taking Cieara and her friends to New York.  The weekend after that is my knitting group party and my anniversary (12 years!).    And it is, of course, Christmas – so I also need to decorate the house and shop.  And of course, knit presents (no problem – we are driving to Maryland for Andrew’s birthday – that’s 6 hours of knitting time!).    So it is going to be busy – but isn’t that just part of it?  This weekend we are going to decorate the house, put up the tree, and start shopping (we buy the majority of our gifts online with one or two mall trips tops).    I’m looking forward to it – more and more houses on my way home have lights on, and so do building and parks at work.  I love this time of year – so pretty!

We are doing a grab bag at the knitting group party – the gift has to be knitting related and under $20.  Any ideas? 

Have a great rest of the week!