Darkside Cowl

I finished up a little something this last weekend, and I just couldn’t be happier with it….

2025

Pattern:  Darkside Cowl
Yarn:  Madelinetosh Worsted, Jade colorway
Started:  December 12, 2009
Finished:  December 20, 2009

This yarn is amazing!  You have to get a close up to just see how soft and squishy this yarn is…

2024

Doesn’t that look great?  I loved working with this yarn, and I love this cowl.  I wore it to work yesterday and it was so soft and warm and nice.  I love the colorway – I don’t have a lot of green things but I just had to have this when I saw it.   

2028

My normal model wasn’t home this afternoon, so I had to make do with Andrew.  Who apparently enjoyed the warmth of this so much that it made him fall asleep.  I don’t know  – I think I’m going to have to find more cooperative models!

I really enjoyed the pattern – very easy, very fast, very relaxing – I made the cowl about an inch too long (9″ – I’d probably go with 8″ if I made this again) but it was ok.   All in all a very good interim project and a great break from all the end of year stuff at work, and all the Christmas prep at home.   And really love this yarn…

And so I was very happy to unwrap a gift from Larry this morning….

2022

Another skein of Madelinetosh Worsted – this is the Fjord colorway (another look at it here).  This isn’t a great picture – its much more of a teal colorway – one of those colors tht is hard to photograph.  Anyway, Larry is such a nice husband isn’t he?  This was a gift for our anniversary today (Happy Anniversary, Larry!  14 years!) – we agreed to not give each other gifts as we are going away for a long weekend in January, but he snuck this in.  It was hard for me to be mad about it as I was hugging the yarn!  I’ve already printed a pattern for it, and I think I just must start a project with it tonight (in case you are curious – I’m going to make a Thermis cowl).

I finished up my Christmas shopping this afternoon, and I’m off work for the next two days.  I’m very happy to have everything done, and I’m ready to relax and spend time with the family (and my knitting!).    Penny apparently thinks I should be spending a little more time with her, and less time on the computer – so I think I’m going to be playing a little bit of fetch tonight too!

2019

I don’t know if I’ll post again before Christmas, so I want to wish all of you that celebrate the holiday a very Merry Christmas!  And I hope Santa brings everyone a little Madelinetosh!

16 Responses to Darkside Cowl

  1. hakucho says:

    Such a little cutie 🙂 Happy Anniversary! Larry is a dear…I doubt my hubby would ever buy me yarn; he already thinks I have too much already 😉

    happy holidays and happy knitting 🙂

  2. Christianne says:

    Happy Anniversary – that cowl is really nice, no wonder Andrew fell asleep in it. Penny is too frackin cute!!!

  3. weezalana says:

    Wow, a cowl that magically induces a snuggly nap? I’m going to have to check that pattern out – along with the yarn. Looks so squooshy! Great job!

  4. Merry Christmas! A very effective cowl.

  5. Valerie says:

    Cowl looks great – and I think you better pay some attention to Penny!

  6. Isn’t Madeline Tosh the best??? Lovely cowl.

    Have a great Christmas.

  7. Shea says:

    Merry Christmas to you and your family! I love the cowl and the pic of Penny. She’s such a doll. Hope Santa brings you lots of loot!

  8. donna lee says:

    The colors of your yarn work really well with that cowl pattern. And yes, it looks warm and squishy. I am working with some bfl sock yarn that is also really squishy. I’d like to keep the socks but they’re a gift. Which I have to go and finish…..
    Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  9. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Andrew couldn’t take the excitement!

    Have a terrific holiday.

  10. Rhonda says:

    I think you’re going to have to make him his own cowl. Merry Christmas Jeanne, to you and yours.

  11. Cookie says:

    Happy Anniversary!

    At least, Andrew wasn’t whinging. ;^)

    Love the doggie pic.

    Merry Christmas!

  12. kitkatknit says:

    Merry Christmas and Happy Anniversary!! My Dark Side cowl is one of my favorites for wearing under my motorcycle helmet. Juneau sends a raa-arrf to you and Penny. She’s been busy helping me with the stuffing.

  13. Steven says:

    That cowl is nice! And I didn’t realize that Madelinetosh yarn had narcotic powers. Great picture! Glad to her that you’ve been having happy and productive holiday. Pat Penny for me.

  14. opal says:

    love the cowl and the yarn.

    scritches to penny and happy holidays to you and your family!

  15. misa says:

    Oooh, such a pretty cowl. I’m sure it will make every wearer so cozy that they’ll pass out.

  16. rhoda says:

    the cowl is great..before i actually read this post, i thought maybe the cowl was andrew’s! 😉 what a lovely anniversary gift! i can’t wait to see it knit up as a thermis. 🙂

Leave a Reply

