Van Dyke Socks

I don’t know what is going on, but I’ve finished three projects this week – the beauty of small projects…

1715

 
Pattern:  Van Dyke Socks, Socks from the Toe Up
Yarn:  Studio Sport, Neighborhood Fiber Co. Cooper Circle colorway
Started:  July 22, 2009
Finished:  October 4, 2009

I know – over two months to finish socks?  In my defense, these were the socks that I started and then realized I needed another skein to finish – and that I didn’t have another skein.  It took me a while to find it – the dyer had changed the yarn, and the skeins now had a lot of yarn – and I didn’t want to pay for 2 times the yarn I needed.    I finally found it on a destah on Ravelry.  Project attention span problems also added in some time here – I was working on everything but these socks until this last week.  But they are finally done, and I’m pretty happy with them. 

1713

The yarn is a sport weight, and its really nice – beautiful colors, and I like the feel of it.  I got this yarn in a swap a long time ago, and acutally made Cieara a pair of Fetching with it that she loves.     I really enjoyed this pattern – another winner from the book.  It was an easy pattern, and yet kept me interested enough that I loved working on it.  And sport weight socks are perfect for the colder nights we have been having – I’m looking forward to wearing these.

1716

The only problem with the socks is that on the first sock, I used a normal cast off, trying to keep it really loose and stretchy.  I wasn’t completely succesfull, and have a little bit of a hard time getting them on.  So on the second, I used the sewn cast off, and they are perfect.  Lesson learned.  I’m very happy these are done, and that another long term project is out of the knitting basket.

I also finished the hat, but need to weave in ends, sew on buttons and all that.  I didn’t get a chance to get to the yarn store, so I bought a boring button for it.  We’ll see – I may hold off on putting it together until I get a better one.  I may start another hat, or mittens – but I’ve also been looking at shawl patterns too.  I am torn because there are projects in my basket that I really should finish…and yet….I just feel the urge to cast on for something new – Girasole – isn’t that gorgeous?  I think in a fingering weight….so hard to resist a new project!

It is a beautiful day here – sunny, warm, and a perfect day for golf.  We are heading out in a few minutes, and I’m looking forward to being outside.   This has been a really long, stressful week –  and  I have a busy week ahead of me, but next weekend is a long one, and Andrew is coming home, so I’m looking forward to that.

OK, time to golf – have a great week!

18 Responses to Van Dyke Socks

  1. Rachel says:

    Socks looking good.

  2. Valerie says:

    Socks look great! Nice pattern. I really have to finish my socks, but it’s out in the car in my knitting bag and it just seems sooooooooo far away

  3. Rhonda says:

    Oooohh. I love those socks. I’ll have to put them on my list.

  4. denisedalton says:

    Pretty – this was a fun knit, another great one from that book.

  5. The socks are so pretty. I have the book but have not yet tried a toe-up.

  6. weezalana says:

    Great job on the socks! Why don’t you undo the bindoff on the first one and redo it?

  7. tiennie says:

    These are awesome and so are your yoga socks!!

  8. Rebekah says:

    Cute socks. I’m itching to knit some mittens, but I’m holding steady on Elizabeth. For now anyway.

  9. kim says:

    Pretty socks. The color reminds me of Malabrigo Sealing Wax. The perfect fall color.

  10. Shea says:

    Love the socks! Those are so cute. I love red socks.

  11. Cookie says:

    Good lookin’ socks!

    Don’t you just love the sewn bind off?

  12. misa says:

    Lovely socks and way to be committed to tracking down yarn, you’re stronger than I am. I just figure something else will have to do.

  13. brokeknits says:

    Lovely socks! Sport-weight socks seem especially suited for fall … so cozy and warm.

  14. Kim says:

    Doesn’t if feel wonderful to slip on a new pair of handknit socks? They are sure to keep your tootsies warm.

  15. Susie says:

    Lovely socks! The color is gorgeous and they’re beautifully made.

  16. Oiyi says:

    It’s such a great color. I am glad that you were able to track down more yarn without having to pay a fortune.

  17. rhoda says:

    I’m so glad you were able to finish these socks! 🙂 They look great. I can’t wait to see your finished hat as well!

  18. Opal says:

    yay for FO’s!!

    i love the red of that yarn. so pretty!

Leave a Reply

