Cable Socks

OK, I have to admit it…but I think these are socks only the knitter that created them can love…

1136

What do you think?   Aren’t they sort of …well…not the most attractive pair of socks?  I think its the yarn – I’m not a big fan of pooling kind of stripey yarn.    But I do like the pattern, do like the fit, and Larry likes them so I guess they aren’t all bad.  How about some details?

Yarn:  Koigu KPPPM, Colorway #P46022
Pattern:  My own – just a basic 4×2 rib with a cable thrown in every five rows
Started:  December 23, 2008
Finished: January 6, 2009

I realized that normally my socks are a little loose – and I sort of hate that, so for these I really cut down the stitches on the foot.  And I shortened the length by a 1/2″  – and they are perfect.  They fit Larry snugly  – not loose but not too tight.   

1140

He likes them, and so I guess that’s good – in fact he’s wearing them tonight.    I do like Koigu, but I think I’ll stick with their semi-solids in the future.    But I am happy to use stash yarn, so all in all, I’m pretty happy with them (even if they are sort of…well…)

This week went by so fast – I think it helped to work from home in the middle of the week.    It also helped that I got a really nice surprise in the mail…

1143

A few weeks ago, I won a contest on Susan’s blog, and this week I got an amazing package!  Not only did she send the cutest sheep, beautiful notecards, and Washington state candy, more Washington state fruit candy, coffee – she sent gorgeous yarn….Lorna’s Laces in Cherries Jubilee  (a limited edition yarn from September 2007).  Gorgeous yarn – I can’t wait to use it.  I was amazed at the package – thanks, Susan!

We are expecting snow tomorrow – which is unfortunate because its Saturday, and I was looking forward to going to knitting group.    But I suppose it will be nice to have some enforced relaxing time to knit, watch movies and spend time with the family. 

OK, off to have dinner…..have a great weekend!

24 Responses to Cable Socks

  1. The socks have their own special charm. And good fit is a big plus! What if you did socks like this but carried the cable pattern down the instep? Bottom would still be stockinette for comfort, and nobody sees it. But I think I’d keep the cable going so it doesn’t look like 2 ideas. And cables/ribs help create a good fit because they pull in. In fact, I think I have a pair of socks that do that!

  2. Denise says:

    I have pair of socks on the needles now with similar yarn that dazzled me in the store, and they are just killing me, the way the pooling happens. Like yourself, I persevere in order to knit down the stash. But I just need to be more selective in 2009.

  3. Terri says:

    I really like the socks. They look nice with denim and fit well. What more could you ask for in a pair of casual men’s socks?

    You did score well with that parcel. The yarn is lovely. Lucky you. 🙂

  4. Jeannie says:

    I like how the socks look. My husband would never wear socks with that much color, but I definitely would. But I do agree with you about variegated yarns, it’s so hard to tell how they’ll look. And they usually look so pretty and tempting in a skein.

  5. Ren says:

    to be honest, i really like those socks. the colors are nice and sometimes pooling doesn’t bother me. : )

  6. Suzanne says:

    Very cool socks! I love Koigu!

  7. Awesome Mom says:

    As long as he likes them. I try and keep busy yarn with simple patterns and busy patterns with simple yarn. The cables kind of vanish into the color stripes.

  8. Oiyi says:

    Wow, that is a fantastic package. Lucky you!

  9. Susie says:

    I think the socks are adorable! What a great package you received too. I can’t wait to see what you knit up with your lovely prize.

  10. rebekahsyarn says:

    Cute socks. And wow that is an amazing package! I covet that sheep.

  11. Your socks aren’t ugly, they remind me a little of a harlequin very vibrant and perfect for winter. The cables are visible even with the variegation, which is something I’m always struggling with.

    The yarn in your package is beautiful!

  12. Denise says:

    I like the socks, but would say they are more ‘manly’ (because at first I thought they were for you). The colors are quite nice, and I love the cables.
    Congrats on the great prize, that yarn looks lovely.

  13. Jacqui says:

    I like those socks! I am not usually a fan of wildly variegated yarns, but I like that warm/cool color combination. The pooling in stripes is far better than pooling into strange shapes. I’m glad Larry likes them too!

  14. weezalana says:

    I like them! But then, I don’t mind it when yarn pools, I find it funky and charming! (Yes, I am a freak.)

  15. brokeknits says:

    I like the socks! The color is great and seems to be behaving pretty well for all its colorfulness.

  16. melanie says:

    I love the socks! Pooling never bothers me unless one sock stripes perfectly and the other pools…

  17. hakucho says:

    Jeanne, I think your socks are awesome. The colorway goes great with jeans. Love the little cables.

    We’re getting the snow tonight into tomorrow. They canceled church already. Guess we get to sleep in. Don’t you just love winter?

  18. kim says:

    Well, I am more the semi-solid type myself, but the non-cabled part looks great. And he likes them! Nothing to complain about there. That package is amazing. The yarn and the sheep – awesome! Enjoy the snow… ours sort of fizzled…

  19. Christianne says:

    I like the socks! I do like solids but I think the varigated breaks up the monotony. And they are fun to work on. The package is really nice – you lucky knitter!

  20. Opal says:

    i think the cables get a little lost with the stripes. other then that i think those socks look fantastic! i think that package is fantastic too!

  21. jennygirl says:

    Congrats on the package!

  22. Lynne says:

    Cherries Jubilee is one of my Favorite Lorna’s Laces Yarns. Lucky you!

  23. Wanda says:

    Actually I like the socks and think they are nice. If Larry likes them, then that’s even better.

  24. rhoda says:

    i like the socks! 🙂 what a great package–i’m lovin’ the ll cherrie’s jubilee!

Leave a Reply

