UFO August Socks. Finally.

Finally.  I finally finished something – didn’t frog it, I finished it.  The last thing I finished was in early July, so it felt very good to bind off on these  – a UFO August project done (and I’ll count these as a socks of the month project too!).

1651

Pattern:  Gusset Heel Basic Socks from Socks by the Toe Up, 3×1 ribbing
Yarn:  Happy Hands Toe Jamz, After the Gold Rush colorway (Purchased at the Loopy Ewe)
Started:  August 1, 2009
Finished: August 29, 2009

I really liked this yarn – it is a merino/bamboo blend, so its really soft.  Its a little splitty – I think most bamboo yarn is – but nothing too terrible.  The colors are really beautiful – and Larry likes them so that’s good since they are for him.  The pooling would drive me crazy – I wonder if I had changed the number of stitches if I could have made it more stripey, but then again, i think its sort of cool how they turned out.  Fraternal, definitely not identical.  The sock on the right has the same yellow stripkes/pooling, but on the bottom.   Love the yarn, would recommend it, and would buy it again.

1654

If you have read this blog before, you know how I feel about this pattern book.  How much I love this book.  How I want to knit every single pattern in it.  How it totally changed my life, and how I can’t imagine knitting socks cuff down ever again.  So I won’t mention that again.  I used the basic sock pattern, and just did a 3×1 ribbing – I thought any other pattern would be just too much for this yarn.  Sort of boring pattern – but still love the toe up.

I had knitting group today – fun as always.   I bought some yarn from Jacqui that I’ll show you next time – other people’s destash is so hard to resist.  Chris brought me some beautiful stich markers from her Etsy shop.

1659

These are so nice – so pretty, so light.  They would be perfect for lace – I can’t wait to try them out.  Thanks, Chris!

I took Monday off, so I’m enjoying a nice long weekend.  And next weekend is a long weekend too – so I hope to get lots of golfing, napping and knitting time in between the two.  Now that the socks are done, I’m going to take the Nefertiti shawl on the train – its been a while and its time that I get that one done too.    And of course, I’m working on the Forest Canopy shawl at night, so hopefully I’ll get both done soon.  I need to finish at least one of them – because I ordered a fair isle vest from Knit Picks (can’t beat that price!), and I want to start on it.  What a great project for fall, right?  I realized that I haven’t done any sweaters or big projects this year (other than shawls) so I’m looking forward to starting this.

OK, I’m going to go help Larry make dinner – shrimp enchiladas…yum…have a great weekend!

19 Responses to UFO August Socks. Finally.

  1. hakucho says:

    Your socks(I should say Larry’s) look great. I know that once I started knitting toe up it’s all I want to do now. Good luck with your vest…can’t wait to see more! Enjoy 🙂

  2. Kim says:

    wooo hooo, a finished pair of socks – congratulations! Your vest will be wonderful and I can’t wait to read about your progress.

  3. Chris says:

    Great Socks! I’m glad you like the markers and those enchiladas sound good!

  4. brokeknits says:

    Lovely socks! Good luck with your other projects — the vest looks great!

  5. Bridget says:

    Your socks look great! I made a pair from that pattern also, and was really pleased with the results. I feel like a whole new world has opened up now …

  6. Denise says:

    It must be nice to have a husband who will wear something other than black or grey. And I totally agree: Socks from the toe up IS the knitting revolution.

  7. Steven says:

    A fair isle vest? Can’t wait for you to get started on it — I’ll be cheering you on!

    I have a theory that most stripey sock yarn is dyed based on the circumference of the average woman’s foot, and when you start knitting at more stitches-per-round, it’s just going to pool no matter what. I can’t prove it, though. Larry likes ’em, and that’s all that matters, right? Great job!

  8. Valerie says:

    Socks look great! I love the feel of bamboo, but have only knit with it once. Have a nice long weekend

  9. donna lee says:

    I haven’t finished many things either and then the last two have been socks. For other people. I havent’ been able to keep up with my brown bag sock club. I’m months behind. Too many other things have gotten in the way.

  10. kitkatknit says:

    May I trade my shrimp tamale recipe for your shrimp enchilada recipe? And the socks are to die for. I love the deep jewel tones even in the yellow gold.

  11. Anna says:

    I am ready to try toe up. Seems like your post persuaded me. When I do colorway I always take a photo of the needle with the first cast on stitch. So when I start the second sock I starting in the same color spot.
    Cheers

  12. Rhonda says:

    I love the colourway. 3-1 ribs are my favorite don’t have to think socks.

  13. Robby says:

    About time on Nefertitit! I’ve been holding my breath hoping you didn’t frog it in the zeal that was August UFO month.

  14. weezalana says:

    Nice job on the socks! I myself am a fan of the fraternal. Matchy matchy is sooooo last season. 😉

  15. Wanda says:

    Those socks are very colorful! I’m not a huge fan of pooling myself, but I keep trying to tell myself to let it go. It’s good thing Larry loves them! You’re happy to knit them and he’s happy to wear them. My SO only wants black socks, boo hiss! anyway, the socks are lovely. I have that book. I just need to make some time to trying the toe-up way.

  16. The socks are beautiful! Truly radiant colors.

    I’ve got Wendy’s book, but haven’t had a chance to sit down and figure out the magic cast-on. Your socks are inspiring me, though.

  17. Nice socks! Still not absolutely sold on the toe up, but it’s so nice to have choices.

    I like the stitch markers, too. I have some that are too big for my current knitting, so I’ll probably be making some more soon.

  18. Ren says:

    great socks! i think the stripes look really cool. 🙂

  19. rhoda says:

    yay for a sock finish! the stitchmarkers are pretty. shrimp enchiladas?? now i want some! 😉

Leave a Reply

