Online

Well, here I am for my Wednesday morning post – it seems as if my work from home day has become my blog day.    The problem is that I don’t actually have a lot to show you.  In fact, I just have rambling.  I think Cieara took my camera, so the best picture I got was this with my phone…isn’t that a crappy picture?  It was supposed to give you an idea of the day here – its overcast, humid, foggy….and everything is so damp.  Ugh.  Its supposed to be like this all week – with periods of rain to break it up.   I could use a little sun right about now…

photo

I was hoping to have pictures of some yarn I bought on Ravelry – I’ve been stalking the Destash group, and bought some really pretty yarn.   I’ve been waiting it to come in all week – doesn’t it seem like waiting for yarn is the longest time in the world?   Of course, I don’t remember when I actually bought it so I think I start checking the mailbox the next day.

Larry has been borrowing my laptop at night to play an online game – and it really made me realize that I’m just a wee bit addicted to my computer.  I blog, read blogs, read Ravelry forums, and do Facebook, and read the news.  And chat with people on AIM or Facebook.  But now that he’s been using the laptop, I’ve been knitting.  But I fight the urge to put down my knitting, take back the computer, and go online.  So maybe its good that he’s playing now – I think that I need to balance online with real life.    This comes at a time when I’m wondering what the deal on Twitter is and why people like it – I don’t think I would, but want to see what the hype is about – but worry – that’s online all the time – I’m having a hard time letting go as it is! 

I really enjoy reading blogs – I get a lot of inspiration from seeing what other people do – but its hard to keep up.  And its hard to blog as much as I used to do – my being online has impacted how much I knit – and not knitting as much leads to posts like this where I don’t have anything to show that you haven’t seen already.  It sort of seems to me that people are blogging less overall.  Is that because they are on other things now?  Or is it that real life is creeping up for everyone?   So what about you?  Do you still blog?  Are you on Facebook, Twitter, etc?  How are you balancing real life with online life?  Should I Twitter?  Should I just make Larry get his own laptop?  🙂

I am going on a yarn crawl with my knitting group this Saturday – I’m really looking  forward to it – its been a while since we have been on one, and they are always fun.  We are going to Kraemer’s and Knitters Edge – which is a relatively new store in Bethlehem.  And lunch.  And hopefully some knitting time…since its worldwide knit in public day!  I am not planning on buying much, but it will be fun to spend the day with friends and yarn.  Always a nice combo, right?

OK, I need to go work….have a great rest of the week, and I hope its sunny where you are!

24 Responses to Online

  1. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Due to a computer problem, I realize how much time I spend on the thing, and I limit myself to twice a day.

    Time passes really quickly when you’re online, and before you know it, 2 hours are gone!

  2. Denise says:

    Just what we need, more stuff to take us away from knitting, or golf. I twitter from time to time when I see someone knitting on the subway, and my twitter name is UrbanTransknit. Sadly it hasn’t worked out too well, it is too hard for me to figure out the camera on the phone and the internet on the phone. I have a facebook page mostly to torment my 16 year old, who thinks its SO GROSS that someone my age would have a facebook page. have fun with your yarn crawl, Brendan and I are playing real golf this weekend even if it rains.

  3. Steven says:

    Oh, it’s sunny alright. Trade you? 😉

    It is hard to keep up and I have to say I’ve avoided joining Twitter because it seems like just OMT (one more thing). I don’t do Facebook either — I find that between reading blogs, writing mine, posting to Flickr and tending to Ravelry, I’m good. So far, I don’t feel like I’m being left behind, but I do worry about that.

    Enjoy your crawl. Sounds like a blast!

  4. Natalie says:

    I barely read knitting blogs anymore. They’re kind of…boring…these days? I spend more time on Ravelry. I am not really even knitting myself for the past few months, so my own blog has been kind of ignored (although it’s become all about gardening lately!). I have plans to revamp it so it’s about all different things and functions better. But I have to find the time to do that big conversion. I twitter a little, but not too much (XUMusketeer on there).

  5. I don’t twitter or plurk or facebook or instant message. All I do is blog/read blogs, look at a few forums on ravelry and check my e-mail. I’m doing something on-line for about an hour a day but I do use my computer a ton for skype which I consider to be a better version of a phone call 🙂

  6. katie m. says:

    Hope your yarn crawl is satisfying! Sounds like fun … I find I blog when I’ve got knitting to share, since I try not to bore friends and family with discussions of gauge or yarn choices or the relative merits of frogging. The more time online, though, does mean less knitting time for me, too, usually.

  7. donna lee says:

    I’m wishing for some sunshine,too. I don’t do Facebook or Twitter. I find that I am not turning on the computer as much anymore. I need some quiet time and while using the computer is quiet, it’s not quiet time. Me and the yarn? That’s quiet. I don’t quite understand the appeal of twitter. Maybe I’m just too old or my thumbs aren’t fast enough to keep up.

  8. Chris says:

    I hesitate doing twitter because of the time I already spend online – but would it be less because of the nature of twitter? Would tweeting take less time? I don’t know. Would I then be referred to as a Twit? I’m not sure.

    Yarn never comes when your waiting on it – you just have to put it out of your mind and be all surprized when it arrives.

    Looking forward to saturday!

  9. Blog, read blogs, FaceBook, a bit of twitter, masses of email…

    Less knitting right now because of it. I need a good mindless project so I can do both at the same time!

  10. Walden says:

    I understand perfectly. It’s nice every once in a while to get a break from all the computer stuff. Enjoy!

  11. Diane says:

    I bought some yarn from the destash group on Ravely this week. Waiting patiently for it, LOL! It’s not like I don’t have other yarn, I just want it NOW! I thought I was the only one noticing the slowdown on blogs, I’m glad I’m not alone in this.

    I have no interest in Twitter, I’ve got too many other things to keep me busy on line and I don’t want to lose more knitting time. I need to discipline myself to limit my on line time . . . but the destash group keeps calling . . .

  12. Rachel says:

    I find I have the same competition between knitting and also reading (books) time and online time and unfortunately the online wins most of the time, I am trying to change this balance!

  13. Opal says:

    i’m on twitter but i rarely tweet. i mostly plurk. i still like to keep up with the blog, i’ve been trying to cut down on my time online. this is hard for me to do now that i have two shops to keep up with. plus i have two blogs. it doesn’t help that i have competing hobbies either.

    this usually means i get behind on my blog reading. so i usually do this long session of catch up and then do a massive batch of comments. 😛

  14. Valerie says:

    Dave steals my computer to play games all the time… he got me a laptop (very old very slow) and wifi for my birthday last year, but I rarely use it… it’s way too slow. I say make Larry get his own.
    I know what you mean about being online all the time. I work on a computer all day (online for at least half of it) then I come home, deal with etsy, deal with email, blogger, occasionally facebook (though very rarely.. I’m only on because its the only way I can ever get responses from one of the stores that carry my jewellry)
    My computer is in the livingroom, and it’s always on because no one I know uses the phone… we all use messenger now, but I try to stay off it as much as possible.
    I’m not into the whole Twitter thing, the world doesn’t need to know what I’m up to 24/7, I think the log keeps them updated enough.
    Hope your yarn comes soon… I have some more baby monkey coming and I can’t wait!

  15. tiennie says:

    I’m feeling eh about knitting right now so I’ve been reading and reading and reading and just joined FB. My friends and family have been bugging me about it so I finally caved. I can see it’s going to be a time suck.

  16. Shea says:

    I’m addicted to the computer too. It’s scary sometimes how caught up I get in reading blogs/Ravelry or watching tv over the internet.

  17. Stephanie says:

    I signed up about Twitter about a week ago. At first I had no idea who I was supposed to follow or what I was supposed to post, but now I’m sort of getting the hang of it. The thing about Twitter is that because one of its purposes is to provide a medium for conversation, I feel less weird about “replying” to someone and starting conversation with them. It’s really helping me step out of my shyness barrier.

    On the other hand, I’m also doing this while I’m procrastinating on a paper, so yes. It’s really about balance. I wouldn’t sign up for it if you’re content with the amount of communication you have with people over the internet. Plus, more knitting time! Sounds good to me!

  18. weezalana says:

    The weather is the same here – June gloom! I can’t wait for it to get sunny and dry again.

    I myself spend an inordinate amount of time online during the day. But I make myself turn the laptop off at night, which is when I knit! 🙂 Knitting and as a result knitting blogs in general seem to slow down during the summer months, as the weather tends to discourage having a lap full of wool. It always picks back up come fall.

    I love Facebook, but can’t stand Twitter. Frankly, that is far too much minutia for me. Heck, I don’t even want to know that much detail about my own life, let alone someone else’s! 😉 I have a few friends whose frequent Twitter updates automatically go onto Facebook and it drives me batty!

  19. kim says:

    Ah, I find that I can’t keep up either. I just realized I’ve posted once in the last month! And the comments? Fageddaboutit! I do enjoy reading everyone else’s posts though. And Ravelry is my true addiction. Hope your weekend was great.

  20. Wanda says:

    I spend a lot of time online as well. More on FB now, since it encompasses being in touch with friends and family and not only knitting friends. I don’t blog as much. I am also on Twitter and i enjoy it more than I thought I would, but I don’t tweet all day. It comes in starts and stops. I tweet or read tweets during other times of day, not usually while I”m online. I do spend some time on Ravelry, but not as much as other functions.

  21. Kim says:

    Life has just slammed me thus little blogging. I’ve decided to skip the twitter thing because I can’t add just one more blinking distraction.

    I’m in full agreement with having a little less and a little more cashmere!

  22. rhoda says:

    life has been kicking my butt left and right. knitting still happens in my life and i go on the computer as much as anyone with blogs, ravelry, emails, wedding planning, etc. going on. i am not on facebook or twitter. i spend enough time online–don’t need to spend any more! I find I have more of a desire to blog when I’m home alone too and that hasn’t been the case lately!

  23. hakucho says:

    You are not the only one….I’m having trouble finding time to do my blogging and eberything else I have to do. My PT and PT homework really has cut into my free time. I wish I could be online more but lately it just doesn’t happen. Little bits here and there is all I get now. Hopefully now that schools over officially today with a half day I won’t be running as much…well maybe once band camp is over….always something 🙂

    Take care and enjoy your knitting and blogging 🙂

  24. 39 year-old Air Transportation Experts Chauncey from Sherwood Park, has hobbbies and interests
    forr example saltwater aquariums, Télécharger Lees Sims 4 Gratuit and
    collecting musaic albums. Gets enormous encouragement froom life
    by touring places including Torre Civica and Piazza
    Grande.

Leave a Reply

