Traveling Woman

I thought I’d start this post with a little sweet

2283

Doesn’t that look good?  Cieara and I made carrot cake cupcakes today (with cream cheese frosting of course!) and Cieara piped some carrots on them.  I have to admit – everyone in the house already sneaked one.  They are very good, and I’m looking forward to having another one later. 

Want to see something else sweet?

2289

I finished it last week, but finally got it blocked today.   And really – what a perfect shawl for spring! 

Pattern:  Traveling Woman
Yarn:  Top Cat by Wandering Cat Yarns, Aurora colorway
Started:  March 16, 2010
Finished:  March 30, 2010 (well, blocked on April 4, 2010)

This is a great pattern – very simple, very easy, very fast.  Just what I need sometimes in between bigger projects.  Another very easy, great as a first time lace project.   I like the stockinette portion, and I think the lace piece is a little different from other small shawlettes so it kept my interest, and I enjoyed working it.  This was commute knitting – so you know it wasn’t complicated. 

2296

The yarn is a cashmere/merino blend and I have to say – it was fantastic!  I loved working with it, and couldn’t wait to pick it up.  It is so soft that it would make wonderful baby clothes or blankets (if you think that a cashmere/merino blend would be good for a baby!).    I couldn’t resist this colorway when I saw it – it’s just perfect for this time of year – spring colors – a few different soft pinks with yellow.   Just so nice to see and use after such a long dark winter.    I’m struggling a little with wearing this – I don’t typically wear pastel colors, but I think I’m going to branch out a little and do it.  Because this colorway just is so beautiful that it will make me happy to wear it  – and make me remember that its nice outside when I’m stuck inside working.    I love this yarn too – I’ll be stalking the Wandering Cat shop for more  –  highly recommend!

2293

All in all, another succesful knit.    Fast, interesting pattern, wonderful yarn.  What’s not to like!

We have been really busy this last week – the room got painted, and we had a bit of a time cleaning up after the painter (he’s cheap but so sloppy – not sure we’ll use him again).  The room looks beautiful and we are starting to get things back in.    I’ll have some pictures to show you once we get it a little further along, but wow – there is nothing better than going to sleep in a room that makes you happy!     

We took the dogs for a walk today in a preserve right across the street from us (very convenient!).  They had such a great time – they are so happy that its nice again, and that we are back to fun walks.  There is a lake in the preserve and Penny ran right in up to her belly (we don’t think she realized how deep it was) – we had one dirty dog on our hands!    I didn’t care though – it was so good to be out in the sun and be moving.   Isn’t it amazing how good Spring feels?

I’ve been working on Coraline – I’m still working on the hem, but I should be finished with that shortly and then onto the body of the sweater.  I needed some commute knitting so I started a project today with the silk/cashmere that I picked up visiting my mother.    I’m having a hard time putting it away in my knitting bag  and saving it for my commute – amazing yarn!

OK, I’m off – have a wonderful week and enjoy Spring!

18 Responses to Traveling Woman

  1. Chris says:

    The cupcakes look amazing! Traveling Woman is just beautiful – love the way the pattern looks and that yarn looks as soft as you say. Congrats on the room and yay spring!

  2. Rhonda says:

    I must say, the shawl is stunning. One of Valerie’s creations in her favorite base. Thanks for showing it off. Love it.

  3. donna lee says:

    Travelling woman is waiting for me when I finish the kal. I have some beautiful blue yarn and want to make the large size. I love that pattern.

    The cupcakes made me remember how much I like carrot cake and how infrequently I make it. Now I want some.

    PS- I’m glad you enjoyed the baked beans. Ours were enjoyed as well. My husband is looking forward to having beans and weenies this week (a dish I can’t stand but he loves).

  4. Is Traveling Woman really that easy? I have an Ishbel hibernating, so have been looking for an easier shawl to do before I try to fix and finish Ishbel. Yours certainly turned out to be lovely.

    And those cupcakes are adorable!

  5. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I will make a Travelling Woman in my Wandering Cat- it’s on the list. Yours is beautiful.

    It is nice to welcome Spring.

  6. Valerie says:

    Jeanne – it’s beautiful! I always wonder how a colourway will look knit up and it’s even prettier than I imagined!

    What size needle did you use? My Traveling Woman is much smaller and I’d like to make another, larger one.

  7. Steven says:

    Beautiful shawl. And your enthusiasm for spring is infectious!

  8. misa says:

    Lovely shawl!! And the cupcake of course, I’m a sucker for sweetness.

  9. Stephanie says:

    It’s so beautiful! That puts Traveling Woman closer to the top of my queue…

  10. Rebekah says:

    That’s really pretty and another one I’m going to have to add to my queue.

    So many patterns, so little time!

  11. Oiyi says:

    The carrot cupcakes look yummy! And very nice piping. That shawl is gorgeous! It looks so light.

  12. Joji says:

    It’s beautiful! I think this colourway looks beautiful on you!

  13. Carin says:

    I don’t know what looks sweeter, the cupcake or your shawl. The shawl has been added to my queue.

  14. weezalana says:

    Very pretty! Cieara did a great job on those carrots, too!

  15. brokeknits says:

    That is a beautiful shawl!

  16. Susie says:

    Two of my faves! A gorgeous shawl and my favorite cake. Love them both!

  17. rhoda says:

    very, very pretty! the cupcakes look delish and the carrots piped by cieara look lovely. 🙂

  18. Kim says:

    Those cupcakes look sooo yummy! And the shawl is beautiful. We did some painting ourselves today, and I ruined my favorite jeans. I’m a bit sloppy myself… Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

