Getting to the good part

I got to the good part (finally!) on the vest….I thought the ribbing would last forever!

1693

And I love it!  Its really a lot of fun – I love seeing how the pattern develops.  And I have to say – I really like the yarn (Knit Picks Palette).  Its so soft and wooly – I think its a great yarn.      And I really love the colors – I usualy just wear a lot of black, so it will be nice to have something a little different.

I know the picture looks like the vest is puckering – but its just bunched up on the needles and I’ve been very careful to make sure the floats are loose.  I hope they are loose enough (I’m paranoid now that I’m looking at the picture – the last thing I need is a vest that doesn’t fit me  – but it is realy stretchy so I should be ok – like how I just talked myself around that?).     I taught myself to knit continental when I knit the fair isle tam so I could knit with yarn in each hand – but on the vest I’m just knitting with the yarn in one – I drop the one, pick up the other.    The pattern works for that, and I’m clipping along so I decided not to hassle with doing it two-handed.  I just don’t enjoy knitting continental – I think its just what I’m used to, and I don’t know that doing two-handed is faster since I’m so awkward about it.  And to be honest – I’m enjoying knitting this so much that I don’t care that it takes a little longer – sometimes its just about the knititng!

1694

I really love doing fair isle – getting to the next color is always so exciting, and so far its going well.  I’m so glad that Rebekah posted about this kit!

On the other knitting front – I decided that I wanted to finish the Van Dyke socks.  I don’t know if I posted about this, but I knit one of the socks, and then couldn’t find the other skein of yarn to make the secone one.  I found it in Ravelry, and asked the owner if they would consider selling – she said no at first – and then contacted me a week or so later and sold it to me.  I started it yesterday and I’m half way up the foot (gotta love sportweight socks!).  I’m happy to be making socks – the shawl was just too big to take on the train, and was crowding my briefcase, so I think I’ll stick with socks for a while.

I’ve been really stressed out lately – work is absolutely crazy, and the kids are back in school which leads to more stress.   I’m trying to learn to manage the stress, spend more time knitting, and just relax – on Saturday I’m going to look at a yoga place to talk to them.  I’ve never done yoga but the school has a beginner’s program, so I’m hopeful that I’ll be able to do this without looking like an ass (or hurting myself!).  Everyone that I speak to that has done yoga loves it, and tells me how it helps with stress, so I decided to give it a try.  Because all this stress is keeping me awake at nights and making me crabby – which leads to more stress.  And so on.

Its starting to get cool here – last week I even wore a raincoat!  I love autumn, and I’m looking forward to cooler weather.  Time for sweaters and socks – so nice!  OK, time to go knit so I have some new socks to wear – have a great rest of the week. 

How about a Penny update – 4 weeks!

penny_4_weeks

24 Responses to Getting to the good part

  1. Chris says:

    The vest looks great – have to restrain myself from ordering one – or do I??? Sorry to hear about the stress – Yoga should definitely help as well as more relaxing/knitting time! Let me know how it goes on Saturday. And Penny – cutie pie!

  2. Rachel says:

    Your vest looks so pretty and your puppy too 🙂

  3. That’s great that you found yarn for your second sock! I deal fairly well with stress (it’s a skill that comes with air traffic control :)) but Yoga is fantastic. No matter what your skill level is the combo of physical and mental meditation is wonderfully calming.

  4. Valerie says:

    Vest is looking great.
    Yoga is fun, and don’t worry about being a beginner, it’s not as hard as it looks, and the idea is not to do the really crazy poses right away, but to gradually build your flexibility up until you’re able to do them.
    Penny is too cute!

  5. Penny is cute!

    You can hold both yarns in your right hand; put one on each side of your index finger. You choose which one to throw by turning your wrist a bit. Anna Zilboorg taught me this in a class a long time ago. Someday I’ll make a video and put it on my blog, but I haven’t gotten to it yet!

  6. kim says:

    OH. MY. GOD! Penny has got to be the cutest thing on 4 legs. So adorable.

    I feel the same way about continental. I can do it, but I don’t enjoy it. The vest is looking great.

  7. Kim says:

    What a wonderful post – you really sound relaxed and in control.

    Your vest is gorgeous and it is so fun to anticipate changing colors! Won’t be long until Penny is running underfoot, what a sweetie.

  8. Kim says:

    The vest is so neat! It’s pretty cool to see the pattern emerge. Penny is such a cutie pie!
    Work is driving me crazy too. Way stressed out. Good luck with the yoga! The few times I’ve done it I really liked it.

  9. kitkatknit says:

    Penny Penny Penny Penny Penny Penny!! What a doll!

  10. Steven says:

    The sweater is looking GREAT! As long as you’re keeping an eye on the floats, you’re fine. It still might look puckery now, but with loose floats, they’ll block out.

    And don’t get too stressed about the stress — or worry about what you look like doing yoga. It’s about how it makes you feel. Concentrate on that (said the guy who’s been meaning to try it for years but just hasn’t gotten around to it).

    I know you can’t wait until Penny gets there, but just think — you get to spend the time knitting a sweater!

  11. Cookie says:

    Good lookin’ vest!

    I hope the yoga helps with the stress, sweetie.

    Penny is adorable and I’m more of a Cairn person than a Westie person. :p

  12. weezalana says:

    The vest is coming along great! As is Penny! 😉

    I don’t do yoga as often as I’d like, but every time I do, I feel wonderful afterwards. Relaxed and focused. I hope the yoga place works out!

  13. misa says:

    I love the photos of the fair isle up close. Those brown sing together. Big yoga person here…you won’t hurt yourself and we all look like an ass at one time or another, but yoga is about accepting where you are and working with it. It will be nothing but good.

  14. Opal says:

    i love how that vest is knitting up. i hope penny and the vest are helping you destress.

  15. Wow.

    So cute, having such a pet truly relieves us of any stress we have.

    See more in my webpage on how to cope with stress, anxiey and panic attacks.

  16. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Use whatever method works for you. I can knit continental, but my gauge is always off- so like you, I use one hand and throw.

    Can a puppy be cuter?

  17. As a teacher, I hate to hear that school is making your life more stressful. I really try hard not to do that to my students and their families.

    I’ve heard great things about yoga. I think physical activity is essential for managing stress.

    I’ve heard petting dogs or cats is also helpful.

  18. lynne says:

    Fairisle has to be my favorite knit technique. There is something exciting about anticipating a color change, as you said. The vest is looking great, Jeanne. And Penny? She is so stinking cute!

  19. Robby says:

    Well, the knitting is nice, but love that puppy face. I think your stress is a clear indicator of not enough puppy face time. (Until there’s an accident on the floor anyway. LOL)

  20. katie m. says:

    I’ll have to agree with everyone else: the vest is looking great. Good luck with keeping the stress at bay — never easy. Your puppy is so cute! I hope she helps …

  21. tiennie says:

    Great work! Your puppy is adorable and looks more like a puppy than a little bear now. 🙂

  22. hakucho says:

    Your vest is awesome…can’t wait to see more….

    Cute as a button….Penny really is very sweet 🙂

  23. rhoda says:

    ooh, you did get to the fun part of the vest. yay! 🙂 sorry to hear you’ve been stressed out lately. hopefully yoga will help reduce your stress! penny is SO cute. she looks like she’s going to be trouble when she gets a lil bigger!!

  24. Rebekah says:

    I’m itching so bad to start mine, but alas I must finsih Elizabeth before I do or I’ll never finisn anything! Yours is looking great, my sttiches always look puckery on Fair Isle until I do the first washing/blocking, you’ll be fine.

    Penny is sooo cute!

Leave a Reply

