Wrapping up

I just can’t believe that it is the end of the year – this year went so fast – as I get older, I’ve noticed that time just goes so much faster – what is up with that?  I swear it was just August! 

I’m off work today through next Monday – a nice little mini break.  My mother is visiting from California (she always comes when its 20 degrees here – I have never understood it!).   I’m looking forward to relaxing days of going to the movies, eating good food, seeing family, and lots of knitting.  I am working on Springtime Bandit and have finished three repeats of the body chart.  I’m hopeful that I’ll get this done in time to ship it out to California for her birthday on the 16th – I wish I could get it done in time to give it to her here but since I don’t want to knit it in front of her, I don’t think I’ll be able to do that.   I’m really enjoying the pattern – in fact, I may cast on for one for me when I’m done with hers – maybe in a nice DK weight. 

Now that all of my Christmas knitting has been gifted, I can show you what I made….(click on the picture to go to my Ravelry project page)

1955 1930
1905/></a></td> <td><a title= 1921
1924 1915

It doesn’t seem like much, but this was the most Christmas knitting I’ve ever done, and I was really happy with all of the projects.  And I think the recipients were happy too!  And, you will be glad to know, I also finished one more

2068

Larry’s Christmas socks – made from some stash KnitPicks Swish worsted I had leftover in the stash.  I had to use a short row heel on these – my first – and they were so much easier to do than I expected.  I thought the heel was ok – sort of hole-y, but I think I’ll try this type again and see if practice helps make perfect.  I think it is good to have options when making socks – I get in a total rut and always do the toe, heel and cast off the same way. 

We really had a nice Christmas, and I enjoyed the family time.  I had a very yarn-y Christmas and received a lot of yarn as presents.  How nice is that?  I do think that giving Larry my Loopy Ewe wishlist was a good idea!    I got lots of Madelinetosh and Malabrigo – very very nice!

Well, its the end of 2009, and its been a good year – every life has its ups and downs, but overall, we got through 2009 without any major disasters or problems.  Everyone in the family is healthy, happy and safe and what else could I ask for?   We had a sad summer and said good bye to two of our family pets, but the bitter was offset by the sweet when we welcomed Penny to our family in October.   I think next year is going to be a big change year – two graduations, one new apartment (maybe more) and who knows what else!   Next year will be Larry and my 15th wedding anniversary and we are starting to talk about how to celebrate – my vote is for Hawaii!

Knitting wise, 2009 was an ok year – looking back on my projects, I realized I didn’t do any “big” projects – no sweaters or huge lace shawls.  I mostly did little projects – and I know that I haven’t been knitting as much as I had in previous years.     I’m not going to list them all of my FO’s here – if you’ve been reading for a while, I’ve already gone on an on about them.   But my absolute favorite project  was my first toe up socks – after years of not being able to “get” how to do toe up, Socks from the Toe Up changed all that, and now I don’t like to doing socks any other way.  Totally changed my knitting!

 My knitting goals for this year were to learn to do toe up socks and to knit a fair isle sweater.  I definitely did the first, but didn’t get too far on the second – my fair isle vest hasn’t been touched in months, and I recently decided to rip it back to the ribbing and restart it because its puckering too much.  But still  – not too bad on hitting my goals.    I also wanted to not stress about knitting, have a manageable number of WIPs and use my stash.  Again, I think I did really well on this part of my goal for 2009 – I really don’t stress about knitting anymore (except for the occasional shrieking when I drop stiches on a lace project!), and I have a pretty small number of WIPs right now with plans to finish them off in the next month or so.   Use my stash?  Well….I did use stash for a lot of my holiday projects, and for other projects during the year, but I know that I bought more than I used.  Hmmm….maybe this needs to be something I look at for next year!

Well, I suppose I should go get moving – so tempting to just stay here in my pajamas and watch movies all day and knit.  That really does sound good, doesn’t it?  But I have plans today, so I suppose people wouldn’t be happy if I just showed up in pajamas…

I want to thank you all for visiting with me here, and letting me get to know you through your comments and your blogs.    I hope you all have a very Happy New Year and that 2010 brings good luck, good yarn and happy knitting!

20 Responses to Wrapping up

  1. Jeannie says:

    That looks like a good bunch of Christmas knitting. I’m glad everyone liked what they received.

    My goals? I need to blog each project sooner rather than wait for a bunch to pile up and posting them together. I also need to be better at commenting on other blogs. Thanks so much for visiting my blog (and commenting) this past year!! 🙂

  2. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Wishing you and your family a lovely New Years. It’s good to set some goals- and plan a trip.

  3. Valerie says:

    This year wen by crazy fast for me, especially the last 6-8 weeks of it!

    Your Christmas knitting looks great! I love the beret!

    All the best in the New Year!

  4. Anna says:

    What an impressive collection of Christmas knitting! I wish you all the best for the coming year.

  5. Rachel says:

    Nice collection!
    Happy new year to you and all your family 🙂

  6. Kim says:

    Oh my, I finally caught up on posts this morning and you had three amazing ones!
    Congrats on finishing the socks. All of your Christmas knitting is fabulous. You must be so happy to have received such quality yarn for gifts!
    Finally, Penny is growing so fast and she is adorable!

  7. Cookie says:

    Heck of a year, wasn’t it? o.0

    I’m so glad that your family is/was together for the holidays and that you’re all doing well.

    I had forgotten that your mom and I have the same birthday. *L*

    xo

  8. Denise says:

    have a lovely visit with your mom, and happy new year to you all. Love all your Christmas knitting. i did a bit this year too but didn’t get to photo them all! I haven’t really got any goals for the year, other than to try and knit more gifts… it’s what I enjoy most:-)

  9. What a nice set of gift knits. Good job!

    Happy new year!

  10. weezalana says:

    Definitely Hawaii! Big Island, Maui, or Kauai. 🙂

    Wishing you and your fam a very Happy New Year!

  11. brokeknits says:

    Lovely gifts! And Happy New Year!

  12. trek says:

    Happy New Year! And happy 15th anniversary. Wishing you lots of good health to enjoy it.

  13. hakucho says:

    Wow, you have lots of wonderful handknitted gifts to show off. Very nice. They certainly are not quick knit gifts…fabulous. I bet everyone was very pleased with their presents 🙂

    happy new year and happy knitting 🙂

  14. opal says:

    i’m sorry, did you say hawaii? 😀

    happy new year, jeanne!

  15. Christianne says:

    Happy New Year! And Hawaii sounds wonderful when it’s 14 degrees outside!

  16. Steven says:

    So glad you got to finish Larry’s socks. And, in my book you did a LOT of Christmas knitting. You deserve to take pride in all you’ve accomplished. I do so enjoy reading your blog, Jeanne. Congratulations on us all getting through 2009, and here’s to an awesome 2010. Happy new year!

  17. Ruby says:

    (thought I’d already commented but guess I didn’t)
    I think you did a lot of knitting – compared to me. I mostly did little projects too but did get in a lot of spinning. Have you considered Alaska for your 15th anniversary (what time of year?) We’ve been in both late May (honeymoon) and mid-September (25th ann.) and both were get times of year without the droves of tourists. Unless you want a hot beach of course. Hi to Penny!

  18. Kim says:

    Wow, where DID the year go? Oh, that’s right, that time suck called work. Wishing you a Happy New Year. Penny looks so cute!

  19. That is an impressive set to Christmas knits!

  20. rhoda says:

    how funny that we both cast on for a springtime bandit this year! hope you were able to finish yours up for your mom! maybe she visits when it’s 20 degrees there so she can remember why she lives in california! 😉

Leave a Reply

