Yoga Socks

I didn’t have them done in time for yoga last Sunday, but I finished them the next day so I’m ready for next weekend!

1709 (2)

Pattern:  Twisted Rib Yoga Socks
Yarn:  Plymouth Earth Oceanside Oraganic
Started  September 21, 2009
Finished:  September 28, 2009

I talked about these last post, but to recap – liked the pattern, love how they came out, hated working with the yarn.   So much so that I put the other two skeins I had back in the stash so I get a bit of a break from it (does someone want it?  I’d be happy to trade!)   I really do like the fabric it makes though – its so silky/cottony.    I loved how fast this was –  DK weight socks go so fast! 

1710

I really like the stitch pattern – I think I may use it for a pair of real socks sometime.  I wonder how it would look in a fingering…

So I really liked yoga – I can’t wait to go next weekend.  It wasn’t hard, but at the end I was really relaxed.  I was sort of surprised I was so relaxed – I’m generally pretty wound up, and have a very hard time turning off my brain.  But at the end, we did shavasana (basically just lying there) and by the end I was just completely boneless.  I don’t know what it is, but I felt good for the rest of the day.     I wish I had done this years ago!

Its getting cold here – today was only in the low 50’s (Farenheit).   And the cooler it gets, the more I start thinking about hats, scarves and mitts.  I know – I have enough projects going, but I just like having small projects to knock out in between all the bigger ones.  I think I need the motivation of a finished project to keep me slogging through the slower ones.   So I kept on looking on Ravelry, looking in my stash….and today I really needed the lift of a new project (kids – grrr!  don’t ask!).  So I started this with this yarn.   I’m really happy to use the yarn – I bought it on vacation in Maine, and I’ve always loved it.  And I think its perfect for a hat – very warm, and I have just the right yardage.    I am really enjoying the pattern so far, and hope to finish it this weekend.   I am already thinking that I may make my sister one  –  or maybe I’ll just make another one for me!  I need to find a great button for it though – so maybe I’ll take a quick trip to the yarn store this weekend…

I got the Joji’s Premium Lllama yarn yesterday – so nice!  I’ll have to get a good picture of it but I can’t show you how soft it is – its amazing.    I’m thinking of making Willoughby with it (and it would be nice with my new hat).   I just have to resist the urge to start something new before I finish something in the basket (my poor vest is crying at the neglect!)

I’m off to work on the hat – don’t you love the excitment of working on a new project?

Have a great week!

19 Responses to Yoga Socks

  1. chris says:

    Nice socks! Almost done with mine but I get so distracted 🙂 The hat is very cute – and you can’t work on Willoughby……..someone has your book…..mwahahahaha!

  2. Joji says:

    So glad that you liked the yarn!!!!
    I thought of making Willoughby myself with it! Isn’t just the right combo?

  3. Your socks look really neat! I think the pattern would work well in a fingering, maybe a bit more delicate. I’m glad you’re liking yoga.

  4. weezalana says:

    Great job on the yoga socks!

    I am SO jealous of your cold weather. It’s still freakin’ 90 degrees here. BOOO!

  5. Rhonda says:

    The socks look great. It is a nice pattern. You’ll love Willoughby, I’ve seen it done up at my LYS. And I’ll have Bridgewater done soon for them. (if I can stay away from the dyepots.)

  6. jackie says:

    hey, this is cute, love the cables.

  7. Rachel says:

    I like the stitch pattern of those socks too and your hat looks nice.

  8. It sounds like yoga is the ticket for you — and a chance to show off some nice knitting!

  9. brokeknits says:

    The socks look great! And I can’t wait to see some small projects … the hat is super cute.

  10. Rebekah says:

    Great socks, makes me wish I did Yoga. But I have enough on my plate right now between aerobics, walking, and bike riding 🙂

  11. Valerie says:

    Socks look great.. you inspired me to look into some yoga classes around here.. I do it a little on my own at home, but I think it would be more fun and motivating with others. Anyway, I missed the start up date, but I’ll be joining in January.
    It’s gotten much cooler here too, thank goodness for the shawls I’ve made because I refuse to turn on my heat yet!

  12. misa says:

    The socks are very cute. I don’t know if I could wear them doing yoga, but they would work great for a more meditative style. Love the style of the hat too, it definitely needs just the right button.

  13. Steven says:

    I kept wondering when those socks were going to get heels — I was a little to realizing that’s the way they’re supposed to look! Glad it’s relaxing. Very inspiring!

    And that hat is nice — can’t wait to see it.

  14. rhoda says:

    the socks look great. i’m so glad to hear yoga was relaxing! ooh, love the indian summer hat you’re making!

  15. Ren says:

    the socks look great! maybe i should try yoga… i have a feeling i’m going to need some stress relief soon! : )

  16. Oiyi says:

    Those look so comfy!

  17. Opal says:

    i’m so glad you’re enjoying yoga! it sounds like it’s really the thing for you.

    the socks are beautiful!

  18. Holly says:

    Love your socks! I started my own pair a while ago and never got around to finishing the second one. I just sat down to finish and the pattern has been deleted – I can’t even find it to purchase. I was hoping you had the pattern repeat written down that you could share with me? I hate to scrap the project this far along!

  19. Holly says:

    Love your socks! I started my own pair a while ago and never got around to finishing the second one. I just sat down to finish and the pattern has been deleted – I can’t even find it to purchase. I was hoping you had the pattern repeat written down that you could share with me? I hate to scrap the project this far along!

Leave a Reply

