Socks and stuff

Thanks for all the nice comments and wishes about my 4 year blog anniversary!  I thought I better get the giveaway over first before the rest of my blog post – so without further ado…the winner (picked by Random.org) of the Wandering Cat Yarn certificate is….Lorraine!  Lorraine – I know you just posted about having too many choices…but hopefully you won’t mind picking just a little more yarn! 

I finished up a couple of projects this week – yes, I finally finished Citron!  I haven’t blocked it yet, so it will get its own post when its ready, but I thought I’d show you the socks I finished.

2262

Pattern:  Basic Gusset Heel Toe Up Socks (Wendy Johnson pattern)
Yarn:  Poems Sock by Wisdom Yarns, colorway 952
Started:  January 26, 2010
Finished:  March 19, 2010

OK, first off – these took forever.  I have to admit that I really love the colorway, and the color changes.  I love the pattern – just a basic stockinette sock.   I love the fabric of the yarn – these are superwash but just very wooly feeling.  Very perfect winter socks (just in time for the first day of Spring!).  But I hated knitting with the yarn.  It’s a single ply and extremely splitty.   I can’t tell you how many times I had to tink a stitch back because I had knit with half of the yarn.  So although I like the finished product, I don’t think I’d use the yarn again. 

I also screwed up the cast off on the second one – I used a cast off I found on Knitting Daily  – Version A – I usually do a sewn cast off for toe up socks but that takes forever so I thought I’d try something new.  I thought I did the same cast off on the first one (I really should start keeping notes on projects) – but if so I messed up the second and they are really hard to get on.  I thought (briefly) about ripping it back and doing it again – but I’ve spent almost two months with these socks and I think I’m done – I just can’t bear to spend any more time on them.  Poor Larry – he’ll be fighting to get them on from now on!

Since I finished the socks, I had to start new commute knitting.  I’m really sort of tired of socks, so I started a Traveling Woman with my Wandering Cat Yarn Top Cat – this yarn is so amazing!  So soft, so pretty – I’m enjoying every minute of the knit.   And the colors are perfect for Spring! (I think this would be a cute colorway/yarn for a baby sweater)

2263

I didn’t get a lot done on this shawl this week because I haven’t been commuting – I came home sick on Thursday and stayed home yesterday too – just a cold but so irritating that I’m sick.  I don’t get sick often so when I do I just hate it – I have to admit to being a little whiny.  So instead of getting my work done, and having knitting time on the train, and golfing on the first day of spring, I’ve been stuck inside – sleeping, coughing and sneezing (and whining). 

But last night Larry gave me a gift to make me feel better (he really has amazing timing!)

2266

He bought me a Hiya Hiya project bag from The Loopy Ewe.  He really is a great guy, isn’t he?  The bag is beautiful – I’ve been wanting it for months and every time they restock I drool over it.   The fabric is gorgeous, and the handle is part of the zipper and it just so cute!  And its the perfect size for a small project…

2267

Isn’t that nice?  It’s so well made and the little pocket is a nice touch.  Thanks, Larry!

I’m starting to feel a little better tonight and hope that I’m over the worst of this cold.  Tomorrow we are starting to clean out our room – the painter is coming a week from Monday and we have to have everything out of there (including all the closets).  Yikes!  I moved all my yarn out today – and that was enough to make me take a two-hour nap.    I can’t wait to get the room done – it’s going to be so nice.    I still have to buy new curtains and all that but I’ll get there.   Cleaning out the room has made me realized how cluttered it was – we are not going to be putting everything back in, and I’m hoping to figure out a way to keep it simple.   

OK, I’m off – we are watching New Moon tonight (I know, embarrassing but I loved the books!) and Larry and I made a crumb cake (3.5 sticks of butter – so unhealthy – but so good!) to eat while watching the movie.    I think I’ll knit the shawl too – I’m going to start the sweater tomorrow, but for tonight I think I’ll keep it simple.   I don’t want my stuffy head to lead to a bad start on the first sweater I’ve made in years!

Have a good weekend!

12 Responses to Socks and stuff

  1. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I can certainly make room for another fabulous indie dyer- thank you so so much.

    And… I adore your new bag. Very stylish!

  2. Steven says:

    Nice socks — and a really nifty bag. You got lucky with that Larry! Hope you feel better soon. Spring colds are the worst.

    Now I want some crumb cake… 😉

  3. Rhonda says:

    I have a head cold too, I wonder if I can talk somebody into getting me one of those bags. It’s awesome.

  4. misa says:

    Those socks are gorgeous! Sorry they were a bitch to knit but I think they’ll be favorites.

  5. Valerie says:

    Great bag! I’m so glad you like the yarn. That’s one of my favourite colourways

  6. rebekahsyarn says:

    Love the colorway of those socks, so pretty, it reminds me of a beautiful lake.

    What a great bag, I just love it when our guys do something knitterly thoughtful.

  7. weezalana says:

    Well now how are you going to get the closets out of there? 😉

    Bummer that the yarn was splitty, but the final result is so pretty! Beautiful blues!

    P.S. Didn’t the random number generator listen when I told him it was supposed to pick ME?

  8. Me too love the colour of your socks – I hope they will last you a long time! But splitty one-ply sock yarn doesn’t sound like it will be durable?
    The bag is beautiful!

  9. Chris says:

    Pretty socks, but ug, splitty yarn no fun! The bag is beautiful and it’s in my color, too! That Larry, he knows the perfect way to treat you.

  10. Robby says:

    I’m not really a bag person, but that gem you have is giving me second thoughts about things I might ‘need’. And husband procured?! What more could a gal want? Enjoy! Hope you are feeling better by now.

  11. Kim says:

    That soft pink is beautiful. And what a guy for getting you such a thoughtful gift. I love it!

  12. Kathleen says:

    Love the bag! It’s perfect. I started a Traveling Woman a couple of weeks ago. I am only on the second repeat of chart A but wow is it nice. Great pattern and I am using wollmeise with my lantern moon needles. so enjoyable. I do not have pictures and am way behind on my blog. School is keeping me very busy, between 5 classes, one being Algebra and along with that Algebra is tutoring 3x’s a week. Looking forward to this semester being over.

Leave a Reply

