Rasberry Beret

I’ve been focusing on finishing projects in the last few days – a little less time online and little more time just knitting.  And I have something to show for the change in focus!

2249

I hope you will excuse my hair in these pictures – I stayed home from work today (because I couldn’t sleep last night and going to work on a couple hours of sleep never works for me) and spent the day being lazy (except for a dog walk).   So my hair reflects the dog walk, napping and sitting watching TV while knitting. 

Anyway, back to the hat – love it! 

Pattern:  Lightweight Raspberry Beret
Yarn:  Wandering Cat Yarns, Alpaca/Merino Lace Yarn
Colorway:  Rhonda’s Raspberry Jam
Started:  February 24, 2010
Finished:  March 7, 2010

2247

The pattern really is very easy, very fast.  I really enjoyed the mindless stockinette.  I think I could have finished this faster if I knit more consistently – I don’t see why you couldn’t finish this in a few days.   The pattern as designed allows you to do the ribbing with a different yarn, but I chose to do it all in one.  I think next time I make this (and I think I probably will make another) I’d use a different color for the ribbing – and maybe a wool yarn to make the ribbing pull in a little.  It’s a little loose/floppy but I like it – I don’t like hats that are too tight so I think this will keep me warm without flattening my hair.  The hat is really light but I think the alpaca will make it warm.

2236

The yarn is from Wandering Cat Yarns and its an alpaca/merino blend.  It’s very very silky and once I saw the pattern name I knew I had to use this yarn.   The yarn is laceweight and I doubled it for the hat.  I really enjoyed knitting it up, and the color is very pretty – a really nice subtle blend of pink and purple – very raspberry.  I was a little worried when I was blocking it – I put a plate in it to block and the hat was huge – it really really stretched.  So I ended up taking the plate out and just hand blocked it to a smaller  shape – it’s not the perfect tam shape, but I still like it.  Because of the stretch I think this yarn would be amazing for lace.    It looks like they only have one more skein of this in their shop – I hope they carry more in the future – it really was nice to work with.

I’m really pleased with the hat – but had to laugh – it was almost 60 degrees here today.  Figures!  But that’s ok – I’ll put the hat in my basket of hats and I’m sure I’ll have an opportunity to wear it soon since I think these warm temps are a fluke.   

We had a really nice weekend – very productive and we got a lot of things taken care of (painter hired to do our bedroom, patio door bought, plans made, etc).  It was beautiful here and we spent as much time as we could outside.  We took the dogs for walks in the park – it was a little muddy and Penny got a little dirty (given the choice between the dry path and the muddy grass, apparently a white dog will always choose the mud) and they really enjoyed being outside again.    I’ve been working on Citron again, and have another 4 rows of the main pattern plus the ruffle edging to go!  I am really enjoying the project but I can’t wait for it to be done.    I’m not sure what I’m going to do next – I have about 4 projects in mind, but I just ordered some very pretty yarn in spring colors that may jump to the top of the queue just because I’m in the mood for spring.  Sure, I could work on one of my WIPs but I think we all know that’s not going to happen.    I also received some yarn in the mail today that could impact what I do next….but more on that next time!

OK, its time to get back to Citron (and dinner).  Have a good week!

17 Responses to Rasberry Beret

  1. Rachel says:

    Pretty hat and I adore the color, nice work 🙂

  2. Stacy says:

    I love the beret!!

  3. Oiyi says:

    It’s beautiful! You know, it kind of reminds me of Citron.

  4. Rhonda says:

    It turned out beautiful. I feel honored since it was named after my homemade jam.

  5. donna lee says:

    I think that’s a hat I could stand to wear. I hate hats that fit tightly on my head. I would need a color to go with both a red and a blue coat (or two hats?).

    Don’t give up the blog. Ravelry is nice but blogs are where people live, where we get to hear about the family (including the white dogs who prefer the mud!)

  6. donna lee says:

    I forgot to change my email address on my comment! New server.

  7. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- The pink is really pretty, and looks lovely with your hair color.

  8. Steven says:

    This hat is lovely — so clever to double-up lace weight to make it. Nice!

  9. weezalana says:

    What a great beret!

  10. rebekahsyarn says:

    Beautiful hat. And don’t worry about the mailbox and snow, I predict spring is just around the corner and all that snow will be gone and the flowers will be blooming, and it won’t be cold enough for you to wear your beautiful hat.

  11. Chris says:

    Very Pretty yarn and hat!

  12. misa says:

    Prince would like it!

  13. brokeknits says:

    I love the beret! The color is perfect, too.

  14. Stephanie says:

    It’s getting pretty warm here too – soon it’ll be in the 50s! I’ve almost stopped wearing all hats, scarves, and mittens, and I feel so much freer. 😉 But of course, I will want all of these things again next year… I wish I knit faster so I could make something quick like this just for a spring pick-me-up. This beret is so gorgeously simple.

  15. Kim says:

    Great, now that song will be in my head all day! lol There is something about a beret that makes one feel very European. I love the color. Have a great weekend.

  16. rhoda says:

    very pretty! great color selection and it looks great.

Leave a Reply

