Another graduate!

Thanks everyone for the nice comments and emails you sent me about my last post.  I was really touched, and it really helped me get through the last couple of weeks.   Its been an adjustment – but things are going well, and we are taking it a day at a time.

We did have a happy family celebration this weekend though…Cieara graduated from high school on Friday!

cieara

We all went to her graduation ceremony, and last night we had a family party for her.  It was so good to have her home and celebrate this major milestone in her life, and we all had a very good time.    Not to mention all the very good food!    She is doing well – she started her new job today, and as I said last time, we are hoping to keep communications and connections open.   It is very odd, though, to think that we are done with kids in high school – between Dan, Andrew and Cieara we’ve had kids in this school for 11 years!    But she was happy to be done, and we are very happy for her (and proud!).   Congrats, Cieara!

On the knitting front – I finally gave my sister the Sunday Swing socks I had finished – and I realized that I haven’t had a pair on the needles in a bit.  I’m not going to post pictures of it here – I didn’t get any good pictures, but my Ravelry project page has the details.  I will say – great pattern and I think I’d make it again – one of those sock patterns that just seems to fly off the needles.  I think its time for me to start another pair, though I’m just about done my commute knitting project (cashmere lace scarf) and I  just need to look for the next great pattern.  Any ideas?

I haven’t been working on my Peaks Island Hood – I can’t believe I did this but I started a new project…

2402

Isn’t that nice?  OK, it’s a bad picture – but this is the Artemis shawl from Wandering Cat Yarns.  I’m using one of their yarns – it’s called Fluffy Cat and its an alpaca/silk/cashmere blend.  You should feel it – so amazing – silky and so soft.  The colorway is Blue Topaz and its a gorgeous blend of blues.  Very summer, very Caribbean.  I’m already on Chart 2 of 3, and I hope to have it done this week – and then I’ll take better pictures.    I know – last post I was going on about the hood, but then I got this yarn in the mail and just had to use it right away.    I think I’m having impulse control issues with knitting, wouldn’t you agree?

OK, back to working on the shawl  – have a great week!

18 Responses to Another graduate!

  1. Valerie says:

    Congrats to Cieara!

    Shawl is looking great! I told you you’d like that yarn!

  2. Oiyi says:

    Congratulations to Cieara!

    The Peaks Island Hood is going to be great in that color!

  3. Rachel says:

    Congratulations to Cieara, she looks so lovely in that graduation attire 🙂

    Your impulse shawl looks very lovely indeed, no wonder you had to knit it NOW !

  4. Congratulations on getting the last one through high school! She looks radiant!

    Is there something wrong with impulse knitting?

  5. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Congratulations to Cieara, and best wishes for the future.

    Sometimes you need to start a project just because it’s pretty.

  6. Kim says:

    Congratulations on graduation, what an accomplishment for your whole family.

    Love, love, love the blue topaz. It is a beautiful color!

  7. Shea says:

    Congratulations! How cool. I’m afraid it’s going to be a very long time til I have everyone out of school. My youngest is only in preschool. :sigh: That’s what I get for waiting until I was 36 to have my second kid. 🙂

  8. donna lee says:

    Cieara has grown into a lovely young woman. It’s a weird feeling not to have any kids in school, isn’t it? No more band/choir concerts or football games.

    I know exactly how it feels to get some yarn and feel the urge to knit with it NOW! It’s best to give in to it.

  9. Rebekah says:

    Congratulations to your daughter! I can’t wait to see my niece this weeken d and give her her graduation present, lovely silk yarn for a sweater. Well that and a cooking book and a ring. I went a little overboard on gifts for her.

    The yarn is scrumptious! I love the colors and can only imagine how wonderful it must be to knit with.

  10. Cookie says:

    Congratulations, Cieara!

    I’m so glad you were all able to be together and see her graduate.

    Lovely knitting.

    People knit socks? Who knew? ;^)

    xo

  11. craftivore says:

    Congratulations Cieara! What will you do when you need a model now? Blue lace looks so pretty.

  12. rhoda says:

    congratulations to cieara (and you!) another graduate in the house. 🙂 glad to hear the lines of communication have re-opened. WOW, love the artemis. do you know it is because of you i’ve been having dreams of both blue yarn and purchasing some wandering cat yarns?? lol.

  13. Congratulations to Cieara and to her parents! Yay!

  14. brokeknits says:

    Congrats to Cieara! And I can’t wait to see the Artemis!

  15. redfear says:

    Congratulations to Cieara and you, too! It’s weird not having high schoolers, isn’t it!

  16. Chris says:

    Congrats to all of you! And pretty yarn!

  17. weezalana says:

    Congratulations to grad Cieara!

    LOVE that blue!

  18. hakucho says:

    Congratulations Cieara!!

Leave a Reply

