Maine II

July 29, 2007

I wanted to share my opinions on the yarn stores I went to while we were in Maine before I completely forget about each one and start confusing them.

610

The first yarn store I went to was Shirley’s (Route 1, Hancock, ME) – she apparently doesn’t have a web site.   I was a little wary about going to this store as it advertised itself as the largest yarn store in Maine, and also said it had candy and tourist items.  But we drove right by and I was curious.  Great store – definitely worth stopping.  A lot of yarn – and although I expected something else (I don’t know why – I just expected Red Heart) – a lot of high end yarn.  Rowan, Debbie Bliss, Opal, Dale.  Lots of good yarn.  I bought a pattern and Dale Svale to make a summer top they had displayed, and then some sock yarn – Tofutsies (the pink) and Panda Wool from Crystal Palace (the blues).  They were extremely friendly, and the shop had enough to entertain the rest of the group (who bought fudge and Maine touristy stuff).  I didn’t spend a lot of time there as it was 5:00 on a Sunday (and they didn’t make me feel rushed at all), and I had hoped to go back – but I never had a chance.  If you are in the area, definitely worth a stop.

602

OK, next up was Bee’s Inc in Bar Harbor (also no website but she’s located on Cottage Street).  This was another combo candy/yarn store – very nice.  Only Larry was with me, but he was excited because she had Puff candy.  So half of the store was candy, and half was yarn – very nice.  Mostly Plymouth, but with some exceptions.  I bought three shades of Plymouth Suri Brush (at the top) for a shawl for someone.   The middle and bottom right yarns are Aussi sock– I’ve never seen it before, but its very pretty.  From Austrilia (to state the obvious!) – 90% Aussie merino, 10% nylon so its superwash.  Very soft, very pretty colors.  I can’t wait to make socks with the yellow/red/orange/green/blue.  And Bee’s also had Malabrigo.  OMG – why did no one tell me how great this yarn is?  (Laurie buys it all the time and never said anything – I think she was trying to keep it to herself!).  I bought enough to make someone (me) a scarf.  Beautiful.  Anyway, Bee’s was a great store – very nice people, and I’d recommend a stop if you are in Bar Harbor.

OK, last shop was Heavenly Sock Yarns in Belfast.   I really thought it would just be sock yarns, but although she does have a lot of sock yarns, she also has a lot of everything else.   Noro, Manos, Mountain Colors, Debbie Bliss….list goes on and on.  The owner was working (sorry – didn’t get name) and was friendly without being pushy (well, everyone in Maine is really friendly).   I bought a couple of things….

608

The dark blue on the left is Neveda Scheepjes  – I have no idea what this means, or the language but the yarn is so nice.  I think its going to be socks for my oldest stepson.  The yarn at the bottom is more sock yarn from Scheepjes (ok, its apparently a brand).  Very pretty.  And the yellow and blue is J. Knits.    I think its pretty obvious I’m moving from a red phase into a blue phase all but two of the projects I bought this trip were blue or blue tones. 

The shop also had amazing (you should smell this stuff!) hand cream and soap from Bradeen Farm.  Its called Ellie’s Knitters Cream.    I bought the extra hand cream as a give-away for my knitting group – but ….I think I’m going to hide it away and “forget” where I put it. 

609

When I was paying, I noticed the owner was working on a pair of fingerless gloves.  The yarn was so pretty and soft – I thought it was handspun but it was Noro Kochoran (50% wool, 30% angora, 20% silk – ahhh).  I just had to buy some for me too – I hope to make pair of fingerless gloves for someone (maybe me again!).  Beautiful stuff.  I really do love Noro.

606

OK, so that was it – now I’m can put it all away in the stash before I cast on for a new project instead of finishing everything else that has been sitting in the basket waiting patiently.  I would highly recommend these three stores – very nice yarns, friendly staff (and candy!).  

We had a hectic weekend -it was just Larry and I all day yesterday – Cieara was out with a friend, Andrew went to Maryland, and the stepsons went home to California.  Its always a hard day – from kids everywhere to no kids – it was so quiet in the house we didn’t quite know what to do.    So we went out to research something, and ended up buying something we didn’t expect.  Can you guess what it was?

OK, off to put my yarn away – and get the lace yarn out and mailed that I promised Chris months ago (she’s been very patient), and also the stitch holders for Lisa!  Have a great week!