Forest Canopy II

Although its not August any longer, I have one more UFO August thing to show…

1678

I just made this – I cast off Monday night and blocked it today but I think it still counts (its the casting off that counts, right?).

Pattern:  Forest Canopy Shawl
Yarn:  Manos Del Uruguay Silk Blend, Lawn colorway
Started:  August 15, 2009
Finished:   August 31, 2009

1679

I love this pattern – its very easy, sort of mindless and I never get bored with it.   And because it uses DK weight yarn, it just seems to fly by – unlike some lace shawls done in laceweight.    The pattern is very well written, and this would make a great beginner lace pattern.

1682

The abve picture gives a better sense of the color – it is a pretty deep green.  I love this yarn  – its a single ply, wool/silk blend, and its wonderful to work with.  I love the sheen of the yarn, and the colorway is just beautiful.    I’m so glad that I stalked the Ravelry Destash group and found this yarn.  I used just over two skeins – I probably could have kept on going and made the shawl bigger, but I like having smaller shawls to wear as scarves in the winter, or just as a small shoulder shawl to wear just because.   I have enough leftover yarn to make a cowl for the winter, so I’m pretty happy with how the yarn worked out.

All in all, a succesful knit, and I’m glad I got sidetracked from finishing up current project for this quick one.  It is always so nice to finish something!

I got a package in the mail the other day….I had sent some sock yarn ends to Valerie from Wandering Cat Yarns, and she very generously sent me a thank you package.  I was really surprised..but very happy…

1661

Isn’t that gorgeous?  Its Alley Cat Sock yarn in Witching Hour.  Gorgeous yarn.  I barely had it out of the package when Larry asked me to put his name on it but I don’t know that I’m going to give it up so easily.   Valerie also sent me her Ripolle shawl pattern – very pretty, and I think I have the perfect yarn for it in my stash.    On top of all that, she also sent me a pair of earrings that she made – so pretty, and I’ve already worn them twice! 

1673

Thanks so much, Valerie  – you are too nice!

This has been a very fast week – I took off work on Monday, worked from home today, and I decided to take Friday off too – I’m sure I’ll be sorry later this year when I’m out of vacation days, but it just seemed like a good idea to take a four day weekend.  I’m going to take it easy – everyone will be at work and school so I’ll have the house to myself…ahhh…always so nice.  I’m looking forward to the weekend – I can’t believe its the end of summer!  But I’m ready for fall – and I’m ready for my fall knitting.  But more on that next time!

Have a great week – and I hope your weekend comes as fast as mine!

20 Responses to Forest Canopy II

  1. Valerie says:

    Forest Canopy looks gorgeous… I just got word that I have some lovely Handmaiden Sea Silk on the way, and when it gets here I’m sorely tempted to use it for that….
    I’m so glad you liked the package. I’ve been having so much fun knitting all your yarns into my blanket… not to mention getting a pair of Wollmeise ankle socks out of it. When you knit with the yarn, let me know what you think

  2. Robby says:

    I’m also a fan of the Forest Canopy pattern, and your rendition only confirms that. Now, about that new shawl pattern…. girl, you are a baaaad influence. Can’t wait to see what fall brings to your needles.

  3. The shawl is beautiful. Well done!

  4. kitkatknit says:

    I love your forest canopy. Maybe just maybe I need to make another!

  5. Kim says:

    it does count as an August FO and it is lovely!

  6. Stephanie says:

    Ooooh puuuurdy shawl. I think you successfully completed your goals with UFO August. 😉 Congrats!

  7. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- It totally counts- such a lovely shawl.

    Have a wonderful long weekend.

  8. Steven says:

    The shawl is gorgeous — I always approve of green. And of course casting off counts. The way I see it, you might be washing this shawl in the future. Anything that is re-doable or re-done isn’t part of the finishing — it’s part of the life of the garment. Casting off isn’t undone, so I would definitely count that as finished.

    How can you beat logic like that? 😉 Seriously, though — great job!

  9. Oiyi says:

    Oh my, it’s gorgeous! And that color green is perfect. Yup, it still counts for August FO.

  10. hakucho says:

    Your shawl is absolutely gorgeous! I LOVE the green color.

    Yes— it is sooo nice to have the house to oneself 😉 I know I’m enjoying it, BUT I do hate to get up so early (5:15)to get them off to school!!

    Enjoy your long weekend :)….and happy knitting 🙂

  11. Cookie says:

    Wonderful shawl! Congrats.

    You always get the best mail.

  12. Rhonda says:

    The shawl is beautiful. Valerie’s favorite colour. Glad you like the yarn. It’s our new base yarn, so I’d love to know what you think of it, once it’s knit up. Soooooooo soft. That girl of mine is a generous heart isn’t she, and she’s all mine. We never forget a friend. 😉

  13. brokeknits says:

    So pretty! I would call dibs on that yarn too …

  14. Susie says:

    Lovely shawl! I may just take your advice and make it up as my first lace pattern.

  15. Ren says:

    i love the shawl. it reminds me of one i made last winter… and the color is lovely, too. : )

  16. The shawl is beautiful! Those earrings are great… such a nice thank-you.

  17. weezalana says:

    That is one gorgeous shawl! Love the deep green!

  18. Opal says:

    oh jeanne! your forest canopy is beautiful!

  19. rhoda says:

    the shawl is beautiful! fall knitting? i’m ready for it too!

Leave a Reply

