Citron

Finally!  This shawl has been done for over a week – actually about two weeks – but I just procrastinated on blocking it.  But I was home sick today, and decided to finally just do it!  But just a warning – the pictures aren’t wonderful because its raining here (again) and Cieara was not too enthused about modeling this (she wanted to eat her after school snack).

2273

Pattern:  Citron
Yarn:  Madelinetosh Prairie, Thunderstorm colorway
Started:  February 6, 2010
Finished:  March 15, 2010

OK, let’s start with the pattern.  This is really an extremely easy pattern – it’s just basically stockinette with the occasional increase or decrease row.  I did one more repeat than the pattern called for to make it a little bigger – I had enough yarn for yet another repeat but by the time I finished the one extra I was so tired of it – and every row had 800 stitches and that’s just too much sometimes.    I blocked this out by hand – no wires and I just sort of pulled and patted it into shape.   I’m glad I did the extra repeat – it would have been a little small without it but I think the size is perfect now.

2276

I loved using this yarn – Prairie is lace weight – Ravelry says two ply but it’s actually a single ply superwash merino.  It is such a nice yarn – its sort of soft and yet crunchy and I think it had great stitch definition.  I love this colorway – I bought this at Webs in January and as soon as I saw it I had to buy it – its black with a little bit of blue – just gorgeous.    I know its hard to see in my horrible pictures – but it’s there and it just adds something to the shawl.  Definitely recommend the yarn – it’s a great price for the yardage and the colorways are amazing.

2274

I’m pretty happy with the shawl – I don’t know why it took so long to block but I’m glad I finished it finally.  I think this will be a nice shawl to wear when I need a little something for nice occasions (well, nicer than when I’m wearing yoga pants and t-shirts!)

Remember when I told you that Wandering Cat Yarns was having a contest?  I won! 

2278

I was floored – but very happy to pick something from their shop.  It was a hard choice but I finally chose their Fat Cat DK – colorway is Budgie.  This is such nice yarn – very soft and I think it will make very nice socks.  Thanks Valerie and Rhonda!

I have been sick with a cold for two weeks now, and it just kept on getting worse and today I finally gave in and went to the doctor for antibiotics.  Its been terrible – I’ve been really tired and out of it, and haven’t been able to do anything fun.    I hope that the antibiotics work fast  – it looks like this weekend is going to be nice and I’d love to do something outside (play golf, walk dogs, etc).  I haven’t even been knitting much – too much time sleeping and sneezing.  I still haven’t started the sweater but I think I’m going to cast on tonight since I finished the Traveling Woman shawl today (more on that next time!). 

What has also kept me busy recently is that we are starting a lot of house projects – ok, well, we are watching other people do things on our house!  The painter started on our bedroom Monday (the last post on this was last August – and we’ve had these stripes on the wall ever since!).    I am so excited about the room being done – we made a lot of changes to it, and its going to be beautiful.   We are also having a new furnace put in, new patio door, cleaning out rooms, decluttering…the list goes on and on.    Something about spring makes me want to clean up, make changes and do things a little bit more.   It’s exhausting though!

OK, I’m off to try to figure out a provisional cast on with 200 plus stitches – that sounds scary! 

Have a good week – happy Spring!

24 Responses to Citron

  1. Valerie says:

    Your Citron looks great – I frogged mine because of all the extra stitches,just no patience for it right now – plus I think all the kfb’ing is what bothered my wrists.
    Can’t wait to see your traveling woman! hope you feel better soon.

  2. Oiyi says:

    I like the bigger size you made. A friend of mine made it according to the pattern in Malabrigo Lace and it was really small. Yours is gorgeous! I gasped when I saw the pics up on Ravelry.

  3. Steven says:

    All that activity and planning and things going on — I think you get more accomplished when you’re sick than I do when I’m well! Love the shawl.

  4. Denise says:

    Very nice Cintron. I’ve been thinking about it, I like the shape but I’ll go insane binding off 800 stitches.

  5. Shea says:

    I love it, it’s gorgeous! Your model is as well. :Sigh: I remember having a body like that. Many, many moons ago. Must resolve not to raid the Easter baskets when the kids go to bed on Sunday. 😉

  6. Cookie says:

    Next time get the husband to model for you. ;^)

    Lovely lace!

    Congrats on the win!

    I hope you start feeling better soon.

    xo

  7. Chris says:

    It’s gorgeous!!! I have it in my queue, but was discouraged by the size – it seemed tiny, but that extra repeat you added makes it much nicer. I have two skeins of Malabrigo lace…..Good luck with the spring makeovers and feel better!

  8. donna lee says:

    I love the color you chose. I think the extra repeat makes the difference. Others I’ve seen look just a tad too small.

    I’m looking forward to the nice, sunny, warm weekend, too. I was hoping for a picnic but I think it might still be too squishy. I’d think it might be a little too wet for golf.

  9. Rhonda says:

    Get better soon. I hope Valerie doesn’t see your Citron. She ripped hers out. (but I’m not surprised, I’ve watched her do this for years).

  10. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- YOU WON? That’s wonderful. I chose a deep midnight blue- I’ll post a pic on my blog soon.

    Love the shawl- I have the same problem with unco-operative models. Sheesh!

    Feel better soon, okay?

  11. kitkatknit says:

    Your Citron is lovely! Tomorrow is the 14 day anniversary of my hacking cough. Antibiotics? Maybe I should…

  12. weezalana says:

    The Citron is so airy and pretty! I like that it’s circular – no “look, here’s my butt!” point!

    Have you tried a long-tail provisional cast-on? It’s hard to unzip, but soooo much easier to cast on that it might be worth it.

    LUCKY Wandering Cat winner! I’m so jealous, that colorway is beautiful and looks nice and squooshy!

  13. Lucette says:

    Get well soon with all the great weather coming this weekend. Love the shawl, it is perfect and will be elegant for a great night out. Oh and I use the same method for blocking too/

  14. Hoc Age says:

    You are an enabler as usual, after seeing your lovely shawl and reading your recommendation of the yarn I just had to place an order right away.
    Hope you are feeling better soon!

  15. Robby says:

    Smart of you to head off to the doc. Everyone around here that has had the longest cold ever has had it turn into a sinus infection. Always best to skip those when it’s an option. Feel better soon!

  16. I love the shawl. Enjoy wearing it!

  17. rebekahsyarn says:

    Beautiful! Hmm, that might be a contender for this silk/cashmere yarn I have, as its varigated (hadn-painted) and needs a none busy lace pattern.

  18. rhoda says:

    hope you feel better soon! exciting to hear about all the impending changes-particularly the new paint in the bedroom. citron is gorgeous. well worth the wait. you’re quite the winner with Wandering Cat Yarns, aren’t you!

  19. Lauren says:

    Extra repeat? You’re so smart! *That’s* why I read your blog. Oh, and I miss you 🙂

  20. brokeknits says:

    So. many. stitches. It looks great, though.

  21. kristin says:

    I’m weeks behind on my blog reading, but I wanted to tell you I love your Citron! After I finish typing this, I vow to put on some real clothes and wind my yarn for mine.

    Also, how did the provisional cast on go? I use the video at KnittingHelp.com – it’s amazing, and much easier than when I tried to use a crochet provisional cast on.

  22. Kim says:

    That MT yarn looks dreamy. I love the color and the fact that yours is so much larger than my tiny specimen. Wonderful!

  23. […] was again the victim of  an enabler Jeanne, so I ordered and very quickly received some Madelinetosh Prairie (lace weight merino) in […]

  24. Louise says:

    Lovely Citron. I started this pattern but ended up pulling it out and have not started again. Every time I see it though I get the urge to cast on again.

Leave a Reply

