Artemis

July 11, 2010

As I mentioned on my last post, I finished Artemis last weekend and blocked it on Monday.  And it turned out so well (if I do say so myself) that I wish you all could see it in person!

2455

Isn’t that gorgeous?  I know – it sounds so conceited of me to talk about my knitting like that – but this yarn is so pretty that I just can’t help myself.  How about some project details…

Pattern:  Artemis
Yarn: Fluffy Cat, Blue Topaz colorway, by Wandering Cat Yarns
Started:  June 5, 2010
Finished:  July 4, 2010

2460

Ignore the left side of the shawl – I didn’t realize that it was like that until after I uploaded the pictures (and the shawl isn’t here so I can’t take more) – in reality the left side of the shawl was as nice as the right side.    This was a very nice shawl pattern – the body of it was done in a ribbing type style – I really blocked it out and love how it came out.  The pattern was interesting, but a fast knit – my favorite kind!  I was afraid that I was going to run out of yarn;  I checked with Valerie (the designer) and she had enough when she made hers, but I was chicken and didn’t think I had enough yarn so I skipped the last chart – looking at the ball I had left I probably did have enough though – and should have just gone for it.  Next time!

I can’t say enough good things about this yarn – it’s an alpaca/silk/cashmere blend, and it is so nice to work with.  After blocking the shawl was so light and airy – and so silky and had wonderful drape.  The colorway is beautiful too – this just seemed like the best color to knit in the summer – it reminds me of our pool.  I really love this yarn, and I’m so glad that I have another skein in my stash (similar colorway but it has some green in it).

2451

All in all, a very successful project.    Half way through it I decided to give this to my niece – she loves blue and I thought she’d like it.   I gave it to her last weekend – she did love it, but she’s moving to Ft. Lauderdale at the end of the summer, so I’m not sure how much use she’ll get out of it.    But it is such a cute shawl that I just may have to make another one for me!

I started another project last weekend – and I”ll show pictures next time.  It won’t be a surprise to hear that it’s a shawl – and one with a knitted on edging.  I’ve never done that before, and it took me a little bit to get my mind around how to do it.   I finally found pictures online that helped me figure it out – I really don’t know how I’d learn things without the internet – how did knitters do it in the old days?   Anyway, I’m not to that point, but I’m looking forward to getting to it.

I’ve also been spinning a bit this weekend – I don’t know why, but I think it’s all the blog posts of spinning for the Tour de Fleece finally got me back to my wheel – I hadn’t spun in over a year!   But this weekend, I’ve been sitting and spinning and listening to audio books – it is really relaxing, and I finished up some yarn that I had on the bobbins for the longest time.  It was a great feeling to wind it off – I should have pictures of it next time – I can’t say its the best yarn I’ve ever done, but its done.   Its enough for a cowl or hat, and I think I’ll start something with it soon.  I love knitting with hand-spun – there is something so satisfying about the whole end to end process!

OK, I think I’ll go spin a little more.  Have a great week!