Berry Hill Socks

I can’t show all of my knitting projects right now since they are gifts, but I thought I’d show you one – since I know that the person that is going to receive these doesn’t read my blog.  I finished these up earlier this week, and I’m very happy with them.

1915

Pattern:  Berry Hill from Wandering Cat Yarns
Yarn:  Claudia Hand Painted Yarns Fingering, Electric colorway
Started:  November 6, 2009
Finished:  November 21, 2009

I posted about these socks before when I started, and I was happy with them all the way through.  They are knit from the cuff down (which was weird after doing so many toe up socks) and they just flew.   The pattern is very easy to remember, and it is a perfect pattern for solid (or semi-solid) yarns.  I love the cuffs and think its really cute  – and really unusual – most sock patterns just start with ribbing.  I made the cuff 4″ because I don’t know how the recipient likes their cuffs and I figured 4″ was sort of middle of the road (I like mine longer).

I really liked this yarn too – originally I bought it to make a Chevron scarf but I think this is a much better use of it.  This is really nice sock yarn – tight twist but soft.  The color is really pretty – very bright and I hope that the recipient likes it.  Since this was a stash yarn, I’m going to call these my November socks of the month too!

1917

All in all, very nice pattern, very nice socks.  I think I’ll have to make myself a pair after the holidays!

I’m done with four gift projects, and am just about done with the fifth one.  That means I have one official one left, but I’m thinking that I may try and squeeze in a pair of socks for Larry (he doesn’t read this blog) – I originally told him he wouldn’t get a pair for Christmas since he gets so many during the year but I think I have time to finish something for him.   And it would be a surprise then – which is hard since he usually knows who I’m knitting for.    I’m going to be very glad to finish all this holiday knitting – its time to make something for me! 

Thank you for all the nice comments about Cieara – we are just taking this day to day, and trying to keep a link to her so she knows she always has a fall back.  Its very stressful though, and isn’t making for a good family dynamic right now.    Even so, we had a nice Thanksgiving yesterday – lots of food, family and a little fun.   I ate too much and today feel just sort of out of it.     I can’t decide on whether I want a day at home to lie around and relax, or if we should go to the movies.  We are going into NYC tomorrow to go to lunch and to check out the Shops at Bryant Park so I think maybe a do nothing day would be in order.    

OK, off to do a little laundry, and a little knitting.  Have a great weekend!

15 Responses to Berry Hill Socks

  1. That cuff is really neat! Does the lace help them stay up the same way that ribbing does?

  2. Lisa says:

    Gorgeous – I love that blue!

  3. rhoda says:

    wow. the socks look amazing!!! i’m going to have to add this pattern to my queue! love them in blue. 🙂

  4. brokeknits says:

    That color is amazing! And it looks great with the pattern … the recipient is very lucky!

  5. Valerie says:

    They look terrific. I always get nervous when someone else knits my pattern.. is it going to make sense, are there mistakes, etc… Glad you liked it!

  6. Nice socks! And I love the blue, but you know that already…

  7. Chris says:

    The socks came out great. I’m glad you had a nice Thanksgiving – have fun in the city and stay warm!

  8. donna lee says:

    Very cool socks!

    As far as kids go, someone once said having a child is like having part of your heart walk around outside of your body. Boy, is that an understatement! I’m thinking of you and Larry.

  9. Anna says:

    They are lovely! I really love the ‘girly’ pattern with the blue yarn!

  10. Lucette says:

    Your lacy socks are lovely and will cheer up a winter’s day.

  11. Steven says:

    I love how these socks look so delicate and yet so sturdy at the same time. Lovely job.

    And I’m jealous that you can just pop over to NYC to do a little holiday shopping! Hope you had fun.

  12. Kim says:

    Very nice socks. Love that pattern and the recipient should be thrilled.

  13. rebekahsyarn says:

    Very cute, hope you had a good weekend and trip to NYC.

  14. weezalana says:

    Those are gorgeous! LOVE the color!

  15. misa says:

    So pretty! The person getting these socks must be very special indeed.

Leave a Reply

