Fall projects…

I’ve been working on Nefertiti for the last week – on the train, at night, during any free time.  I’ve made some progress, and I was reminded how nice this project is.  The yarn (Enchanted Knoll Farm Silk/Merino Lace) is so nice to work with – there is something about a wool/silk blend.    The pattern is interesting, but not so hard that I can’t do it on the train.  I’m really happy that I’m back working on it, and I hope to get it done by the end of the month. 

Its a good plan…except that my knitting time on Nefertiti will be limited to commute/knitting group/car riding knitting, and not night time knitting.    As I mentioned  a couple of posts ago, I was unable to resist a fair isle vest kit from KnitPicks.  I got the package this week – the yarn is really pretty, and I love the colors.  I was all set to start when I realized I didn’t have the right needles.  I have a Knit Picks Options set, so it just never occured to me that I didn’t have needles so I didn’t make sure, and order them with the kit – so stupid.  So I had to wait a couple of days until I had the day off work – on Friday I ran to my local yarn store and bought the right needles, and cast on immediately. 

 1687

I really love the yarn – but this project is going to take forever – size 2 needles, fingering weight yarn.  But I’m enjoying it, and love the feel of the yarn.  When I first read the pattern I have to admit to being a little intimidated – there are increases, decreases, wraps/turns and steeks.  But I’m just taking it a section at a time, and am happy that I’m finally doing a stranded project.

1688

The needles I bought for this project are Addi Turbos Lace  – and wow!  I usually use Knit Picks Harmony, even for lace, because I like the grab of the wood.  I also have the metal KP Options, and use those for non-lace projects.  But I love these needles!  The tips are very pointy and its great even for a project like this – I would imagine lace is even better.  I love the feel of them, and they are so quiet!  I’m really enjoying them, and I just may have to get some in bigger sizes for lace projects (I think I do have a size 5 already that I’ve never used).  It is so amazing how different needles are, and how they can change a project.

So there you go – my two fall projects.  I’m going to be really focused and resist the urge to start anything else because I want to get both done this fall.  The only thing that really may be hard to resist is a puppy sweater…

I’d like to introduce our new puppy!

baby

She’s about two weeks old, and we will be getting her on October 18.  She’s a Westie, and we are very excited.  We are kicking around names (the current favorite is Penny) and talking about how to make sure the other dogs and cats still feel loved.  And we are looking around and talking about how to puppy-proof the house – its been 11 years since we’ve had a puppy, and we remember how they are (in fact my dining room table still has teeth marks on it!).    

In order to get Penny, I had to reallocate my yarn budget for Garden State Breeders and Stitches.  It was an easy decision – I have a lot of yarn already, but I’ll miss going to Stitches with my knitting group.    But at the same time, I’m ok with it too – my stash is a bit out of control, and I think its time I start to use the beautiful yarn I have and stop buying yarn all the time.  I know, I know – you have heard this before.  I’m not saying I’m never going to buy any – just that I’m going to try to look to the stash first.   I do have some really nice yarn that should be used rather than staying in a bin forever.  (But I have to admit I couldn’t resist a Labor Day sale at Wandering Cat Yarns!)

Today is Labor Day in the US, so we are off work and school.   I had a busy weekend – saw my sister, golfed with Chris and her husband, and shopped with Cieara and Larry.  Today is about staying home, puttering around, making cookies to send to Andrew, and knitting.   I have some movies on DVR, and I’m planning on just sitting down with a cup of tea, and getting past the ribbing on the vest so I can get to the good part!    Dinner is already marinating, and I just have to make some salad and corn, and we will say goodbye to summer.  Hard to believe that its over, but I’m really looking foward to fall!

Have a great week!

26 Responses to Fall projects…

  1. chris says:

    That vest you’re making me is really coming out nicely – I love the colors. Penny is adorable – I would definitely sacrifice yarn for a puppy, too. Hopefully, we’ll have a nice, crisp, cool Fall! More Golf! More Knitting!

  2. kim says:

    A new baby!!!! Well worth the price of yarn. Definitely. I don’t think you’ll be missing anything. A new puppy brings so much excitement to the house. I’m so happy for you. My baby is cowering in the corner from the nail gun again. We are finishing up projects around the house.

    You are very brave to try steeking. I’ll look forward to your progress. Enjoy your day.

  3. Robby says:

    So much goodness, where to start? The picture of your new baby polar bear, I mean puppy is TDF. I love those Addi lace needles and use them for more than lace. Recently, my LYS also turned me on to Addi Natura which has wooden tips and the points are sort of in between the Turbos and Lace. They are excellent for travel (take that TSA), and nice to work with. Finally, if I leave now, I can just make dinner. Set me a plate for that delicious looking meal, please?

  4. Rachel says:

    I love the color of the start of your vest, I have an almost knitted cardigan in a similar color, must finish it (I am not sure I have enough yarn though).

    The puppy looks so cute, at first I thought it is a stuffed animal,,, hehehee

  5. Valerie says:

    Puppy is soooooooooooo cute. I am so jealous! (I want a puppy but I’m not home enough and I think the cats – and Dave – would disown me)

    Way to go on attempting the vest. I’ve had two run in’s with colour work and I haven’t enjoyed either… I don’t think I have the patience for it. Can’t wait to see yours!

  6. melanie says:

    Your little pup is so adorable – I want to cuddle her. Penny is a great name.

  7. Shea says:

    Awwww! I love westies. My mom has one and as a matter of fact I’m baby sitting for the week. You’re going to love it. They are so much fun and pretty smart. My mom’s westie likes to talk a lot to you too. It’s very funny.

  8. Rhonda says:

    OMG! She is too cute. You’re gonna have so much fun.

  9. Cute, cute, cute puppy! Have fun!

  10. Steven says:

    Yay on the fair isle! Keep at it. One thing at a time and you should have no problems. Can’t wait to see the progress.

    And how wonderful to meet Penny. She’s adorable. I have a soft spot for Westies. There are two that live at my LYS and they are wonderful creatures. You can <a href="http://www.theknittingnestaustin.com/hank"read about Hank on the website, but Gracie is rather new and doesn’t have a web presence yet.

    Fun times ahead!

  11. Steven says:

    Let me try that link again:

    Hank.

  12. I already had as bad case of puppy envy — and then you had to go and post that adorable picture of Penny (or whatever name she ends up with). But DH hates dogs — and I’m too nice to torture him.

    As for the stash issues — I totally understand. I’m supposed to be on a yarn diet but then a LYS had a sale this weekend…

  13. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Westies are lovely- congrats on your new addition.

  14. brokeknits says:

    Puppy! Baby animals always win. She’s such a cutie. Good luck with your projects — I can’t wait to see more of the vest!

  15. misa says:

    Oh man that puppy is adorable. I like Penny as a name for a Westie too, spunky and cute. I think I would have had a hard time resisting the fair isle kit, it’s a great price and durn nice lookin.

  16. Oiyi says:

    Congrats on the new puppy!! So cute!! It almost makes me miss those puppy days.

    My boys are not that old, but I do have to say that they never chewed on our furniture or stuff. People almost didn’t believe me. Now, they have some difficulty on recognizing Melody’s stuffies. They use to think all stuffed animals were theirs to chew on.

  17. rebekahsyarn says:

    Whew, so much to comment on…nice socks, beautiful shawl, great now I’m itching to cast on for my vest! Although I really want to finish something for this winter, so I’m going to try my hardest to stick to Elizabeth.

    So excited about the Westie. A girl here at work has one named Ralph. And one of our favorite shows, Hamish MacBeth, his Westie is named Wee Jock.

  18. hakucho says:

    Your puppy is ADORABLE 🙂 Looks like a teddy bear…too cute!!

    Good luck with all your knitting…the vest sounds interesting, but steeks scare me…I’m sure you’ll do fine. Can’t wait to see more 🙂

    happy knitting 🙂

  19. She’s so cute! I’m sure she’ll be a great addition to your family no matter what you name her.

    The Addi Turbo Lace are my favorite needles for just about any project but I need to try the Options – they are just so much cheaper.

  20. weezalana says:

    Congratulations!!! What an adorable little puppy!

    Can’t wait to see how your vest turns out. Steeking skeeres me.

  21. tiennie says:

    Ack! The sweetness. I’ve never seen a cuter face!

  22. donna lee says:

    I love the addi needles and use them whenever I can. I wanted to buy the interchangeables but the price put me off.

    What a cutie the puppy is! I think the poor dining room table doesn’t stand a chance!

  23. Opal says:

    Hello Penny! You’re adorable! 😀

  24. Ren says:

    awww, penny is adorable!! (if that’s what you choose to name her!) : )

  25. Sourire11 says:

    Your puppy is ADORABLE!!!!

  26. rhoda says:

    wow, the vest you are making is going to be gorgeous. you might fly through it cos you’re looking forward to its finish. 🙂 how’s life with penny been so far?

Leave a Reply

