Happy News

I wanted to start off this post by thanking everyone who has reached out to me, in whatever manner, to offer encouragement and support during our recent time of troubles with Cieara.  I can’t tell you how much its helped, and how much it meant to me.   It is really nice to know that other parents have gone through similar things – and that things worked out in the end.  And it was really nice to just hear from everyone with your messages  – it was really touching.  Thank you again!

My happy news is that she’s decided against moving out.  She told us the other night, and I can’t tell you what a huge weight was lifted from our shoulders.   We had some good conversations with her about the whole thing, and hopefully we’ll be able to move forward (together!) on a more positive track.   We are working on healing and repairing some of the emotional damage all the way around – I think everyone in the family was completely stressed, anxious, and sad (and a little angry) so I think it will take a little bit to get everyone in a better place.  But we’ll get there – and I’m so happy knowing that she will be here a little while longer.  Whew!

 How about seeing another Christmas gift?  I’m just about done this sock – this is for Cieara, and she doesn’t like her cuffs  to be too long – which is sort of nice, right?  I think I’ll close this with 1×1 ribbing.  I love the sock – its basic toe up with a baby cable.  Easy, fast – and I think nice looking!  I shoud have the other one done by next weekend, and then I’m officially done with my holiday knitting – but I’m kicking around the idea of making Larry some fast socks as a surprise.  We’ll see – I may be able to stay focus on holiday knitting much longer – so many new projects are calling.

1955

The other happy news is that I bought some yarn.  I know – really – what happened to the use up the stash thing?  I just couldn’t help myself earlier this week – it was an emotional/stress yarn buy – better than eating chocolate!

1959

That’s Madelinetosh tosh worsted – colorway is Jade.  Probably a better picture at the Loopy Ewe which is where I bought it.  I must say – I love this store – so fast, so friendly.  Such great yarn.  Anyway – I just couldn’t resist buying this – I’m going to make myself a cowl with it – its so soft, and I just needed the pick up earlier this week. 

Since I was paying for shipping anyway….I decided to get myself another little treat…

1948

Malabrigo Lace – Ravelry Red colorway.  This is so beautiful in person – I can’t wait to use it – I’m thinking of a nice lace scarf – it will be beautiful with my black winter coats (yes, all of my coats are black – and I just bought a new one – same color – I don’t know how this happens!). 

I have something else that made me happy, but that’s for another post. 

This is going to be a busy weekend – knitting group this afternoon, and tomorrow we are putting up lights, decorating the house, and starting our shopping (online of course!).  It has been so hectic and busy and stressful at work  – usually end of year is slow, but this year has been the opposite.  I keep on staring at the calendar – I have time off at the end of the year, and I’m really looking forward to it!  I’m so glad its Christmas time, and I love seeing the decorations, lights and thinking about all the fun things we’ll do.

In the last few months, I’ve been trying hard to work on being grateful for the things and people in my life – rather than focusing on the negative, I’m constantly reminding myself of what I have to be grateful and positive about.  This week it was very easy for me to focus that way – I’m so lucky that things worked out with Cieara, that I have wonderful virtual and real life friends, and that our family will withstand this battering and be stronger together (and of course a little new yarn never hurts!).    Happy!

Have a great weekend!

22 Responses to Happy News

  1. Cookie says:

    What wonderful news! I’m so glad things are looking up on the family front.

    Yes, a little yarn never hurts anyone. ;^)

  2. Lucette says:

    This is very good news. I too am glad, for a happy family. The green sock looks great. I wish I could finish socks quickly like you. Any tips?

  3. Sounds like things will be settling down for a little while ~ that’s great news! Both of your new yarns look like they’ll work great with black coats… perfect for post Christmas knitting personal projects!

  4. Denise says:

    Wow, what great news. I’m glad for everyone.

  5. brokeknits says:

    Lovely yarn! And lovely news for your family! I hope things keep on looking up.

  6. I’m so glad that this crisis is resolving itself. I’m sure that your family will recover.

    I love the Loopy Ewe and Madelinetosh in particular!

  7. Rhonda says:

    Glad everything is working out. Yarny pick-ups are always a good thing.

  8. donna lee says:

    I’m glad things are on a more even keel.

    I decided to do a last minute pair of socks for my husband, too. Just plain toe up with ribbing. One is mostly done and I fighre it won’t take too long to finish the other one. That was the extent of my holiday knitting.

    And the schaeffer anne is lovely to work with.

  9. Christianne says:

    I’m so glad the situation is working out for all of you. Yarn does make a great little pick me up, and you chose some really nice looking yarn!

  10. Valerie says:

    Glad to hear things are going better.

    LOVE the Madeline tosh…. I almost got that colourway, but I have so much green in my wardrobe, and green yarn waiting to be knit, so I went with the Kale.

  11. Robby says:

    Wonderful news! Families can be hard, but working through those times help make the bonds tighter, and we appreciate each other a bit more. Here’s to continued progress for all of you (in a less stressful and dramatic way, of course). Love the socks!

  12. Steven says:

    So happy to read your post this morning and find out things are working out with your daughter!

    And I really like the Madeline Tosh yarn. Haven’t worked with it myself, but several of my knitting buddies are ga-ga about it. Happy knitting!

  13. rebekahsyarn says:

    I’m so glad things are working out. I’m with Cierra I love short cuffs. Socks never stay up on me with long cuffs.

  14. weezalana says:

    Hooray for working things out with Cieara! And love the green Tosh worsted. I’ve heard great things about that yarn.

  15. Opal says:

    what great news about cieara! woohoo! 😀

    i’m lovin’ that madeline tosh. can i ask what it’s destined to be?

    and of course the malabrigo makes my knees weak. 😉

  16. misa says:

    What a nice post, I can feel the love.

  17. madalyn says:

    What good news that things are working out with your daughter!

  18. Shea says:

    That’s wonderful news and in just in time for Christmas! Woohoo! I’m so glad to hear that things are getting better for you guys.

  19. Kim says:

    I’m so happy to hear that things are working out. There is nothing worse than worrying about children, and, well, knitting only takes you so far… 😉

  20. rhoda says:

    it’s snowing!!!!!!!!!! that is so wonderful that cieara decided against moving out. i’m so relieved for you! this situation will definitely make your family stronger. jade is lovely as is ravelry red. 🙂

  21. Kim says:

    What wonderful news! Opportunities do present themselves in strange ways and I hope this will help strengthen your family even more.

    …Yarn therapy, now you can’t really beat that for icing on the cake.

    I heard my LYS is getting Ravelry Red in soon and I can’t wait to see it!

  22. Oiyi says:

    That is very good news. I am so happy for you and your family.

    Very nice stash enhancement! Yes, it’s better than eating chocolate.

    I was very stressed out last week because Melody has been more than a handful. Super needy towards me and not wanting her father to help. Plus, he has been working late for the last 3 weeks which meant no break for me. I was so tempted to buy some yarn to blow off some stress and make myself happy.

Leave a Reply

