Springtime Bandit

Just in the nick of time….

2157

I finished the Springtime Bandit shawl in time to wrap it, put it in a suitcase and bring it  to my mother as a Valentine’s Day gift (we’ll forget that I initially said it was her birthday gift).    It took way longer than it should have, but its done now, and I think its sort of pretty!

Pattern:  Springtime Bandit
Yarn:  Malabrigo Sock,  Velvet Grapes colorway
Started:  December 27, 2009
Finished:  February 5, 2010

2171

This really is a nice pattern –  I don’t think my pictures do it justice.  The pattern is very well written, easy to follow and an interesting knit – and very easy.  I love the edging – its just the best part of the whole thing –  and overall, I really enjoyed knitting this. For some reason, a shawl that should have taken two weeks took me about 6.  It was no fault of the pattern – but it was just my level of focus  – I wasn’t knitting as much in January, and when I was I worked on too many different things.  But all in all, this was a very good knit and I liked it so much I already bought the yarn for another (worsted weight yarn this time!).

2169

I used Malabrigo Sock for this and absolutely love the yarn – I think it is amazing yarn and perfect for shawls.  I love the feel of it – both while I was knitting and after I blocked it.  But – I sort of wish I had not used such a varigated colorway for the shawl.  I think the pattern gets a little lost in it, and it would be better in a solid or semi-solid.    But up close the colors are so pretty, and I think my mother will love it.  Anyway, the Malabrigo Sock is a great yarn, and I just love everything about it.    I don’t think I’ve hit a bad Malabrigo yarn yet!

As I said above, I am going to visit my mother  – I leave tomorrow morning.    She lives in California, and its such a hardship to leave New Jersey in the winter and go spend 5 days in warm sunny Southern California – especially after the 15″ of snow we got yesterday.    Its just me going – Larry and the kids are all staying home, and it will be nice to have some one on one time with her.    I still need to pack – its hard for me to imagine what I need to bring and what 70 degrees feels like!   I am very happy to leave my big coat, boots, mittens, hats and scarves here though!

As far as knitting – I’m bringing the Citron shawl (almost up to the fifth repeat – I’m planning on doing 7 and its just flying!) and probably my commute socks too (just in case I need two projects).    I think I’ll have lots of knitting time, and hopefully I’ll have a finished Citron by the time I come home.  The Madelinetosh Prairie is amazing yarn – I will definitely be getting more!   

Yesterday was Dan’s birthday – he turned 25!  I can’t believe that one of my kids is that old (I had him when I was 10 of course!).    His birthday was a little bit of a non-starter though – his work did close because of the snow we got so he had the day off – but we weren’t able to give him the gift we bought him because Fedex couldn’t deliver.  But we had a nice dinner and Larry made him a delicious cake (it really is good – seems like a weird recipe but it was delicous!).   Happy Birthday, Dan – and that’s it – I’m not counting higher than 25!

OK, I think I’m going to go catch up on my blog reading and take a nap (such a hard life!)! 

Penny thinks that she would like to come to California with me….

2153

Have a great weekend!

23 Responses to Springtime Bandit

  1. Chris says:

    Springtime Bandit is so pretty! I love Malabrigo sock – I’m using some right now on another shawl and it’s just so nice. Have a safe trip and a good visit with your Mom!

  2. Steven says:

    Hah! Where does the snow stop and Penny start?!

    Beautiful, beautiful shawl. Your mother is going to treasure it. And I love that it’s in Malabrigo Sock. I love it. And for being so beautiful, I’ve also noticed that it’s held up well to washing in the socks I’ve made with it. Have a safe trip and enjoy the sunshine!

  3. Cookie says:

    Happy Belated Birthday, Dan!

    (How is he 25? o.O)

    Lovely shawl! I’m sure you’re mother will love it, even if it is a bit late. Have a wonderful safe trip!

    xo

  4. rebekahsyarn says:

    Absolutely gorgeous. I love the colors and the pattern.

    Penny is too cute in all that snow.

  5. Valerie says:

    Shawl looks great – and can’t blame Penny for wanting to go to California… she could get lost in all that snow – she’s camouflaged!

  6. misa says:

    Your shawl looks beautiful and I don’t think the colors obscure it at all. I know Velvet Grapes and it’s a great colorway. My son just turned 10 and that’s seems almost impossible, can’t imagine what it will be like when he turns 25. Enjoy sunny CA!

  7. Rhonda says:

    The shawl is beautiful. I love Malabrigo too. I have 2 in the Stonechat colourway. Can’t wait to use it. Have a good visit.

  8. Kim says:

    Lovely shawl. I really liked using this yarn for a shawl I made and loved the colorway. It is a lot prettier in person and very difficult to photograph.

    Does Penny love the snow? Our pups loved rolling snowballs with their noses. Oh, thank goodness those days are past!

  9. Rachel says:

    I love your shawl, I think you just made me bring mine up in my to knit list but I have to knit a few ropes first,,, LOL

    Have fun with your mother in California.

  10. Oiyi says:

    It’s gorgeous!

  11. Beautiful! And I agree about the Malabrigo Sock yarn; it’s so lovely, and knits up so nicely into shawls. Squee!

  12. Denise says:

    Love that bandit. I think it’s one of my favorite patterns of all time. Have a great trip!

  13. Stephanie says:

    Absolutely beautiful! Yes, what does 70F feel like? You’ll have to tell us all!

  14. donna lee says:

    I think the pattern still shows even in the variegated yarn. It’s beautiful. And i’m filled with jealousy here. The thought of 70’s and sunshine is wonderful.

    More snow on Monday…..

  15. Kathleen says:

    Thanks for the comment. I was thinking the same of your Spring Time Bandit. What a fun pattern to knit.

  16. hakucho says:

    Very pretty…your mother is going to love the shawl. Penny sure is a the snow dog. Looks like she loves the white stuff…glad somebody does 😉

  17. Kim says:

    Penny looks like she’s having a ball! Our big snowstorm turned out to be about 2″. Geesh! That is one gorgeous shawl. Really, really pretty.

  18. lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I myself, was a child bride.

    Hope you’re enjoying the sun.

  19. rhoda says:

    have a wonderful time in socal. 🙂 i’m sure your mother is going to absolutely love the shawl. ohh, i really can’t wait to see citron!!

  20. Ruby says:

    You are lucky to have family members at home that can help puppy wrangle. Otherwise I don’t know how you were able to knit lace!! I was able to cast on for the Olympics Reindeer hat last night while Juneau slept. Awake she kept “helping”! Have a great CA trip.

  21. brokeknits says:

    Gorgeous!

  22. rhoda says:

    you’ve been nominated for an award on my blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

