A little whiny

Can I complain?

2216

What’s that you ask?  That’s my mailbox.  Well, that was my mailbox – before the plow hit it.   And I think that just tells you what kind of week this has been.   I looked out of my front door today and said to Larry – hey, where is the mailbox?    It was about 3 feet from where it normally is – full of yesterday’s mail (we didn’t get mail today because…well, I guess because we don’t have a mailbox).    And see that white stuff?  See how high it is on my mailbox post?  Its been snowing here since yesterday morning – and I’ve been in my house since Wednesday when I worked from home.    And Tuesday?  Hit a deer on the way to work (the deer, my car and I are all fine) and it was snowing/icing on the way home Tuesday night so it was just a long commute kind of day.    Did I mention that its been snowing since yesterday morning – and it’s still freaking snowing?  We had a bit of sun this afternoon – I have never been so happy to see the sun!  But it’s snowing again, and I just think its going to snow forever.  And you know how people go crazy when they call for snow and rush to the store and buy milk/bread/eggs because they will be snowed in forever? You know how you always make fun of that?   I always laugh about it – and now I’m out of milk/bread/eggs and I think we are going to have to eat Penny for dinner (but I do have vodka for my martini so I guess its ok ).    Sorry to be whiny – but if this snow doesn’t stop, and if I don’t get out of this house soon, I think I just may lose my mind (although I’m very grateful that I’m able to work from home and don’t have to worry about commuting in this snow!)

I do, however, have a little something to make me feel better.

2218

I wish you could feel how nice this is.  This is Wandering Cat alpaca laceweight.    I bought this a while ago – I tried to find the perfect project for this last summer but just couldn’t find it.  I sadly put the yarn back in my stash.  But the other day I saw a pattern on Cosmicpluto Knits and the yarn immediately popped into my head and I knew I had finally found the right pattern for it.    I’m using it doubled and I love how the colors are coming together – and its so soft and silky – and apparently it is going to be winter forever, so a nice warm hat is just what I need from both a knitting and a wearing perspective. 

The only thing I’m not sure about is the size…the pattern called for a US 2.5 needle, but I’m using a US 2 – simply because I don’t have a 2.5.   I didn’t think it would matter that much (this is the reason I don’t knit sweaters – I always think needle size doesn’t matter) – but this seems sort of small

2219

And the wine bottle is for scale (I’m having a martini, remember?) – it was the first thing I had at hand.  I think it will be ok once its off the needles (it’s very stretchy) but I’m loving knitting this too much to stop so if it’s too small then I’m just going to have to find someone with a small head to give it to.     I know I’m being a little delusional – but isn’t that part of being a knitter?

I’ve been thinking about my blog lately, and whether or not I wanted to continue to do it.   I’ve been doing it for a while, and I wondered if it was time to stop – sometimes it is  hard to find things to post when sleeping on the train takes precedence over knitting on the train.  But then I thought about all of the people I’ve “met” through it – I love Ravelry but I think blogging lets me be myself more – and get to know others more.  It also it helps me document my life (knitting and otherwise) and I enjoy going back sometimes to see what has happened.  And blogging inspires me (knitting and otherwise)  – I love reading other people’s blogs and love the input I get from mine.  So I think I’ll keep on going – but I probably need to finish a little more projects to blog!    When I was thinking about quitting I went back to my first post – and I realized my blogiversary is coming up!  Four years – wow!  So I think I’m going to have a contest-  I’m not sure what or how I’m going to ask you to enter but there just may be some special yarn that might be up for grabs!  And maybe something else.  So check back!

Well, its Friday night, and I have my knitting and my martini – and a fire in the fireplace and some buffalo wings on the way (Penny is safe for now).  I hope you have a wonderful weekend – and that its sunny where you are!   And thanks for listening to the whine!

22 Responses to A little whiny

  1. Valerie says:

    After a week like that, I think you can chase that martini with that bottle of wine! But hopefully not Penny appetizers, she’s too cute!

  2. Denise says:

    Toilet paper – it takes precedence over the milk and eggs. At Christmas, 1974 – the year my family moved from Hoboken to the suburbs -we had a giant snowstorm, and a house full of family, and my mom remembered to get everything at the store on her pre-holiday-snowstorm supermarket trip except toilet paper and I was scarred for life. Always start at the paper goods aisle in the supermarket.

  3. Rachel says:

    Lovely yarn and the hat reminds me of citron from some reason 🙂 but didn’t you hear about the wonder called a swatch?!? just sayin,,,, sorry,,,, but when you talk 2 or 2.5 it’s like 25% thicker or 20% thinner,,,, sorry again,,,,

    Oh and the snow will go away and the summer will come and then the snow will return etc. etc.

    Have a great weekend whatever color it’s gonna be 🙂

  4. Rhonda says:

    I find not putting myself under pressure to write something all the time helps. Just blog when you feel like it, we’re always checking back to see what you’re up too.

  5. Monika says:

    Sounds like you had a stressful week. Isn’t Wandering Cat yarn wonderful? I’m knitting a shawl with some fingering weight yarn (alpaca/silk/cashmere) and it feels so special.
    We had a lot of fresh snow here too, but I LOVE snow! :o)

  6. Oh, you made me laugh out loud with the snow, and the snow, and the Penny for dinner!

    I really enjoy your blog. I read blogs way more than I cruise Ravelry; Ravelry is great for info but much less personal for me. Keep blogging!

  7. Oiyi says:

    Oh no! Poor mailbox. Growing up in the suburbs in MA, we had the same wooden mailbox holder. Although our mailbox never got fell off, the whole wooden stick thingy has been backed into many times. We would find the whole thing along with the mail box on the ground.

    I am so relieved to hear that you, the deer and the car are okay. Driving home at night (again in MA), I would often see deers crossing the roads or be standing there staring at my headlights aiming for them.

    Now, that I live in Brooklyn, forecast for snow storms are not a big deal anymore. We have bodegas, convenience stores, and markets all around the neighborhood within a couple blocks of walking. In fact, I went out twice today to the supermarket, because I kept running out of ingredients. I just pulled on my snow boots and climbed the mini mountains of snow on each sidewalk corner.

    I hope you get out soon! Your hat is going to be oh so pretty!!!

  8. I suggest you drink more vodka instead of eating Penny. She’s awfully cute.

    Do we get to vote? Because I don’t want you to stop blogging!

  9. Lucette says:

    Oh Jeanne, you have had a terrible week. Spring is only a month or so away I keep reminding myself. And I do enjoy visiting your blog/

  10. Jodi says:

    Oh no! That’s a rough week indeed. Then again, you do still have a bottle of wine and martini fixings!

    I always enjoy your blog, and now that so many people use bloglines/google reader, it works out perfectly for people to post only when the fancy strikes them!

    I’m so spoiled by being able to walk 3 blocks to my Whole Foods; snowstorms don’t faze me a bit now.

  11. misa says:

    I’m sensing a serious case of cabin fever. A good cure for that can be planning a little getaway, it gives you something to look forward to. Please keep blogging, and I’m not saying that just because I want a prize!

  12. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Thoughts of the Donner party sprang to mind, although they didn’t have access to liquor or dogs (poor Penny).

    You need to keep blogging, how else am I going to know about all the wonderful new yarns out there?

    This week will be better.

  13. brokeknits says:

    Goodness, I hope next week is better. The yarn should certainly help …

  14. Juneau says:

    Dear Penny, maybe your Mom won’t eat you for dinner if she can use you as a sled dog to get more martini fixiin’s?? Sunny here ao I get
    to dig holes outside while Mom drinks her second gallon of coffee.
    Stay warm!
    Juneau

  15. hakucho says:

    Your hat is a wonderful color. The ribbing will stretch, so I think you might be ok. Glad you decided to stay blogging, I know I’m on again off again, but I’m trying to stay current…it’s hard, but I think most understand 🙂 Happy Knitting 🙂

  16. Stephanie says:

    Ugh. So. much. snow! I keep hearing stories about people’s mailboxes falling off. Totally scary thing to here about, especially with how much I love mail.

  17. Shea says:

    Definitely don’t stop the blog. How would I have “virtually” met you otherwise? 🙂

    What an awful week. Hopefully this week will be much better!

  18. Steven says:

    Whine on, Jeanne. You’re allowed. I really laughed when you wrote that you didn’t get any mail because you don’t have a mailbox. It’s kind of absurdly logical. Hope you stayed warm and fed — and that Penny remains uneaten!

  19. redfear says:

    nope, can’t stop blogging 😀 of course, do whatever you feel best but I’d hate not to be able to poke around here.

    I’m liking the hat! can’t wait to see it as it takes shape.

  20. redfear says:

    Nope, you can’t stop blogging! Of course, you are free to do as you choose 😀 but I’d miss poking around here, that’s for sure.

    Whine? considering the snow, ice, missing mail box, deer hitting, etc. you barely whimpered let alone whined! Now I’m remembering why I moved from New Hampshire/Mass. lol I sure do miss it – in June!

  21. Susie says:

    That pink is just gorgeous. Can’t wait to see it all done up!

  22. opal says:

    sorry for the late comment, but i think you should definitely keep up the blog up. i love reading about you and your life. it’s a way to connect that’s beyond ravelry even if i do get a -little- behind. 😉

Leave a Reply

