Special swap

2001

Isn’t that a great way to start a post? It was how I started my Sunday – Larry wanted to try a new recipe. We always have cinnamon buns on Christmas morning – usually Pillsbury, but this year since he’s been baking so much he wanted to try homemade. So yesterday he did a dry run on this recipe, and this morning we had them for breakfast. Not very healthy, and certainly not Weight Watchers – but very very good. He’s been baking a lot lately (last night was Italian bread)  – I finally asked him this morning if he could limit his baking to once a week – I won’t be fitting in my jeans if he keeps this up!

I participated in a swap over on the Westie Knitters group on Ravelry (isn’t it funny that there is a group for just about anything there?).  I’m usually sort of iffy on swaps, and haven’t done one in a long time.  But I’m so glad I did this time.  My swap partner (sending to me) was Chris and wow – what a great package.  Details are here (honey, jam, Westie stuff, dog biscuits, etc) but the highlights were a skein of Malabrigo Sock

2016

Isn’t that gorgeous?  The colorway is Indiecita – so beautiful!  I can’t wait to use it (have you noticed I always say that about new yarn?)

Chris also made me a scarf – amazing! 

2013

The pattern is Saroyan, and she used Dream in Color Classy (colorway is Lunar Zazzle).  I’ve never used this yarn – but I’m going to have to try it – it is really nice and soft and squishy.  I was really surprised she made me something – I’m not sure I’m that generous of a knitter to make something for a stranger (ok, I actually know that I’m not – I am a pretty selfish knitter and I’m usually the person I knit for!).  But it was really nice of her to do that, and I’m looking forward to wearing it.  

And when I’m wearing it, I’ll have someone else wearing something very similar…

2008

How cute is that?  She made a little kerchief for Penny.  The picture is bad because Penny was a little INSANE this morning because of the snow – this was the brief 10 seconds Larry was able to hold her still (the whole biting me like a wild animal while I was putting on the kerchief was fun too!).   So cute though! 

I have to say that this was the nicest swap package I’ve ever received – it really restored my faith in them!  I’m not sure I’d want to do them all the time, but this was fun. 

We got a snow storm yesterday – we ended up with about 8 inches – just enough to be a pain in the ass.  We had to cancel our knitting group holiday get together and move it to next week – I was so disappointed, but snow happens.  We ended up having a relaxing day, and I’m just about done the cowl I’m making with the Madelinetosh yarn.  I’m so close to being done that I’ve been thinking about what to make next.  I want to make something for my mother’s birthday – it is on January 16 and she’ll be 90 (!).  So I think something special is in order – but I can’t think of what.  I don’t think I have enough time for a huge laceweight shawl, and she lives in California so a worsted weight wouldn’t work.  I was thinking about something with beads.   Maybe trying Aeolian again with some Zephyr lace weight – I have the yarn, I have the beads – the question is – will I have enough time to do it?  Someone suggested the French Press slippers but I’m not sure slippers are special enough for a 90th birthday.  Any ideas?

OK, I need to go finish my Christmas shopping – let’s hope the roads are clear so I can get there, get done and come home and make some cookies

Have a great week!

16 Responses to Special swap

  1. That is indeed a generous package! I hadn’t seen that colorway of Malabrigo, but it looks yummy. And speaking of yummy, I think I would kill Farm Boy if he baked for me like that! Way too much temptation.

  2. I fell in love with Malabrigo Sock in Indiecita at Sock Summit! Gorgeous. Yours looks very much like the one I fell for. I tried to buy some locally, but the colors were very different! More green. So I’ll just wait until the color matches the blues/browns of my memory (love those varying dye lots…).

    Dream in Color Classy is a great yarn to knit with. I know yours is knit already, but you should know about it. And it smells great, too; I found myself huffing it as I knit. Don’t know what it was.

    Cute kerchief for Penny!

    And the cinnamon rolls? Those look divine.

  3. donna lee says:

    We’re still digging out from under the 20 inches we got. This is so unusual, we’re the ones who are always complaining that we get no snow! Probably no shopping today either.

    I love cinnamon buns. I have a really good recipe but it’s so time consuming that I don’t make it often. We have babka for Christmas morning. I still have to make that.

  4. Valerie says:

    I wish I had a boy who made me cinnamon buns in the morning! My boy will only cook something if it comes from a box in the freezer. Oh well, probably a good thing, I eat enough all on my own.

    That sock yarn is gorgeous… I’m saving that picutre for dying inspiration!

  5. That’s a huge dump of snow, no wonder you weren’t going to drive around. The Malabrigo Sock is beautiful, what a great swap package.

  6. Chris says:

    What a nice package! I think a beaded shawl sounds nice for a 90th birthday.

  7. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Home baking is deadly. I can smell those buns from here.

    I love the little Westie scarf- that’s adorable.

    Why not make your mom a shoulder shawl- Springtime Bandit, Damson or Aestlight- in a lovely color?

  8. Lucette says:

    Home baking is the best. And your swap package is a treasure. Have a great Holiday.

  9. Shea says:

    What a great package! Penny looks adorable too. How cool to have a hubby that actually cooks. Mine isn’t allowed to even open a can of soup, much less bake. I’ve let him cook two meals in our 13 years of being married, and he’s burnt both of them!

  10. Kim says:

    Those buns look amazing! I’m just glad that no one but me bakes in this house or it would not be good at all. Penny looks so cute in her neckerchief. Merry Christmas!

  11. Hilary says:

    Yum! Both the buns and the yarn. Can you share the bun recipe?

  12. misa says:

    Mmmm, cinnamon buns. They look killer. What about socks for granny? They may seem humble but I bet she will use them and love them.

  13. opal says:

    what a great swap package. i especially like the cute little kerchief for penny!

  14. Robby says:

    There’s been a touch of cinnamon roll madness at this house, too. I’ve been making them and giving them unbaked to friends so they can bake soon or freeze and have ’em fresh on Christmas Day. If you need more beaded inspiration, Susan Pandorf has lots of gorgeous beaded designs – ‘Pandosu” on Ravelry if I remember correctly.

  15. weezalana says:

    Wow, those cinnamon rolls looks AMAZING! Makes me want to bake some right now!

    For what it’s worth, I live in California, and reach for my Clapotis – which is knitted in worsted weight – more than the laceweight ones!

  16. rhoda says:

    wow..indiecita is pretty! i love that penny has her own matching kerchief as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

