Delusional

Or just very optimistic?  I’m not sure yet  – its too early to tell.  I finished Cieara’s second sock last night on the train home  (ok, I still have to cast off but that’s just a couple of minutes, right?).  I was so pleased that I finished my Christmas knitting a week in advance – actually, almost a week and a half (I round up!) in advance.  I started my knitting all the way back in October with Dan’s endless socks, and here I am now – 3 pairs of socks, a cowl, scarf and hat (not to mention a shawl for me!).  No last minute freak outs, no stress – just enjoyable knitting and happy thoughts.  And as I sat there, I started feeling bad that I made something for everyone but Larry.  I told him that I wouldn’t be – and he was ok with it since he gets things more than anyone else all year round (see previous comments about his being a sock pig).   But I just felt sort of bad – no hand knits for Christmas?    I sat there on the train, thinking about what I could make for him that was fast – fingerless mitts (made him some, he never wears them), hat (made him one, never wears it), scarf (never have seen him wear one)….the only things he likes are socks – and I didn’t want to deal with trying to get a pair done in a week.  But then I thought about a pair of socks I saw recently on Cookie’s blog  – worsted weight – perfect!

So this morning, while I was on a boring conference call, I cast on for a pair of Christmas socks for Larry – and I mean Christmas socks! (Sorry – terrible picture – its dark here and I’m rushing to take this before Larry gets home).

1998

I decided to use some stash yarn – I had some Knit Picks Swish worsted leftover from a couple of years ago when I made a bunch of  hats and fingerless gloves.   Perfect for socks – very soft and squishy but washable.  I had two skeins of the green, one red – and I decided to play it safe (he likes longer cuffs) and use the red for heels and toes.  Plus it just looks like Christmas!  This is a standard toe-up – 48 stitches and I’m doing a 3×1 ribbing.  Boring but fast.

I think he’s going to be surprised and happy to be getting something – as long as I can finish them.  What do you think?  I’m thinking good thoughts on finishing them at this point – but I can only knit them when he’s not around, or when I’m on the train.  Or I’ll have to lock myself upstairs and tell him I’m wrapping gifts! Worst case, he’ll get one sock for Christmas with an IOU! 

So much for no stress Christmas knitting!  Why didn’t I start in June?

13 Responses to Delusional

  1. Chris says:

    You’ll have them done in no time….worsted goes super fast! Four rows is an inch, right?

  2. I did start in June and I’m still knitting up a frantic storm!

  3. Valerie says:

    I started my Christmas knitting in February.. and ended up abandoning most of it in October! I don’t think it matters how early your start…. it’s to easy to knit for yourself (or other non Christmas stuff) instead

    I like your falling snow!

  4. Jacqui says:

    I made contrasting heel/toe socks for everyone last year out of Knit Picks Swish! They were a big hit. I would definitely recommend a reinforced heel and maybe even a reinforced heel turn though, because those are the socks that my mom got holes in. They’re going to be such a quick knit! You’ll have no problem finishing them in a few days, let alone a week.

  5. I love worsted sox! Knit your fingers to the bone…

  6. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I have a pattern called “Noro Quick Socks” and I can knit a sock in a day- and I am by no means a fast knitter.

    I always double the yarn on the heel turning, and FC loves them. Nothing like a bit of pressure, is there?

  7. Kim says:

    You can definitely finish worsted weight socks in time. Break out your obsessive knitting mantra!

  8. Oiyi says:

    Good luck! You can do it. Just keep plugging away at it.

  9. Cookie says:

    Yay!

    You can totally have them done in time. Worsted weight socks are crazy fast if you don’t put them down. ;^)

  10. Steven says:

    You can never start early enough on the Christmas knitting. I’m sure he’ll be pleased, no matter how much is finished by Christmas day.

  11. weezalana says:

    Worsted weight should be no problem finishing in time, even in secret! I’d recommend a short row heel to save more time.

  12. Kim says:

    Every year I swear that I’m going to start knitting and shopping in July, but I don’t. Why??? I wish you luck!

  13. rhoda says:

    lol. isn’t that funny..i did some stress christmas gift knitting last minute too!

Leave a Reply

