Penny (the sweater)

It has been a while, hasn’t it?  I don’t think I’ve ever taken such a long break from blogging before – and it wasn’t intentional.  I simply forgot what having a puppy was like.  If I sit down to do anything, she gets into trouble.  Or wants to be picked up.  Or eats a power cord.  Or chases a cat.  Or pees on the floor.   I really forgot what puppies do, and how destructive they can be (last night she found a handknit sock and was chewing on it – definitely bad dog!)  Its a big deal to us if we actually can follow what is going on with a TV show because we miss so much of it!  It is a very good thing she’s cute. 

It speaks to my lack of free time at night that this took me over a week to make, but I finally finished it this morning (and I’m ignoring Penny to post this – she’s terrorizing Ruby right now – sorry Ruby but sometimes you have to take the hit for the blog…)

1858

OK, I just realized the above picture looks like she’s squatting – but she isn’t – she’s eating a treat.  Because the only way we could get her to stop trying to eat the sweater was to eat something else. 

Pattern:  Penny from Knitty.com
Yarn:  Debbie Bliss Merino Aran, 85 yards
Started:  October 23, 2009
Finished:  October 31,2009

I know – Debbie Bliss Merino Aran.  For a dog.  It speaks to how spoiled this dog is going to be – I looked through my stash for the yarn.  I wanted it to be wool so it would keep her warm, and handle getting wet.  And the only yarn I had in a remotely good color was this.  I did have some Cascade 220 – but it was black or blue.  Definitely not a good color for a baby girl!    I briefly thought about going to buy something, but really wanted to use stash yarn.   

I bought this yarn on sale a while ago  – I have 850 yards – not enough to do much other than hats or scarves, so I think this was ultimately a good use.  I’m already planning on making her another one in a bigger size when she gets older  – this one only took one ball, so I have plenty to go.  I’m also going to make Ruby a sweater too – they would be really cute in matching sweaters.  I may also make a hat or cowl for me with the rest – I really enjoyed working with the yarn, and love the feel of it in the finished object (and no, it doesn’t say crazy dog owner to have us all be in matching stuff!)

1870

The pattern is very straightforward – I have no excuse for taking so long to make it other than I had like 5 minutes a night to knit.  It is knit flat, and then seamed under the belly – I can’t say that I did a very good job at that, but I haven’t seamed anything in a long time.  I wasn’t pleased with it, but not enough to rip it out and do it again – but next time I’ll have to work a little harder to make it look nice all the way down the seam.  I don’t think Penny will notice, though!  I think I will also add a little more in length to the next one – I couldn’t wait for this one to be done so adding more would have been torture – but looking at it I think she could use about another inch. 

She really has been a handful – but such a joy as well.  Her ears started standing up this week – so cute!  She’s settled in well for the most part, but she doesn’t like the crate at night, so she sleeps with Larry and I.  And last night we had a big breakthrough – she allowed the cats to also sleep on the bed.  She also learned how to bark, and loves to bark at everyone.  Even me. 

1868

How can I ever resist that face?

On the non-Penny side of my life – its been a long couple of weeks.   I’ll give highlights – Parenting has been a challenge lately, and a worry – and I don’t know that its going to stop anytime soon.  Work has been ridiculously busy, and there is an increased level of anxiety in the group – I guess it’s year end, and uncertainty about next year, but everyone is so dark  there (someone in the group calls it the three D’s – dread, depression and despair – does that tell you what its like?)  and it’s hard to work in a place where no one is happy and everyone is stressed out.   My family (siblings/mother) are completely crazy, and I’m to the point when I’ve officially checked out.    I’m done with it all – its amazing to me that no matter how old we are, people revert to the roles we had growing up, and still try to play to being the favorite.  Uck.   

Anyway, you didn’t come here to hear about my problems, so I’ll leave on a high note!  My LYS, Angelfire Studios (Rav group), got a shipment of Madeline Tosh sock yarn in last week.  I’m heading there today to check it out (I hope she has some left!).    I’ve heard such good things about this yarn, and I’m hoping to use it for a another Pretty Thing.    I think working on small projects is the best thing right now, and something that I can put down in an instant (when I have to rescue <<insert anything here>> from Penny).

I also haven’t been reading blogs so I’m very behind.  But I’m planning on a quiet afternoon at home tomorrow, and will get caught up – I miss seeing what everyone is up to!    We aren’t doing anything for Halloween .  We live in too remote of an area to get any trick or treaters, and no one is going to be home (we are going to my sister’s for dinner, and Cieara is going out with a friend, Dan is going out to an all day/night party).  So it doesn’t seem very Halloween-ish to me.  I miss the days of taking kids out, and watching their excitement about their costumes, and at getting all that candy.     I think its the hardest thing about kids getting to be adults – you miss all the fun kid holiday stuff. 

If you are celebrating Halloween, or helping your kids celebrate, have a great time – and of course, have a great weekend!

18 Responses to Penny (the sweater)

  1. Chris says:

    She looks adorable in the sweater! I hope the stress eases up soon. Enjoy the yarn shop/Dinner at Sis’s!

  2. Rhonda says:

    Parenting never stops. Ask me how I know.
    Penny looks lovely in her new sweater.

  3. Steven says:

    Penny is quite the fashion plate! Sorry family and work issues are stressing you out. But that’s what knitting’s for — partly, anyway. Glad to see you blogging again — and knitting.

    Happy Halloween!

  4. Walden says:

    Sorry about the parenting, work, and family issues. Hope things get better soon. As for Penny, well that is the only reason most people continue to get puppies . . . we forget about the work and all we remember was the adorable cuteness. 🙂 I am glad you are enjoying her. She is cute in her little sweater.

  5. Rachel says:

    Lovely!

    Have a great Halloween:)

  6. kim says:

    Ah, I remember those days. I have the first sweater I knit for Maggie, and I swear that it’s no bigger than the palm of my hand. She was 1.5 lbs when we brought her home at 12 weeks. So tiny! I secretly hoped she’d be a teacup, but her love of food has tipped the scales for her. I think the females are so much harder to train than the males, and terriers definitely have a mind of their own. I don’t think DB yarn is a waste for the dear baby. She will be warm and happy. Enjoy the rest of your weekend…

  7. Oiyi says:

    She is just too cute! And that sweater is beautiful!

  8. Kim says:

    Oh, those Westies are a handful! If she just discovered how to bark, you can teach her ‘speak’ very easily. When she barks, say ‘speak’ and give her a treat. Once she does it on command, then you can tell her ‘no’ when she does it without being told to. It works with our Lucy nearly all of the time.

    Her sweater is adorable and her ears are so straight – she is a cutie!

    Hang in there, us loyal blog readers will be waiting for an update ; )

  9. Valerie says:

    Penny (the sweater and the dog) are sooooooooo cute!

  10. So sorry that you’re facing challenges in both parenting and at work. It’s so hard when things pile up like that.

    Penny is adorable — but you’re reminding me how much work puppies are! For now, I think we’ll stick with cats.

  11. Kerry says:

    Parenting humans and canines takes time and patience and just when you think you have made progress it all goes to the frog pond.

    Penny gets cuter every time I see a picture of her.

  12. weezalana says:

    Er, I hate to break it to you dear, but it actually does say crazy dog owner to have you all wear matching stuff. 😉

    Sorry about the work/parenting/family stress. Although, Dread Depression and Despair kinda sounds like something out of The Princess Bride. Next time you feel the weight of darkness coming, just imagine Wesley riding in on a white horse to take you away!

  13. Rebekah says:

    Oh my Penny pictures always cheer me up, she’s so stinkin cute!

    Sorry about your craziness, I hope things even out for you soon.

    remember to try and take time to take care of yourself too!

  14. Shea says:

    She is so cute! If I were you, I’d invest in a couple of baby gates until she’s a bit older. It’ll save your sanity and maybe your yarn. I use our gates more for the animals than the kids these days, especially since the Youngest has learned to climb over them!

  15. Robby says:

    Puppies and small children have excessive cuteness as a defense mechanism. It’s a bit like the fawn having spots to hide it in the forest. It is what keeps them from being murdered by someone’s bare hands. Laughter helps, and the time will fly just has it has with your children. Enjoy!

  16. brokeknits says:

    Penny in a sweater is so cute. For the time being, though, I think I’ll stick with my cat. At least she doesn’t eat my socks. Yet.

    Good luck getting through it all. Sometimes life just seems to pile up …

  17. Opal says:

    penny is just so sweet!

    i hope the other things ease up for you. i know how hectic life can get. well.. not the parenting bit..

Leave a Reply

