Cashmere Lace Scarf

I started this post 20 minutes ago and sat here with a blank screen, hands on the keyboard while I stared at the TV – Food Network was on and I got completely distracted by it.  We are huge Food Network fans, and I like most of the shows.  But they always make me hungry and now I really want to go make Lemon Tea Cakes (I’m not a huge fan of Sandra Lee, but the cakes look so good!).  Ahem…sorry…back to knitting…

I finished something last weekend – finally!

2431

Isn’t that nice?  Can’t you just see how soft and fluffy it is?

Pattern:  Party Lace Scarf
Yarn:  Filatura Di Crosa Golden Line Superior
Started:  April 4, 2010
Finished: June 20, 2010

Cashmere and silk…how can you go wrong?  This was amazing yarn  – it was so soft, and I enjoyed every bit of knitting with it.  It was a little fluffy – sort of like Kidsilk Haze so I don’t think it would be good for something that requires a huge amount of stitch definition, but it was great for this type of pattern.   My mother asked me to knit a scarf for her friend  – the friend had knit my Mom a scarf, and Mom wanted to give her something special back.  My Mom can’t knit lace anymore due to vision limitations, so I was happy to help.   We went to her LYS when I visited her in February and she picked out the yarn – the minute we felt it we knew it was the perfect yarn for a special gift!

I blocked the scarf after I finished it, and it really blocked well.  It completely made the scarf, I think – it looked so much nicer when it was blocked out and the yarn handled it well.  It became very airy and light – and the cashmere/silk blend is so soft .

2433

I really liked the pattern – very very easy to knit, and was great commute knitting.  I think you could use any type of yarn for this – the cashmere was laceweight, but I think fingering weight would work as well.  But I do think a solid/semi-solid colorway would be best – its not an obvious pattern so having varigation in the yarn would completely hide it.   This is a great scarf for a single skein of special yarn (like cashmere/silk!) – it only calls for 227 yards but since its a scarf, you could make it however long you want. I didn’t think my mother’s friend would  want a super long scarf so didn’t use all of the 330 yards that were in the ball that I was using (and to be honest, I was ready to be done with this project so I kept on trying it on and the minute I thought it was long enough it was done!).

2439

The pattern calls for beads on the ends of the scarf – just a single row as an accent.  I like that, and thought it added a little something.  But I wish I hadn’t used the beads I did – I just used a clear bead because its what I had around the house.  If I made this again, I’d probably buy beads that blend in a little better  – the clear just sort of were fake plastic looking.  I think a darker blue would have been nice.  But I’m trying to use what I have and not buy stuff for every project, so I was happy to at least have done that.

2436

So there you go – another successful knit.  I love the yarn and I’m so glad my mother bought me a second  ball to pay me for knitting this for her to give her friend.    I have to recommend the pattern as well – simple and easy, but I think it really comes out well and is a great pattern to use for a small skein of special yarn.

I hate to say this because my last three posts have said this – but I’m almost done with Artemis – I just have 6 rows to go.  I had to modify the pattern a little – I am running out of yarn and couldn’t do the last bit of the second chart so I’m going  just do the final chart (with a little tweaking to make it work).  I contacted Valerie, the designer, to see if she had run out of yarn – she didn’t and had yarn left over so I think I must be knitting it at a different gauge or something.  I never do gauge swatches for shawls – but perhaps I should really consider that!    I hate the feeling of running out of yarn – I stop at the end of every row and look at the ball of yarn and try to figure out if I have enough.  Valerie did offer to dye me some more of this colorway so we’ll see – if I can’t get the 6 rows done I may consider that.  Anyway – I can’t wait to show you the shawl because its very pretty – and the yarn – so nice!

Its been a busy week here – and yet I can’t really say why – don’t you hate weeks like that?  I’m very glad its the weekend – no major plans other than walking the dogs, maybe a movie.  Its been so hot here and muggy that I’m not too motivated to spend a lot of time outside – but maybe tomorrow I’ll hang out by the pool and knit in the shade!

Have a great weekend!

28 Responses to Cashmere Lace Scarf

  1. Denise says:

    I added that scarf right to my rav queue, so pretty. I have been working on that log cabin blanket as a gift for my friend Lynn who turns the big 5 – 0 next week, also a sweater for me, so I need something more portable.

  2. Deb says:

    Beautiful! Love the color and the pattern. And I’m sure if I could feel it, I’d love that too!

  3. weezalana says:

    That is SO pretty! Gorgeous color, and oh so fluffy, too!

  4. Oiyi says:

    It’s gorgeous and it must be so soft. Simply luxurious! I am also a big Food Netwrk fan. I hate watching it late at night because it makes me so hungry.

  5. Rhonda says:

    I love that pattern, and the colour is beautiful.

  6. Elspeth says:

    That is just gorgeous!

  7. kim says:

    This scarf is absolutely gorgeous! I may start the pattern right now! Hope things are getting more normal for you. Have a great weekend.

  8. Shea says:

    Wow is that pretty!

  9. That is a very beautiful scarf, and I love the beads. Even if they’re just clear!

  10. rhoda says:

    i’ve had this scarf on my to do list ever since I first saw it online but have yet to find the right yarn for it. yours is absolutely beautiful. in fact i like it better than the original! 🙂 i hadn’t realized the beads were only called for on the ends. i thought it was throughout. it’s still a beauty!

  11. redfear says:

    Yours turned out so beautifully!!! The beads are just perfect – adds just the right touch without over-doing it. wow!

  12. craftivore says:

    Whoa, that is seriously beautiful. You are the queen of lace, I bow before you.

  13. chris says:

    So pretty! The scarf really came out so nice – I’m sure your Mom’s friend will be so happy with it.

  14. Valerie says:

    The scarf turned out beautifully! love that lace pattern

  15. donna lee says:

    Wow, Jeanne. That looks so soft and touchable. Fuzzy but not overly so. I love the pattern

  16. donna lee says:

    Wow, Jeanne. That looks so soft and touchable. Fuzzy but not overly so. I love the pattern, I’m working on a lace scarf pattern with a cashmere yarn and I’m loving the ease of it.

  17. Steven says:

    Everything about this scarf is stunning. Beautiful!

  18. Rebekah says:

    Oh I love it, in fact I think I now have decided this indeed will be my quivit project. now I just have to work up the determination to part with my quivit yarn.

    I’m having knitting anxiety lately, I just can’t decide what to do so I didn’t knit a stitch all weekend! I think I may be dyeing. 🙂

  19. What a beautiful scarf!

    I like the way the beads pop. I hate it when they blend in so well you can’t tell they are there!

  20. socksformum says:

    This scarf is so beautiful, Jeanne! I’ve already checked out the pattern and the yarn which usually takes me down a slippery slope to another project. The lemon tea cakes look yummy…I love anything lemony.

  21. Kim says:

    What a lovely gift, your Mother’s friend will be thrilled! The yarn worked so well with the pattern – great choice. It has to be incredibly soft!

  22. Anna says:

    That is beautiful! Love the colour, love the lace, love the beads. I think they look really pretty actually. Good job!

  23. Lina says:

    Beautiful! I love the color and that you used the beads you did. It’s so nice to use up what you already have sometimes. 🙂

  24. Stephanie says:

    Oh, pretty! I want to reach out and pull it next to my neck. What a great scarf!

  25. brokeknits says:

    Gorgeous and fluffy!

  26. hakucho says:

    Your scarf is gorgeous…oh, the color is to die for 🙂
    Great photography!!

    happy 4th 🙂

  27. opal says:

    i’m in love! with the color and the pattern! what a great job you did. the beads really make it special.

Leave a Reply

