Yoga stuff

So as I mentioned last time, I was planning on going to go to a local yoga studio last Saturday to see it and talk to them about signing up for a beginner’s class.    I mentioned it to Chris, and we ended up going together.    It was a great place – everyone was so nice, and we really liked it.  And we ended up signing up for the beginner’s workshop – every Sunday morning for 8 weeks.   I’m very excited about it – I think its going to help me relax and deal with stress – and it will be fun to do it with a friend.  In fact, I’m doing it with a friend and Cieara too – when I got home and told her about it she asked to go too.  What a great way to spend a weekend morning!

After we signed up for the class, Chris and I went to a yarn store that wasn’t too far away – just to look around of course.  But on the way there, we talked about yoga, and one thing led to another…and the next thing you know, we were there buying yarn for a yoga mat bag

1702

I know, sort of weird.  But it seemed like a great idea at the time.  The yarn is Sublime Organic Cotton DK – and I love it.  Its really soft, and doesn’t have that dishclothy kind of feel that sometimes cotton has.    I could see making a summer sweater out of this yarn – and it does come in beautiful colors.    There were a lot of yoga mat bag patterns, but I liked the lacy part of this one.  Its done in one flat lace piece, with another piece for the bottom.  I wish it was done in the round, but didn’t want to take the time to figure it out (the pattern wouldn’t line up correctly unless it was fiddled with) – I just wanted to start it as soon as I got home that day.  So far so good, but I don’t think I’ll have it done by this Sunday.

The yarn store always has sample knits above the yarn bins – and above the Sublime yarn bin was a really nice sock…

1704

Isn’t that pretty?  Love those twisted stitches! 

1707

A yoga sock – it was fate!  I’m not sure people actually wear socks for yoga, but I just loved it so I had to buy the yarn and start it (Chris did too, so it wasn’t just me!).    The yarn is Plymouth Earth Oceanside Organic (organic yarn just seems to go with yoga, right?), and the pattern is from Plymouth as well.  These are going really quickly – DK weight yarn and no heel does that.  I love the finished fabric, but not loving the yarn.  Its really splitty and seems like a chore to work with – and sort of dishclothy.  But I’m just about done with the first sock, and think I’ll have both done by the weekend.  Its a drag I don’t like the yarn since I bought two more skeins to make Cieara a pair too.  She may have to wait for hers!  Or I may make another pair with different yarn. 

Our dog, Duncan, had knee surgery on Monday.  Poor boy – he’s going to be confined for 8 weeks, but at the end of it, he’ll feel better and be able to walk.  He was so bad that he couldn’t put any weight on his leg, so we had to do something.   He’s already feeling better, and you can tell that we are going to have our hands full keeping him quiet.  Ruby is also having a hard time with it – she’s out of her routine, and doesn’t have anyone to go outside with.   I think its going to be a very long 8 weeks.

Kim mentioned yarn on her blog last weekend…and I just couldn’t resist. Joji’s Premium Lllama – isn’t that gorgeous?  I bought two skeins – I think it will be enough for a small shawl – mmmm…llama shawl.   Chris bought some Woollama  but the package is coming to me, so I just may forget to give it to her!  

OK, I’m off to finish up my yoga socks – have a great rest of the week!

18 Responses to Yoga stuff

  1. Shea says:

    I like the way the yoga socks are turning out. Yoga usually wears me out and I’m always sweating at the end of it. There’s no way I’d be able to wear them for that. But! You could always use them for pedicures in the winter time. 🙂

  2. It’s great that you’re going as a group – moral support is so nice. I love the idea of yoga socks, are they toeless and heelless?

  3. Cute yoga socks! Wondering why you didn’t choose the same yarn as for the bag? Looks like they’re both DK…

  4. tiennie says:

    Love that this is all about the yoga! 🙂

  5. Joji says:

    Hi Jeanne!
    I’ve been reading your blog and I loved it!
    I´m loving the yoga stuff and you could definitely make a BIG shawl with 2 skeins of Preimum Llama!!

  6. All that yummy organic yarn! Mmmm! I love that lacy pattern, too. It almost makes me want to start yoga so I could knit the bag. Everyone I know who does yoga loves it. I just can’t fit it in the schedule (or budget) at this moment!

  7. Valerie says:

    Glad you’re enjoying the yoga. That is a great way to spend a morning. The lace is lovely.
    I’ve seen a lot of yoga sock patterns on Ravelry, though I’ve always done yoga barefoot…. They look neat though.

  8. Kerry says:

    Love the sock.

    I’ve never bothered with yoga before but I have done a little bit over the last few days on Wii Fit and my legs have been like jelly so it must do some good.

  9. Steven says:

    Yoga socks! Who knew! And love how you’ve embraced yoga and merged with knitting. I love how knitters do that!

  10. Lucette says:

    Thanks for reminding me how much yoga makes a difference.

  11. Opal says:

    great yoga socks! can’t wait to hear how you like the classes!

  12. Chris says:

    I’m really looking forward to going with you guys – thanks for asking me! And I’m trying to get through the knitting – my head just isn’t there this week, but maybe I’ll have a sock done……Hope Duncan has a miraculous, never before seen, speedy recovery!

  13. Oiyi says:

    Wow, yoga socks and yoga mat bag! Can’t wait to see the finished products. I recently ordered a few bags of the Sublime yarn and should be getting it tomorrow. It was from the recent sale at http://www.littleknits.com . I’m glad to hear that you like it.

  14. misa says:

    Yay for yoga! I’m so impressed that yoga was a reason to buy yarn. I don’t think I’ve ever done that, I think I need to start. The llama yarn looks amazing.

  15. weezalana says:

    Hooray for namaste! 😉 I’m going to hop back on the yoga/pilates train myself this weekend, may have to add some yoga socks to the queue!

  16. kim says:

    Yes, of course you must have yoga socks! I mean, really, does anyone need an excuse to buy yarn? You won’t be disappointed with the Llama. It’s fabulous!

  17. brokeknits says:

    Good luck with the yoga! I bet having a great handknit socks and bag will be just the things to get you off to a great start!

  18. rhoda says:

    that is great that you’ll be doing yoga with people you love. 🙂 that way should anyone say ‘i don’t feel like going to yoga today..’ there will be three others saying..it’s going to be so much fun…etc, etc. 🙂 ooh, i love the look of that yoga mat and the socks..sorry the yarn for the socks ended up being splitty though. hope all is well with duncan!

Leave a Reply

