Vacation 2009

We got back from vacation yesterday and it was like this

6410_109820268041_617818041_2202644_1782983_n

with a little bit of this

1681

and a little bit more of this

1701

All in all, we really had a nice vacation.   As you can see, we went to the beach, went sailing, and shopping, eating and relaxing.  We rented a boat on the last day and went fishing – we caught some but threw them back because they were too little (which was too bad because it would have been great to eat a fish I caught!).   It was a beautiful week – it rained at home, but at the Cape it was beautiful – perfect vacation weather.   The dogs did well, and had a good time too.    We found a new family game – it really is fun, and I recommend it.  It was a great week, and I came back happy, relaxed and rested. 

On the knitting front, though….

1627

Nice eh?  This is the first VanDyke sock –  I finished it on the way to the Cape.   But…I can’t find the second skein of this to finish the second sock.  I’ve looked everywhere – no luck.  I’ve contacted the dyer, and I really hope that she will be dyeing some of this colorway in this weight soon (she has this colorway in lace weight right now, but not in sport weight).    I also used a new cast off for the sock, and I don’t think it was a success.  I have been using the sewn cast off for my toe ups, and it is always stretchy – but seems to take forever.  I read on another pattern about using a cast off of k2tog, slip the stitch made back to the left needle, k2tog and so on….so I did that.  And it was fast, and seemed ok – until I went to put this on – and yikes!  I really have to work to get it over my heel.  I’m not sure I’ll take it out and redo it – but I think I’ll go back to the sewn cast off (or try to find another) for future toe ups.

Since I couldn’t finish the second VanDyke sock, I started a new pair on vacation (no knitting on shawls this week) – this is Happy Hands Yarn Toe Jamz – the colorway is After the Gold Rush  (I bought this at the Loopy Ewe)- and its pretty wild.  And they are for Larry – he likes wild socks and immediately latched on these – he’s a sock pig!  I’m just about done with the first one – not a lot of knitting time this week, but enough to get a sock done!  I love the yarn though – very soft, and the colors are amazing.

1628

I did go to two yarn shops on the Cape – Sage Yarn in Falmouth – very nice store, and I got a couple of things (I don’t have pictures yet).  The person working there that day was really nice and very chatty, and they had a lot of really nice yarn.  I also went to the Yarn Basket in Mashpee – and I don’t know what to say about this store other than yikes!  I don’t know what the deal with this store is, but I’ve never been to a yarn store like this.  It was a little tiny shop, with all of the yarn in packages.  And thrown everywhere – we couldn’t walk through the aisles because yarn was everywhere – on the floor, in piles, falling everywhere, no apparent order  – crazy.  We left after a couple of minutes – it was just so overwhelming that I don’t think anyone could find yarn that they wanted.    That was it for me – this just wasn’t one of those vacations were I chased a lot of yarn.

Although we had a great time, it was really good to be home yesterday.  Its always nice to be back in my own bed, and I missed the cats.  Today was about getting back to normal – laundry, groceries and all that.  Tomorrow it will be back to work – it seems like years since I’ve been at work which shows what a great vacation it was! 

Have a great week (and I’ll leave you with a parting picture)…
1695

21 Responses to Vacation 2009

  1. hakucho says:

    Sure glad you had a wonderful time 🙂 Hope you can find the other skein of that beautiful yarn!!

    happy knitting 🙂

  2. Rachel says:

    Lovely socks, I hope you will either find the second skein or have more yarn from the dyer, this one is too good to be single 🙂

    Your vacation sounds lovely.

  3. Chris says:

    It looks like a wonderful Vacation – the photo’s are great! Nothing like a relaxing vacation!

  4. Stephanie says:

    I wish that was my vacation last week! Lots of hanging out and relaxing on the beach. Sounds refreshing. Thanks for the pictures!

  5. Kim says:

    What wonderful photos! I am so happy that you had a nice, restful vacation. Hope your dyer can get you the yarn to finish your second sock!

  6. I love your new sock. And your vacation pix.

    I just learned a fabulous new cast off in Cat Bordhi’s class yesterday. You’ll have to wait until the new Knitty comes out on Sept. 1; I’m sworn to secrecy! But it’s really cool, and really easy, and looks great.

  7. Opal says:

    beautiful vacation shots! i really hope you can get another skein for the van dyke socks. the single sock is just gorgeous!

  8. adrienne says:

    Beautiful!!!! Love your new sock!

  9. chandilear says:

    Love both socks!

  10. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Gorgeous, just amazing. I must get there some day.

  11. Rhonda says:

    Looks like a wonderful time. I’m envious. I love that you call Larry a sock pig. 😉

  12. Rosemary says:

    Sounds like you had a lovely vacation. The Van Dyke sock is lovely. I think Knit Happens in Alexandria has some Neighborhood sport weight in that color in stock.

  13. Rebekah says:

    Sounds wonderful! Beautiful Pictures. Nice Socks.

    Sound slike a yarn storn that used to be in downtown St. Louis, I actually fake called Nick (who was standing about 5 feet from me) and said to him “Oh is that work, I guess we have to leave”
    just to get out of the place and away from the owner.

  14. Valerie says:

    Looks like the perfect vacation.
    I could never get Dave to wear socks like that. Go Larry!

  15. Cookie says:

    You were busy!

    I’m so glad you had such a wonderful vacation.

  16. donna lee says:

    I have that trouble with a toe up cast off, too. I have one pair that is a little dicey getting over the heel. I’ll have to look up the sewn one. I’ve never tried that one.

    I wish my husband liked wild socks. I’m working on some brown/beige stripes for him. Very pretty, but very dull. I love the wild colors that Larry went for.

  17. vickiknit says:

    *sigh* what beautiful pictures. 🙂

  18. weezalana says:

    I’m gazing at your vaca pics and dreaming of my own. *sigh*

    You know as soon as you buy a new skein for Vand Dyke #2, you’ll find the lost one. There’s a store like Yarn Basket near where Hubster works, but I only went there one – and left five minutes later. Same type of thing, yarn everywhere with no apparent order, AND there were no price tags! You had to go up to the counter and they would look it up for you in the computer. Total idiocy, IMO!

    P.S. When I do toe-ups, I bindoff in rib with a needle two sizes larger. Works like a charm!

  19. rhoda says:

    wow, thanks for the pics. now i feel as though I went on vacation too! 🙂 hope the second skein turns up for van dyke. i’m a sewn cast off user myself.

  20. Oiyi says:

    Beautiful views! It sounds like a great vacation.

  21. Ren says:

    sounds like you had a great vacation! there isn’t much better than getting to relax at the beach. : )

    i really like the colors of the “wild” yarn, too. looks like its just fun to knit with.

Leave a Reply

