UFO August again…

July 22, 2009

Sad to say, the cowl didn’t work out.  I cast on an impossible amount of stitches, did about an inch of it – and realized that although I loved the yarn, I hated the project.  That’s not a good sign with 200 stiches on size 2 needles for a cowl.   So I frogged it, and the yarn is sitting on my basket where I see it every morning.   Where I can think about it and try to come up with the perfect project.  Just not right now – but soon. 

In the meantime, I was tired of the July socks – finished one, but just didn’t want to start the second.  So I started another pair

1616

Van Dyke socks from The Book.  In Neighborhood Fiber Co Studio Sport.  I got this yarn a few years ago in a swap – it really is beautiful, and I love the socks (I’m actually a bit farther than the picture shows).    I think these will go really fast – toe up, sport weight.  What’s not to like?

I realized, though – that I’m a little out of control on my projects.  I have two pairs of socks. four shawls and a cardi on the needles.  And although I know that’s not a lot of projects compared to some people, its a little too much for me.  Or at least a little too many shawls.  A couple of years ago, I joined UFO August.  And last year, I joined the UFOlympics.  And both times I cleaned up some projects – finished or frogged, but they were out of the basket.  And I think I’m going to do the same thing this year.  Even if its by myself.  So starting 8/1, I’m not going to start anything new – I’m going to finish some of my projects and clean out my knitting basket.   

Specifically, I want to finish both pairs of socks, and the Ulmus and Nefertiti shawls.  And after those are done, I want to finish the Swing Shawl.   I’m working on Ulmus right now, and I’ll bring something with me on vacation – long car ride, long days at the beach, nights relaxing – I think I’ll get a lot done. 

After I finished those shawls, that will just leave me the Wool Peddlar’s Shawl and Acer.  I’m planning on picking up the shawl after the other ones are done, but I think I’m going to frog Acer – I started this months ago, and I only have a few inches done – I’m not sure I’ll be able to pick up where I left off since I didn’t write down where I was.  But – I think I’m going to leave the yarn in my knitting basket and restart it once the weather gets cooler.  Its a beautiful sweater and I love the yarn – and its time that I did another sweater.  So hopefully by October, I’ll have finished everything I have going now – and be in a good position to start some new projects!  That’s the plan.

So what about you?  Do you have a lot of projects you want to finish?  Want to join me in cleaning up things in August?