Four years

So I think that I have mentioned one or two times that Friday was the four year anniversary of my first blog post.  It really is hard to believe that its been so long – and yet I feel like I’ve been doing this forever.  Four years ago I had been knitting for two years, and I had just started a knitting group, bought a wheel and started down the very bad path of stashing yarn.    Not much has changed since then  – I still go to that knitting group, still have a spinning wheel and continue down the bad path of stashing more yarn than I knit.     I think I knit better than I did four years ago – and I think I buy better yarn.  Four years has brought a lot of change in my personal life though – I’ve changed jobs, kids have gone to college, we’ve gone on vacations, family has moved closer/away, I’ve lost family, friends and pets, lost (and gained) weight, started new things, and made new friends.   And I have blogged most of it here.  It is really nice to have a place to document my knitting and personal life with family, friends and readers.    It gives me a place to vent, to share and sometimes the act of blogging makes me think things through a little better.  I enjoy blogging – I don’t do it as frequently as I used to but I’ve learned to just enjoy that I’m doing it without feeling pressure to perform.   

Beyond all that, (and I know it sounds very trite) but I do think that you readers and commenters are the best part of my blogging.   I always like hearing feedback on my posts, and my projects.  Some of you have been with me for a long time, and some are newer friends – and I enjoy all of you.  I know that I was inspired to start this blog by reading other blogs – and I am inspired daily by the blogs I read now – inspired on both a personal and knitting level.  

As you know, I promised a celebration of my blogiversary – and I’ve been thinking of it for a couple of weeks.  I initially was going to do a contest that tied in with a charity  – Friends of Pine Ridge.  I became aware of Pine Ridge on Ravelry in January and was simply just shocked that something like this existed in my country.  I was completely unaware, and since then I’ve been trying to do something every month for them.  I am very fortunate to have the life I do, and reading about this made me feel really really bad  – I take so much for granted.  OK, sorry to digress – anyway, I thought of tying my blogiversary celebration to a donation drive for this charity, but then I thought I’d wait.     I may do this down the road, but for now I’m going to just do a celebration contest (but of course if you want to donate something to the FOPR that would be awesome!).  So I’m going to hold off on a Wollmeise contest for now – but can I ask you for feedback?  If I did a donation drive for something for FOPR would that be something you’d be interested in if there was a really good prize?  Or is that sort of pushy of me to ask you to donate something to a charity I’m interested in? 

OK, let’s go back to a little lighter place….to celebrate my four years, I decided to share one of my favorite yarns with you (or at least with one of you!).  I’ve been sharing pictures and projects of  Wandering Cat Yarn with you recently and I thought it would be fun to let you try some!  So I have a gift certificate to share with one of you – all you have to do is leave me a comment and say something.  Pretty easy, eh?  (Of course, if you do comment I would love to hear if you’d be interested in my donation drive!).  I’ll leave this open until next Friday, March 19.    And as a bonus – if you mention this on your blog, I’ll give you another entry. 

Gift Certificate copy

And just in case you need an incentive to comment….

2260

Top Cat in the Aurora colorway – when I saw it I had to have it – it’s just the perfect colorway for spring.  And this yarn is amazing – so soft and squishy.  I think I’m going to make a shawlette with it.    Anyway, this is just an example of the very pretty yarn at Wandering Cat so go take a look, and then comment over here and you may have a chance to try it yourself for free.

I am on the edging of Citron and I hope to have it done today so hopefully my next post is a finished object post.  The edging is 800 stitches and every row is an eternity.  But I’m being very monogamous and only working on it – I can’t wait to be done! 

Although I have to admit….there may have been some swatching going on yesterday….

2255

How pretty is that?  I don’t want to say what this is for, but I will tell you what the yarn is

2258

Manos Del Uruguay Serena – gorgeous and amazing.  An alpaca/cotton blend that will be perfect for a spring sweater.  I bought it yesterday at Angelfire Studios at Justine’s recommendation and I just couldn’t be happier (thanks, Justine!).  Yep, I haven’t made a sweater in a year and a half, but I think its time that I made one for me.  I’m so excited about this project – and can’t wait to start it.  I keep on touching the swatch – it’s going to be so hard to resist starting this but I do want to finish Citron (I know what happens when I start a new project without finishing something….Nefertiti anyone?).

OK, I’m off to knit – it’s a rainy weekend here – I wanted to get out and walk the dogs, but I guess they will have to be happy with playing inside fetch.  And I’ll have to be happy with knitting.

OK, have a good weekend, and don’t forget – comment by next Friday!

29 Responses to Four years

  1. Lindsay says:

    I’ve been following Wandering Cat’s blog for awhile and drool over the things she and her mother dye. Such gorgeous colorways!

    Congratulations on four years!

  2. Lauren says:

    So glad you’ve kept on keeping on! Love the idea of the donation prize – it’s very sweet 🙂

  3. Valerie says:

    I am not entering the contest since I get all the Wandering Cat Yarn I want..

    I can’t wait to see your citron. I really want to start one and may do it this week.

    I would be interested in a donation contest. I think it’s just good karma to give when you’re trying to get.. right?

  4. Deb says:

    Happy Blogiversary, Jeanne!

    I’m glad your blog is around–I like hearing about your life and your yarn.

  5. Jemma says:

    Congratulations on four years of blogging and respect for your compassionate heart.

    The Wandering Cat Yarn looks amazing!

  6. Happy anniversary! Which reminds me, my two year is coming up. Amazing how fast it’s gone, and how much a part of my life the blog is. I really enjoy yours.

    The yarn is beautiful!

  7. Chris says:

    Happy Blogaversary. I think that is a great cause – I’ve been stashing things in a box to send to them since you told me about it. Very nice yarn – I’ll have to make a point of stopping in to see what’s new at Anglefire soon.

  8. Lucette says:

    Four years is a wonderful accomplishment and I am so glad to be privy to your projects and life adventures. And I want to thank you for all the visits on my blog and for your friendship. It makes me happy.

  9. Kim says:

    It’s amazing how fast time goes by. I was going through my own posts a few weeks ago, and it was fun to see how much I’ve grown in my own knitting in a few short years. It’s so amazing this knitting community and the bonds we have made. Enjoy the rest of your weekend. Congratulations on your 4th year!

    PS> Please don’t include me in the giveaway. I’ve been gifted so many beautiful yarns lately that I am beginning to feel selfish.

  10. Rhonda says:

    Same as Valerie. We would love to donate a skein for your charity drive, and I’ll even throw in a skein of Wollmeise from my personal stash.

  11. Awesome Mom says:

    Congratulations on making it this long! That is some nummy looking yearn. My birthday is coming up, so even if I don’t win any I will have some birthday money to spend on stash enhancement.

  12. Punkin says:

    Happy blogiversary! and thank you for the link to FOPR. I was happy to see they have a link for donating knitted items.

  13. brokeknits says:

    Happy blogiversary!

  14. Oiyi says:

    You are just killing me with all the pretty yarn! I can still proudly say I am still on my yarn diet. I have not caved yet.

    I agree with you about blog comments. I think that is part of the fun, the feedback. I have made a lot of internet friends this way and have met a few in real life after commenting back and forth for a while.

    You made me laugh when you wrote that you still have a wheel and continue down the bad path of stashing more yarn than you knit. Oh it’s true with all of us knitters. But my fiber stash has grown because I got a wheel. So not only do I have more yarn I could ever knit with. I have more fiber I could ever spin with.

  15. donna lee says:

    Happy blogiversary. I’m coming up on 3 years shortly and have a hard time accepting it’s been that short/long! I like seeing what you’re making and hearing what you think about the yarns you’re using. They’re always beautiful (and your model is cute, too)

    As for a charity thing, I think if it’s important to you, go for it. We all have causes near and dear to our hearts and if we can help them, I think we should.

  16. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I like your blog- because you talk of things that affect all of us- and to see what is new and wonderful in the yarn world.

    Donations are always a great idea.

  17. misa says:

    Happy Blogiversary! Four years is an impressive accomplishment. I like that I can look back at my blog too and see all the paths that life has taken me.

    Please skip me on the giveaway. The yarn looks beautiful, but I really am trying to destash this year.

  18. Susie says:

    Happy Blogiversary! What a lovely & generous giveaway!

  19. I would love to win some yarn — not that I need it!

    I share your feelings about Pine Ridge. It is a national shame — and very under-publicized. It is definitely a good cause. I like the donation idea, as long as there are options for donating a quick project or plain-old cash.

  20. Cookie says:

    Happy Belated Blog Day!

    xo

  21. Denise says:

    Happy Blogiversary, Jeanne! Not only do I enjoy your blog, I count you as my favorite pen pal.

  22. Stephanie says:

    Happy blogiversary! 🙂 I don’t know about the donations – I’m a little rushed right now – but I wanted to congratulate you on four years nonetheless.

  23. Robby says:

    First, congratulatory blogiversary wishes! I think it is fine to champion a cause you care deeply about. First, it is part of what makes you the person you are, those things you care about. Second, I have learned about some of the things that are dearest to me by having a friend tell me about a need they see. I love learning what other people’s passions are. It helps me understand them and appreciate them more.

  24. I think it is a very good idea to do a donation drive for FOPR on your blog, and I also like the idea of turning occasions like a birthday or blogiversary around to do something for others.

    Happy blogiversary, I just recentely found you (actually you found me!) but I’m looking forward to reading your blog in the years to come!

  25. Shea says:

    Happy Blogiversary! Count me in on the contest, I love contests! 🙂

    PS – I’m glad you’re sticking around.

  26. weezalana says:

    Happy Blogiversary! That Wandering Cat looks ssoooooooo squooshy! Dear Random Number Generator – pick me pick me pick me!

    Not at all pushy to offer a prize for donations to your favorite charity. I’ve seen it done many a time on other blogs. I did this myself a few years ago, offered yarn and prizes for anyone who knit at least three hats for Hats for Alex. It got a great response!

  27. Rebekah says:

    Happy 4-year blogiversery. Has time really flown by that fast?

  28. […] Jeanne is having a contest, she’s been blogging for four years and is celebrating.  Go and check it out if you’d like.  […]

  29. Steven says:

    Got behind on reading blogs and missed your contest. But I wanted to wish you happy blogiversary. I do so enjoy reading your blog. And what you wrote about blogging clarifying your thinking about knitting is so true. Knit — and blog — on!

Leave a Reply

