Starting Coraline

I haven’t knit a sweater in a very long time  – in fact, its been about a year and a half since I finished Cobblestone.  I can’t believe its been so long – I’ve wanted to make sweaters but they just seem to take forever, and to be honest, I don’t think they ever fit well, so I think that I avoided the whole issue by focusing on shawls and socks and little projects.    But in the last few months, I have felt the urge more and more and I decided that I’ll never learn how to make them if I never try – and so I picked a pattern, bought some yarn and started Coraline.

The first thing I had to do was learn a new provisional cast on – I’ve done them in the past for shawls but generally its just a couple of stitches and no big deal.  Coraline started by casting on over 200 stitches and I was very intimidated by it.  But the pattern recommended a very good site with a video and other than getting my counting right (which is always the issue regardless of cast on method), it wasn’t bad at all.  The only thing I need to do differently next time is to loosen up a bit when I do it – some of the stitches were a little tight.  Very nice cast on –  much easier than I expected.  Here is a shot of the sweater with the provisional cast on just waiting for me to pull it.

2300

The reason for the provisional cast on is that you create a folded hem – it seemed to take forever for me to knit the hem but I finally got it done on Friday, and I’ve been clipping along on the sweater ever since. 

2304

Isn’t that hem nice?  I am really enjoying this project  – the yarn is just amazing to work with (Serena by Manos Del Uruguay) and its one of those projects where I stop ever little bit to just look at it and enjoy how it looks.  The colorway is slightly variegated – I’m not sure you can see it but its a very light blue with small bits of white.  Very pretty, very spring/summer. 

2305

My tension is a little uneven but I am hoping that blocking helps it even out.  I don’t know why its uneven – I think my knit tension is tighter than my purl.  I was thinking about why that is and I think it’s because I knit more than I purl – socks in the round have very little purling, and although the shawls I do have purling on the wrong side, I don’t think tension is important or apparent.  But for this it is – I think it will be ok – but I have to admit to a little worry about it.   But I’m enjoying the sweater, and I’m already thinking about the next one I’d like to make – maybe Featherweight Cardigan?

I took a spontaneous day off on Friday (well, it was spontaneous on Thursday when I decided that I had enough for the week), and had a really nice day off – and it was the start of a very nice weekend.    A little golf, a little shopping, a lot of eating out and a lot of down time too.   I’m going to be sorry when I’m out of vacation days in October, but sometimes you just have to play hookey, right?  The nicest thing is that I’m scheduled to take next Friday off too – Thursday is Larry’s birthday so we planned on taking Friday off to go play golf.  It may rain, so I’m not 100% sure, but the thought of two short weeks is sort of nice! 

OK  – I’m off – but before I go, I thought I’d share with you why I’ll be stalking the mailbox this week – I’m hoping these come in soon!

Have a good week!

14 Responses to Starting Coraline

  1. That’s my favorite provisional cast on! I just used it again on Friday.

    And blocking cures many things!

  2. Good for you for tackling Coraline. It’s a really pretty sweater. I have to say that it’s way too hard for me! That whole fit thing is what keeps me off sweaters.

    Enjoy your days off! I actually have a comp day (very rare in my school district) and I can’t decide when to use it!

  3. Rhonda says:

    Oh, I love Ysolda’s patterns. And that caramel look so yummy. Much better than the marshmallow bananas I ate today.

  4. Thea says:

    I’ve been tempted to make that sweater too… The yarn looks really nice and soft, and blocking usually works wonders for for me.

  5. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Yet another reason that Etsy is dangerous, those look yummy.

    That is lovely yarn, and such a nice color. Have fun.

  6. Juneau says:

    Count me in too on loving Ysolda’s patterns (not that I’ve knitted any, just love her patterns) Those caramels – I want one now!

  7. Steven says:

    Very nice hem! I hope to do something like this the next time I do a sweater — I like this so much better than ribbing at the waist, if it can be avoided. And you’re moving through this sweater so rapidly! Don’t worry about the tension. It looks fine to me.

    And definitely try Featherweight. Several of my local friends have and it’s quite nice.

  8. weezalana says:

    I like the folded hem! I don’t have Coraline, but Ysolda’s patterns are in general very well written.

    The looser tension with purling is a common thing for most knitters.

  9. Valerie says:

    That looks like lovely yarn. I really have to get back to the sweater in my basket

  10. Cookie says:

    Has it been that long?! My, how time flies.

    This sweater is looking promising and I think Featherweight would be a great next one. Have you thought of spinning the yarn for yet? Can you tell that’s on my list over here? *L*

    xo

  11. Chris says:

    Coraline looks so soft. I need to find the perfect yarn for mine…we’ll see. I’m sure you’ll get a lot of wear out of it.

  12. Stephanie says:

    I’ve avoided sweaters recently for the same reason. Of course I could knit more and learn from whatever mistakes I make, but it seems easier to me to just avoid them. I’m thinking of a few shawls I’d like to knit… 😉 Your Coraline looks lovely so far. Hope you’re enjoying the knitting!

  13. Kim says:

    I’ve always loved that sweater; I think you’ve picked the perfect color chose. From what I’ve read, this is a great pattern to re-enter the sweater world with. I feel much the same as you do about sweaters. I am never happy with them, so I stick to accessories and baby sweaters. Someday…

  14. rhoda says:

    very pretty color–i’m like you, i stick to socks and shawls..no fitting issure there! but the sweaters are so gorgeous, how can one not want to make one (or two..).

Leave a Reply

