Something new

I just couldn’t do it.

2337

I couldn’t be project monogamous.  I had to start a new project.  I really like Coraline.  I love the cashmere scarf.   But I just really had to start something new – I missed that new project feeling.  You know, the feeling when you rummage through your stash, look at Ravelry and find just the right pattern, the right yarn and start something new.   I used to have a lot of projects going at once but then I realized the more I started the more I didn’t get done.  So I tried to have one at home project, and one commuting.   Which worked for a long time.  But last week I just needed something new.  And I’m really happy with it.

The yarn is Ellen’s Half Pint sock yarn – my Ravelry stash shows I bought this at Maryland Sheep and Wool.  I haven’t gone to Maryland in at least three years, so this is old stash.   I picked it out for a simple reason – it was already wound up.  When we painted our bedroom I put my swift and ball winder away in a box and I haven’t unpacked yet.  So when I was rummaging through the stash for something new, I didn’t want to pick something that I’d have to wind up since I’d have to do it by hand.   I had started a pair of socks for Dan with this yarn but it was too pink so I put it back.  But its perfect for now and I’m enjoying it.

2343

The pattern is Sunday Swing Socks from Knitty – a very very nice pattern, especially for variegated yarns.  My cast on is 64, and it worked out perfect for this yarn; no pooling and just nice little stripes.   I really love how the pattern looks and I think this may make my “have to make it twice” list.  They are top down, and I’m really enjoying the knit.  I’m just about done the first sock and I think this will be a quick pair.   In fact, I like them so much that I didn’t sleep on the train at all yesterday and knit all the way in – very unusual for me as I normally pass out half way there in the morning!

We have had a little bit of change in the house recently.

2324

Last Saturday Dan (on the left) moved into his own apartment, and we got our office back.    We are very happy for him, and I know he’s much happier in his own place.   I will miss seeing him every day but I have Facebook to harass him with!   

Larry and I painted the trim in the office on Sunday, and today Larry painted the walls.  We picked out a color we thought was close to what was there which is a dark gold.  Going on the paint looked like a something between 70’s appliance gold and carrots – I was a little scared.  But it dried into a very pretty color  – sort of like a dark butternut squash (I know – sounds weird but it is pretty) – and I’m very happy with it.  We have to move our desk back in and get it all setup as an office/guest room again (we had everything in our bedroom while Dan was living here).    It will give me more room in my bedroom and a place for my Mother to stay with us when she gets here next week. 

I was planning on going to Maryland Sheep and Wool this weekend – as I said, I haven’t been in a few years.  But I don’t think its going to work out.  We have a lot of things to do this weekend to get ready for my Mom’s visit – we still are getting our bedroom back in order, and now the office.    Plus we have three graduations coming up and it’s just not the best time for me to have that much temptation to spend money.  I really went back and forth on this – Maryland is my favorite fiber festival – but I know that I wouldn’t be able to go and still get everything done I need to – and I certainly can’t go and not spend money.  So I think I’m going to skip again – but I may go through my stash and remind myself that I’m really not all that deprived!  But I’ll enjoy seeing all the pictures and reading all about everyone else’s good time.  Maybe Rhinebeck!

OK, time to go play with Penny.  She’s harassing Ruby (who is feeling better by the way) so she needs to be distracted.  Have a great week (and weekend!)

19 Responses to Something new

  1. Valerie says:

    Socks don’t count as WIPs – that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

  2. Denise says:

    I will check in at Ellen’s Half Pint Farm at Maryland Sn’W this weekend, I see on the vendor list that they will be there. I’m very excited about the trip, heading down with two knitting friends, first solo trip (not work related) in 10 years. Next week is my 50th birthday so this is a little present for myself!

  3. brokeknits says:

    Monogamy or not, those are some lovely socks!

  4. Oiyi says:

    My problem is seeing a pattern on Ravelry that I fall in love with and instantly need to make. The other projects I work on are no longer important. 🙂

    I was debating about Maryland. There is a bus leaving from Brooklyn for a 1 day trip. It would be a long day and I wouldn’t get back until really late. Plus, I would have to miss my weaving class. And I am still on my yarn diet. Why torture myself at a yarn festival? I really wanted to go because Majacraft is releasing/debuting their new secret wheel at Maryland. I love my Rose, but I wanted to see this new wheel. Maybe next year…

  5. donna lee says:

    I’m trying to get into the habit of winding sock yarn into balls right away so I can use it without having to wind it. I was thinking about Maryland, too, but I’m thinking maybe next year would be better. Although, it looks like the weather will be beautiful.

  6. I love Valerie’s comment about socks not counting as WIPs! As you know, I am completely incapable of knitting monogamy, so I say, “Go for it!”

  7. Kim says:

    Hope you have a wonderful visit with your mom. I love the socks!

  8. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Socks don’t count as a WIP- and you can start as many as you want to.

    I have a wall in my kitchen “Jack O’Lantern” that always makes me smile- it’s a happy color.

  9. Steven says:

    You’ve definitely done a good job of matching yarn to pattern. I like! To me, dark butternut squash sounds like a pretty color — not to mention, delicious. The stars aligned a few years back so that I could go to Maryland, but haven’t been in quite some time. I understand the need to prioritize, though. It will still be there next year!

  10. weezalana says:

    What a great pattern! How did I miss that one? Off to add it to the queue!

    We must be on a similar DIY wavelength – I’m painting our home office/guest room tomorrow, and making new curtains for it as well. 🙂

  11. Stephanie says:

    You know, sometimes you just need something new.

    Actually I’m the opposite – I hate starting new things, which is why I tend to go for long periods without knitting… I guess I’m too scared of things going wrong! It’s so awful. But I think you should do what you want, within reason, and one new WIP after a bit of monogamy is okay.

  12. Rebekah says:

    Monogomy (in knitting) is over rated :-).

    Although I am trying to be more monogamous to my projects, having one travel and one at home. It seems to work a bit better.

    Lovely colors on the socks.

  13. Hoc Age says:

    My question is… Why should momgamy have anything to do with knitting? Husband yes, knitting no!
    Cute socks.

  14. lucette says:

    the golden room sounds great and should be a cheerful place for your mom. Enjoy the weekend.

  15. Louise says:

    Great sock yarn. I love the colours!

  16. Chris says:

    Sometimes you just need a new project! Hope all the house projects are going well and you can relax soon.

  17. craftivore says:

    I’m having a hard time with monogamy too. I’m worried that if I put down my stockinette scarf from hell that I’ll never pick it up again. But I’m desperate to knit Cerisara with some alpaca that I got at NHSW.

  18. Elspeth says:

    Wow, I had no idea Ellen’s had sock yarn – I love that colorway and already have it in non sock yarn. Gorgeous!

  19. rhoda says:

    wow, the socks are knitting up very nicely!

Leave a Reply

