Sock club

I belonged to the Socks that Rock club a couple of years ago – I didn’t really like getting yarn that I hadn’t picked myself, and I never used any of the yarn and the pattern that came with it during the year that I was a member (I’ve used the yarn for different projects since then, but that’s another story).  I also signed up, and got in, the Wollmeise sock yarn club, but dropped out because a) it was so much money and b) I hadn’t enjoyed the STR club.   But there is something about these clubs that always draws me – is it the thought of getting exclusive yarn?  Is it the excitement of not knowing what you are getting?  I’m not sure – but everytime I get an email from someone about an exclusive club…I hesitate.  And then I delete the email, because at the end of it all – I have a lot of really nice sock yarn (that I picked myself) that I’d like to use up before I start getting more.

So when I saw the Personal Sock club on the Stash Knit Down 2009 group on Ravelry, I was excited.  You pick 12 yarns, 12 patterns, and put them in bags.  And then every month, you pick a bag.    So its the fun of a sock club – without the cost, and using yarn you like.  I had a good time going through the stash – it was so hard to pick just 12 yarns – Larry helped and I had to keep his picks under control – he has a lot of socks already.  I also added in socks for Dan, Cieara and Andrew.    I went through my Ravelry queue, and pulled all the sock patterns that I had, and then matched pattern to sock and put them in a bag.  There are some really good combos – Wollmeise, Socks that Rock, Lorna’s Laces….I can’t wait!

1124

I have been working on Larry’s cable socks and couldn’t wait to pick January’s bag.     So I finally gave in the other night, and asked Larry to pick the bag (I was afraid I would shake all of the bags trying to find the Wollmeise – its heavier than the other yarns).    So what did I pick?

january

Treadsoft Sock Yarn by Ruby Sapphire Yarns.  And the pattern?  Twinkleberry from Knitzi.  I was pretty happy with this combo – I have had this yarn for a couple of years, so it feels good to use it finally.  And the pattern has short row heels – I’ve only done them once, and it was sucky, so I’m excited to do them again – and hopefully better this time.

After I had all the yarns in the bag, and put the lids back on the tubs of my stash sock yarn, they felt much lighter.  I am really happy to finally be using some of the yarn I’ve had, and wonder if I shouldn’t really make an effort this year to use my stash yarn exclusively – rather than continue to buy yarn to make new projects (or buy new yarn to stash).  I’m not saying full out “I’m not buying anymore yarn”, but I think its time to really go through and use what I have and sort of lighten it up. 

I’m working from home today – my boss finally told me that if its bad weather to use my common sense.  So now I’m just like Cieara and praying for snow and ice!  Which we got last night (well, the ice) Anyway, I think in between meetings, work, and all that – I’ll be casting on for these socks. 

Anyone else interested in doing the sock club with me?

34 Responses to Sock club

  1. kim says:

    This is such a great idea. I am also making a concerted effort to use more of what I already have and to buy less. We’ll see how long it lasts….

  2. Jeannie says:

    What a cool idea! I’ve never joined sock clubs because I’m more of a knit what I feel like knitting type of knitter. 😉 Even if I made my own club, I’m not sure if I would have the discipline to knit that sock and pattern when I opened that bag. But I am definitely going to try to knit from stash more this year.

  3. Lorrraine says:

    Jeanne- I’m excited by the sight of the bags- not knowing what’s in them.

  4. Missy says:

    That is a great idea. It sounds like alot of fun. Can’t wait to follow your blog and see what you come up with each month.

  5. Lisa says:

    All those bags look like so much fun! A great idea…maybe I’ll do 6 instead of 12 (I honestly don’t have that much sock yarn stash…I don’t think….hmm…maybe I do? Better go check!)

    Happy New Year Jeanne!

    Lisa

  6. Anna says:

    That is such a brilliant idea! I’ve signed up for my first ever sock club this year, I’m looking forward to the yarn, but don’t react well to knitting deadlines, so I’ll have to see how it goes…

  7. Cookie says:

    I did one sock club and that was with an indie dyer that I knew would give me great colors. Even if they were out of my box.

    I love the idea for this group and look forward to seeing what you get each month.

    If you knit down the stash, you can always buy more. ;^)

  8. Kim says:

    Fab idea! I had the same experience when I joined two sock clubs a couple years ago. Guess I like the idea of a sock club. YOur January selection is lovely. I went to work today and wish I could work from home. Icky weather.

  9. Rhonda says:

    Well, you talked me into it. I think I’ll probably do 6 pairs if I can. It’s not easy when I’m knitting for 2 stores, to knit for myself, but you wouldn’t believe my sock yarn stash, I need to do something.

  10. theresa8888 says:

    That is a great idea. I think I might do the sock club with ya. I don’t know if I have that much stashed sock yarn though. I think I might have to do 6 and see how it goes with the knitting deadline.

  11. lucette says:

    I too think that this is a fabulous idea, and your first skein is beautiful. I have been going through my stash also and am excited with the prospect of knitting it up.

    Best wishes for the new year.

  12. chris says:

    I might jump in later – when I know I can finish anything in a month – right now…..that doesn’t seem likely. But it’s a great idea – Have fun!

  13. Lauren says:

    *Brilliant* sock club idea! Bravo!

    And- why even JOKE about knitting from your stash? I’m going to eat less ice cream, too. (wink, wink)

  14. Beautiful yarn! But no sock club for me. I know I’m not disciplined enough to keep to the program!

  15. Robby says:

    That January yarn is gorgeous! I read about this idea and thought it was brilliant, especially since I’m not a fast knitter. The desire to spend my limited knitting time on a yarn/pattern I don’t love just keeps me from the standard sock club. Can’t wait to see your work through the year.

  16. donna lee says:

    I’m going to check and see if I have enough sock yarn to do a year and if I do, I’ll join your “club”. The sock yarn club I belong to, artwalk sock yarn, is always interesting even if I don’t pick the yarns myself. In the year and a half, i think there was only 2 or 3 that I wouldn’t have chosen myself. I like that she forces me to look at colors I wouldn’t ordinarily see.

  17. brokeknits says:

    Good idea! Your first pick is lovely … I can’t wait to see what you’ve got in all those bags.

  18. Rachel says:

    Great idea! Good luck with the knitting from the stash initiative 🙂 I did it last year and bought only very few skeins of yarn all year long. I plan to continue this year.

  19. rebekahsyarn says:

    Now that is a great idea, I wish I liked knitting socks….although I have been dreaming about them again.

  20. Terri says:

    What a great idea. I still don’t think I could complete a pair a month, but what great motivation! And a brilliant way to use up the stash yarn. 🙂

  21. Pixie says:

    OMG! This the GREATEST IDEA EVER!!

  22. Oiyi says:

    I can totally relate to most of that. I joined Sock that Rock Club a few years ago. I was in the first round and got two shipments. I never cared for either color.
    Last year, I sold the first kit on Ebay with everything that it came with.

    I am in that Ravelry Group, too. But I am in the Afghan Group.

  23. misa says:

    I’ve wondered about those clubs, but I guess I don’t really knit quite enough socks to really do one. I love your bag idea, it could really be done with almost any smallish projects. Must use up more stash yarn in 2009. ps. I’m having a blogiversary contest.

  24. Ren says:

    that’s such a neat idea! good luck with using up stash yarn (if that’s what you decide to do). : )

  25. weezalana says:

    What a FABULOUS idea! I wouldn’t be able to stick with it, ’cause I’m a fickle girl and change my mind too often, but can’t wait to see what your personal club offerings turn out each month!

  26. sam says:

    great idea! I’m going to go check out that group now!

  27. tiennie says:

    This is a great idea! I only belong to one club now, Sundara Seasons, b/c I’ve enjoyed every one of the yarns that she has sent.

  28. jessalu says:

    I *love* this idea!!

  29. Opal says:

    i saw this on another blog and i loved the idea! i look forward to seeing you progress on this project.

    the yarn you have for this month is gorgeous. 🙂

  30. jennygirl says:

    great idea! I think surprising yourself every month will be a treat too. Looking forward to your monthly socks!

  31. Wanda says:

    The personal sock club idea is a great one! I think I might do the same, but only choose 6 sock yarns paired with patterns. Only because I’m doing the 12 sweaters in 12 months and know that I won’t be focusing on socks as much.

  32. rhoda says:

    what a great idea! 🙂

  33. […] saw this idea over here a few weeks ago and it kind of stuck in my head.  Partly because of the economy being what it is […]

  34. knitwonpurltoo says:

    This is Cookie’s fault. I’m signing up!!!

Leave a Reply

