Purple

If you look at my Ravelry project page, you’ll see that I’m in a pretty big rut – everything that I’m currently working on is blue.  I don’t know why that happens, but I’ve always been that way – in my life, and in my knitting.    I will stick with certain colors all of the time, even if I think I should have other colors around (like my clothes – mostly black, or the family room/kitchen – lots of red).  Anyway, the blue phase of knitting has been going on for some time  – but I think that it may be changing soon…

Not too far from blue, but judging on my two recent yarn purchases, I’d say purple is the next “stuck in a rut” color!

2429

This is Wandering Cat Alley Cat yarn in the Grapes of Wrath colorway.  Alley Cat is a Merino/Nylon blend and its fingering weight.  I think it’s going to be very pretty knit up – I just need to come up with the best patter for it.

I placed a Loopy Ewe order a couple of weeks ago for the yarn for the Peaks hood – and couldn’t resist throwing in a little Malabrigo.

2425

This is Malabrigo lace weight in the Cuarzo colorway.  I saw it online, and just loved it – and then when I got it and also saw the Wandering Cat yarn, I just had to laugh.  I guess I’m shading away from blue to purple!

So hard to decide which one to start something with – so they both have been sitting out where I see them all the time.   I’m trying to finish up two of my current projects – I have about 30 rows to go on the Artemis shawl and its knitting up quickly.  I’m a little worried that I’m going to run out of yarn because the ball seems a little small, but I suppose worse case I’ll improvise something.    My cashmere scarf is now long enough so I just had to do the beaded row and cast off.  I think I may do that today – assuming I can find where I put the beads!  The scarf is beautiful – so soft.  I’m going to block it so that the lace pops but I think this will be done today.    Once these two are done, I need to get a commute knitting project going – so socks or scarf?  What do you think?

We are having a very quiet weekend.  We did a little shopping yesterday (food, clothes, dog toys) and then went out to dinner.  We went to a local restaurant, sat outside and it was just so nice.   I know that in the blink of an eye it will be cold again, so its nice to be able to spend as much time outdoors as we can.  Today we are having a lazy day – Cieara is coming over for lunch, and Dan for dinner to see Larry for Father’s Day.    I’m going to be attempting to make a home-made banana cream pie  (it was so tempting to do a cheater pie with a store-bought graham cracker crust and some jello pudding mix!).  I haven’t made home-made pudding in a long long time so I hope it works out.     Other than that, its going to be really hot here so I’m planning on just hanging out by the pool, knitting and relaxing.

Our hydrangea are blooming – a little weird this year – normally they are all blue, but this year they are light blue with a white center.  I have no idea why, but it’s very pretty!

flower

OK, I’m off – happy Sunday (and Father’s Day if you celebrate!)

17 Responses to Purple

  1. Kim says:

    Just love your new purple yarns! I would encourage you to do socks only because I’ve been wanting to do socks for a long while and just haven’t gotten to it. I plan to live vicariously through you!

    Hope your Father’s Day celebrations are wonderful!

  2. Anna says:

    Well, if the yarns are as lovely as those purples, I would say that was a pretty good rut in which to be stuck!

  3. Steven says:

    I think if you’re ready to move on from your “blue period,” then purple is a most excellent choice! I’m jealous of your ability to eat outside in the evening, really jealous of Larry for getting a banana cream pie! Hope your family enjoys Father’s Day. Sounds ideal.

    Oh — and I think the color of your hydrangeas has to do with the pH level of the soil it’s growing in, Maybe it changed from last years? This link might help:

    http://www.hydrangeashydrangeas.com/colorchange.html

  4. There’s nothing wrong with blue, and there’s nothing wrong with purple, either! My three faves: blue, deep pink, purple. Knitting purple right now.

    Have a lovely day. I made my first graham cracker crusts this last week: fresh strawberry pies. I wish I’d known how easy they are a long time ago…

  5. Rachel says:

    Purples are always good in my book and your flower is beautiful (you don’t think I can spell that name or do you? hehehe)

  6. Rhonda says:

    Purple will always be one of my top choices. Can’t wait to see the lace knit up.

  7. Oiyi says:

    Oh I love the purple yarn! Melody has become obsessed with Purple recently. She points out everything that is purple.

  8. Lina says:

    I go through color ruts as well! I don’t think there’s anything at all wrong with it, though. 🙂

    Oh and those are some lovely skeins of purple!

  9. I know what you mean about color phases. I’ll suddenly realize I have three or four green (or blue or yellow, etc.) things on the needles at once.

    I’m knitting a shawl with Malabrigo Lace (Citron) and it is lovely stuff!

  10. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I love the purple yarns- lovely choices.

    mmmm- banana cream pie sounds yummy!

  11. Valerie says:

    I get in colour ruts too – but mine are usually green 🙂

    i was told by a garden centre that putting copper nails in the soil around your hydrangeas will help make them blue.

  12. brokeknits says:

    Oooh, I love that Malabrigo! Yay for the purple phase!

  13. Rebekah says:

    Well if you have to pick a color to be in a rut in, blue and purple are definitely very versatile and sooooo many shades. We went to a yarn store on Friday in Iowa and I coulden’t stay away from the green yarn. My personal favorite color, it was a good thing their power was out. I would have gone into debt.

  14. redfear says:

    Love the purple and blues! They look absolutely gorgeous!!! Your hydrangea is beautiful, perhaps not ‘standard’ but absolutely beautiful.

  15. weezalana says:

    Oooo, that Malabrigo looks sooooo soft and fluffy. I vote start something with that!

  16. rhoda says:

    i wouldn’t say you were in a blue rut! purple is definitely a great color to move onto..the grapes of wrath and cuarzo are both beautiful.

  17. chris says:

    Very Pretty Yarn. The purple phase must be going around- looking at the yarn I bought in Vermont this past week – mostly purples, grays and burgandy’s. Hope Larry had a Happy Father’s Day!

Leave a Reply

