Ups and downs

The worst thing about holiday knitting is that I can’t really show you the two projects I finished this week.   I’m really happy with one of them, and sort of on the fence on the other – I may frog it and reknit it a little differently.  I wish I could show you it and get some advice – but I know that the recipient sometimes reads my blog.   So I’m stuck showing family members and asking what they think – which means I get a “oh, that’s nice” or a “how come you aren’t making me something?”.   Not too useful!

I will show you a little bit of something though…Malabrigo Lace.   Every time I knit with this yarn I just love it and really need to buy more for the stash.  I’m very happy with this project, and will post pictures after the holidays (I suppose the good side of this is that I’ll have a lot of blog posts in January!)

1905

The title of this post refers to my weekend – on the positive side, I had a really nice Saturday.  I went to yoga  – my beginner’s series finished last week, so yesterday was my first official yoga class.  And it was great – I loved it!  Some of the poses were a challenge, but I kept up and left feeling happy and relaxed.  I’m so glad I’m doing this!    I also had knitting group yesterday afternoon and got to see people I haven’t seen in a while – we had a good time, and it was very nice to spend the afternoon with friends chatting about everything.    It really was a nice day – a great way to unwind after a stressful week.  Someone at knitting group had a skein of Madelinetosh Worsted – wow – this is amazing yarn!  It is definitely on my list to get after the holidays.  (Of course, if the yarn store gets some in before the holidays, I just may get some anyway). 

On the not so positive side  – we are struggling with an issue with my daughter.  She’s making really bad decisions (and has been for some time), and we are (and have been) really struggling how to deal with it.  It involves her dating someone we really don’t like who is advising her to make decisions that are going to impact her for a long time.   We stopped her seeing him a few months ago, but she’s been sneaking around, and now is ready to move out before she finishes high school to be with him.  Its breaking our hearts, and we just don’t have any idea how to deal with this other than letting her go and hoping that she realizes her mistakes before this gets really bad.  It’s a long, ugly story and we’ve been on an emotional rollercoaster for a while.  She turns 18 in a couple of weeks, and we will have little choice but to watch her screw up her life.  It is so hard to be a parent – especially when you know that they are making huge mistakes.   Things came to a head this weekend, and its been so sad.  

I don’t want to end the post on a sad note, so how about helping me out with something else?  My sister got me some face cream for a very good price.  She got me six packages – the problem is I don’t really like it.  Would you like to try it?  I have 5 un-opened jars, and I’d be happy to send it to you for the cost of shipping  – which I don’t think would be very much.  I feel bad that I won’t use it, so I’d like to find a home for it.  Oh, would you like to know what it is?  Aveeno Positively Radiant Anti-Wrinkle – its nice but it’s just not for me.  Let me know if you are interested!

OK, back to knitting – have a good week, and have a very happy Thanksgiving in you are in the US (Larry did a trial run tonight for the rolls he’s making on Thursday – so so good!)

20 Responses to Ups and downs

  1. Christianne says:

    Beautiful Lace. My heart goes out to you all – being a parent is the toughest job on earth and it’s so hard to steer our kids in the right direction, when they’re so intent on the wrong one. I hope things work out for all of you.

  2. Maybe you could show your mystery project to Chris or someone at your LYS. Hopefully everything works out with your family. I’m one of five kids and we all made less than stellar choices at some point but always knew that our father was there if we needed him. It must be hard watching her make a choice you don’t agree with but if you keep the communication lines open hopefully she’ll realize her mistakes and let you help her.

  3. Punkin says:

    My heart goes out to you and your daughter. I hope that you find respite from the turmoil.

  4. Rhonda says:

    Raising children is not easy. But hold on to the hope that you raised her right, and she will figure out that mom and dad were right. It took mine a little while to see the light, and they have turned out a-okay.

  5. Agreeing with the others; you have to let them learn. If you just tell them no, they’ll run the other way. It’s hard.

  6. Oiyi says:

    Yes, it’s hard to blog about holiday projects if you know they might read it. Only my sister knows about my blog. And one set of friends (a husband and wife, but they have told their family members who like to read my blog) knows, so I am pretty safe. But still, I rather wait until the holidays is over because you never know.

    I am so sorry to hear about your daughter. It makes my heart ache. I have made some stupid mistakes when I was young and only now (because of my daughter) can I understand the kind of grief I put my parents through. Luckily, it was small and I made it through my teenage years fine. I think that you have to keep in mind that you raised her as best as you can and the rest is up to her now. I know it’s easier said than done. Good luck! (Hugs)

  7. Steven says:

    I don’t have kids of my own and try to refrain from offering advice on a topic which I know next to nothing about, but it sounds to me like you’re doing what you need to do.

    But I have been a kid, and one that didn’t always follow his parents’ advice. And despite (and because of) the tense times and conversations, I always knew my parents loved me and had my best interest at heart. I’m sure your daughter does, too. It just may take a while for her to believe it.

    My heart goes out to you and Larry.

  8. brokeknits says:

    I hope the holiday knitting is going well … the malabrigo teaser looks lovely! And so soft. I agree with the LYS suggestion: could they help out?
    Good luck with your daughter; it sounds like a very unhappy and stressful situtation. Sometimes, unfortunately, a person has to make their own mistakes (I certainly have). Will be thinking of you.

  9. weezalana says:

    I’m so sorry you’re going through such a difficult time with your daughter. It’s so hard to watch the people you love make the wrong choices (no kids yet for me, but my younger brother did so when he was in high school – if it makes you feel any better, there was no lasting damage from those choices and he turned into a terrific adult!). At that age, though, they’re going to do what they’re going to do, and telling them “no” will just encourage them to dig the hole even deeper. All you can do is let her know that you love her and that you’ll be there to help her when she does “wake up”. Many hugs!

  10. Rebekah says:

    So sorry you are going through a tough patch with your daughter, not being a parent I can only imagine how difficult that must be.

    Intrigued by the yarn you talked about, Madelintosh, haven’t heard of it. I can’t wait to learn more.

    Take care.

  11. Oh, Jeanne, not only does my heart go out to you, but I have so been there! My son is now 22, but he got into major, major trouble as a teen-ager. He hasn’t been in trouble for a long time, but still makes decisions that worry me! He was just evicted from an apartment because his roommates failed to pay the rent. Of course, I saw this coming. This will be on his record forever! If you need to talk or want to hear the things I’ve tried, you can pm me on Ravelry, where I’m caffeinegirl1.

  12. Cookie says:

    Oh, Jeanne, I am so sorry. Daughters can be such a handful at that age. Much harder than sons, I think. (Not that I’d really know, but I remember that age with horror.) I hope things work out well for her.

    The lace is lovely and I bet you’re wrong about that gift knit. I’m sure it’s lovely.

    Oh, and I’d be interested if you still any jars floating around. xo

  13. Valerie says:

    Dorry to hear about your troubles. I don’t have kids so you can take this or leave it – but I think we need to make our own mistakes. You can be there and give advice but we really have to learn on our own.

    Mom and I didn’t see eye to eye on many things (including my much older boyfriend), but in the end it all worked out, and now we are closer than we’ve ever been.

    She may fall and hurt herself a few times, but you can always be there to help her back up.

  14. Robby says:

    No kids here, but I remember a couple of times thinking I had made irrevocable bad decisions. My heart was very happy to learn that my parents still loved me and were there to help me figure out how to make things right when I was ready. That was a priceless gift. As long as she knows you love her, even if you aren’t happy with her and her decisions, you’ve got a good shot at working things out when the time comes.

  15. Kim says:

    Oh Jeanne I feel for you. It is so hard to be a parent and I will keep my fingers crossed that your daughter wises up and dumps this a-hole pronto.

  16. Opal says:

    i’m so sorry to hear about your parental woes. i hope things get better for you and yours. *hugs*

  17. Jacqui says:

    I will look at your secret project and give you advice! Email me pictures.

    I’m sorry to hear about your daughter. As someone who has made very bad decisions and stood by as a sibling made even worse decisions, I can say that you really do need to stand by and let the person realize her mistakes in her own way. Most mistakes, no matter what they are, can be fixed or at least moved on from…if that makes sense.

  18. rhoda says:

    wow…the malabrigo project is pretty. love your color choice. that’s great about yoga! sorry to hear about what you and larry have been going through with cieara. i haven’t any sage advice to share with you other than all you can do is hope that she knows you two know she loves you and really do have her best interests in mind. she’ll eventually come to her senses (hopefully sooner than later) and if anything this will strengthen your relationship.

  19. Anna says:

    Sending you hugs. Watching them make mistakes is so agonisng.

  20. misa says:

    That must be such a tough situation with Ciera. I hope that lovely yarn and good yoga moments will help keep you grounded. I definitely worry about what things will be like when my kids hit their teens.

Leave a Reply

