Nothing nicer

I just don’t think there is anything nicer than cashmere…

2311

Well, maybe the exception to that is cashmere and silk.  Isn’t that nice? 

I bought this yarn in California when I was visiting my mother – it is Golden Line Superior from Filatura Di Crosa.  Its 70% cashmere, 30% silk – and I can’t help but love it.   After I finished Traveling Woman, I needed a commute knitting project, so I looked through my stash and saw the yarn and thought it’s time had come.  A friend of my mother’s knit my Mom a scarf and my Mom wanted to give her something in return.  Mom can’t knit lace anymore and asked me to knit something  – she wanted something special so we went to the yarn store while I was visiting and when we saw a scarf made from this yarn we knew it was the perfect yarn to use for a special gift.

It took me a bit to find the right pattern for this – I wanted something simple because I don’t like to worry about charts on the train, but something that would be lacey and light.  After wandering Ravelry for a while, I found the Party Lace scarf and thought that I’d give it a try.

2310

It turned out to be the perfect pattern – easy and simple, but something that works really well with the yarn.  And the beads on the end just add a little something extra.    All in all, I’m really enjoying this and I am about half way done.  My mother is coming to visit in May and I’m hoping to have it done so she can just take it home with her.  I mentioned to her the other night how much I liked the yarn, and that I wished I had bought a ball for me.  Today I got an email from her asking what the yarn was so she could bring me another ball of it.  Of course I didn’t turn down that offer! 

Its been very busy here – lots of happenings but I’ve taken terrible pictures and probably should re-take them before I post them.    Its been so busy we haven’t had a lot of down time – but someone has is going to have a lot of down-time in the next two weeks…

ruby

Poor Ruby – she has a slipped disk and will be confined for two weeks.  The vet thinks it could be playing with Penny or just running and jumping.    It just happened suddenly today and now she’s sad and depressed with no one but her stuffed bunny for company.   

I haven’t done a lot of knitting at night so I haven’t made a lot of progress on Coraline.  I am pretty sure at this point that I won’t have it ready to wear to Maryland Sheep and Wool (if I’m going) but I’m going to keep on plugging on it and I’ll wear it when I can.    Although – I’ve felt the urge of a new project lately – maybe a new shawl?  A pair of socks?  I think this is why I never finish sweaters – it just takes too long and I get distracted by new and pretty things. 

OK, I think I”ll go have fun with cashmere – have a good week!

22 Responses to Nothing nicer

  1. Denise says:

    Gorgeous yarn. I love the blue. I have a bad case of startitis: I’ve already tried 3 different yarns in three different textures for my traveling woman shawl, now I am going to try again in some blue silk I bought at Purl on Sunday.

  2. Valerie says:

    Poor Ruby, I hope she feels better soon!
    That yarn does look yummy!

  3. Oiyi says:

    Cashmere and silk is even nicer! Poor Ruby! I wish her a speedy recovery. She looks so sad in the kennel, but it’s for her own good.

  4. Beautiful scarf; the yarn is gorgeous! What size beads are those? I’m trying to add beads to my shawl and it’s a learning curve!

  5. The scarf is just beautiful! And the beads are a perfect touch!

  6. donna lee says:

    Poor Ruby. I hope she heals quickly. The yarn is gorgeous. If it’s as soft as it looks, it must feel like a cloud.

  7. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Such a pretty blue, and cashmere too. And anything with beads, I’m there.

    Poor Ruby- I hope she gets better soon.

  8. weezalana says:

    What a gorgeous blue! Looks very soft, too.

    Aw, poor little Ruby. It doesn’t look like the bunny is giving her much solace!

  9. Steven says:

    The scarf is lovely. And so nice of your mother to bring you some more of that yarn! Hope Ruby feels better soon. She does look rather forlorn…

  10. Shea says:

    Oh poor baby! My geriatric dog (17.5 years old) has two slipped disks that will never get better. We baby her and keep her from jumping (not that she much wants too anymore) and keep the younger dog off of her.

    The scarf is looking great. Can’t wait to see the finished product!

  11. Cookie says:

    Beautiful yarn!

    Poor little doggie.

  12. Rhonda says:

    Oh no, puppy jail.

  13. Susie says:

    Isn’t it great when a pattern and yarn really go well together? One of the many pleasures of knitting. Enjoy!

  14. hakucho says:

    Poor Ruby…it must be terrible for her to confined. Hopefully she realizes she has to in order to get better. Hope she feels better real soon.

    The cashmere is awesome…the phenomenal color and I can tell just by looking how soft it is. The pattern looks like a joy to knit. Enjoy 🙂

  15. Christianne says:

    Really pretty yarn! Poor Ruby….hope she’s doing better now.

  16. craftivore says:

    Mmm, love the cashmere. Poor little puppy, at least she’ll get better soon and it’s not something more drastic.

  17. redfear says:

    The cashmere is stunning and the color is perfect! wow, what a great combination of stitch pattern, color and texture! How’s Ruby doing?

  18. Kim says:

    Oh my goodness, you’ve been busy. How I ever got so far behind on my blog reading is beyond me. I missed at least 2 shawls, eaten wallpaper, SNOW!, and the cutest ‘get well’ present I’ve heard about. Any man who will buy his honey a Hiya Hiya is a gem! Ok, now that I am caught up, I’m looking at that Coraline. it will be fabulous!

  19. Rebekah says:

    Oh that yarn sounds luscious. I really like the patern too. Poor Ruby! I hope she heals quickly.

  20. brokeknits says:

    Oooh, cashmere and silk. That is heavenly.

  21. kim says:

    Aw, is she okay now? Poor baby. GORGEOUS cashmere.

  22. rhoda says:

    poor little ruby! oooh, the party lace scarf (sans the beads). love the shade of blue you used. i think you’re the culprit of me wanting to knit something in blue!!

Leave a Reply

