UMD Graduation 2010

About four years ago, I wrote this post about dropping Andrew off at the University of Maryland.   It was a sad and happy day for everyone, and I still get a little misty reading the post I wrote about it and remembering that day.    Andrew had worked hard to get into the school of his choice, and he was excited about starting and a little scared too.  But we both knew he’d do a great job settling in, and would have a great time over the next four years learning and growing. 

On Thursday, we went back to the University for something a little different.

2398

Graduation! The above picture was Thursday’s commencement ceremony – three hours of processions, speakers and cheers. A little long for some of the speakers, but it was really a great ceremony and watching Andrew move his tassel from one side to the other marking his graduation (along with the other 2000ish graduates that attended the event) was really moving – more misty eyes for me!

The next day he graduated from the School of Behavioral and Social Sciences in a little bit smaller ceremony – we could actually see him!

2415

I can always count on Andrew to maintain the solemnity of the occasion!  I have more pictures of this weekend where he is making faces at me than I do where he’s looking “normal”.   But it was all good as we were all happy and proud and enjoying the time with him and each other.    Dan, Cieara and my mother came with us and we spent Thursday and Friday celebrating as a family.  It was a very good time, and we were so happy to share it with Andrew.

So once again, I’m writing a post about Andrew moving forward into the next stage of his life.  He’s accomplished this goal, and now is deciding what he wants to do next.  I know that he’ll do well in whatever he chooses – he’s very focused, hard-working and smart (even if he is a terrible procrastinator – which I have to admit he gets from me).  I’m so very proud of him and am looking forward to seeing what he does next.

2427

So once again, Andrew – congratulations and bon voyage!

17 Responses to UMD Graduation 2010

  1. Christianne says:

    Congratulations to Andrew and all of you!

  2. Deb says:

    Congratulations! You should be very proud.
    My daughter is going to look at UMD (she is a H.S. Junior now). We’ve had relatives who have gone and loved it…

  3. Rachel says:

    Congratulations to Andrew and you too. It seems like you did a good job with him 🙂

  4. Elspeth says:

    Congratulations! Wow, that is a blast from the past – I graduated from there in 1991!

  5. Congratulations to Andrew! And to you, too. Parental support is a key ingredient!

  6. redfear says:

    Congratulations!!!

  7. Linda (FiberFan) says:

    You made your Mom proud, Andrew ~ good work!

  8. Rhonda says:

    Time just moves too quickly, doesn’t it. Congrats to Andrew.

  9. Oh, Jeanne, how wonderful! It sounds like he has evolved into a wonderful person — and isn’t that what we’re really trying for?

    If my son hadn’t taken a rather crooked road to college, he’d be graduating, too. Instead he’s entering UW-Madison in the fall as a junior, and I could not be prouder!

    Congratulations to you and Andrew!

  10. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- That’s wonderful, congratulations Andrew.

    That sense of humor will take you far.

  11. kim says:

    Congratulations to you and to Andrew! You must be so proud.

  12. weezalana says:

    Congrats to Andrew! That last picture is great! Definitely a framer. 🙂

  13. Stacy says:

    Congrats to Andrew! I love that last picture. It’s always good to see the fountain.

    Go Terps!

  14. Valerie says:

    Congrats to Andrew. That’s quite the ceremony.

    I never went to my college graduation – I got a job in my field before I started my last year so for most of my classes I got experience credits. By the time our ceremony rolled around, I was too busy working!

  15. Lauren says:

    Congrats for producing a successful offspring!

  16. Stephanie says:

    Congratulations! What a huge ceremony. I went to the graduation ceremony at my school and, well, there are about 2000 students total so it was much smaller. It’s funny, now that I have friends who are grads I feel a lot different about grads than I did before – a lot more proud of them. So once again, congrats to you and your son!

  17. rhoda says:

    congratulations to Andrew! I wish him continued success. that last shot is a great one too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

