Fourth time is the charm!

Thank you all for your kind words about Nipper – again, it was really appreciated. We have all been adjusting these last couple of weeks to changes in routine because someone wasn’t there and fresh reminders of who we lost. And we’ve been spending lots of time giving all of the animals a little more attention, little more love. And I am really hoping that we won’t have to deal with this again for a long time.

I just finished my first July sock – and its really nice. But no pictures of that (you can see it on Ravelry if you are really interested).  I like the sock, like the yarn (although a little splitty) but I got some yarn this week that distracted me from starting the second one.

1614

This is Wandering Cat Yarns – about 600 yards of beautiful laceweight.  I wish you could see it in person because its just gorgeous (I’m so tempted by some of the sock yarn they have right now).  So nice that I just had to start something with it right away.   The problem is that the yarn is beautiful, but the project is being difficult.  I wanted to make myself a lace cowl – I looked through Barbara Walker, found a nice pattern, and started it.  Three times.  This is my fourth.  I just keep on messing it up.  But I’m determined – it will be a beautiful cowl, and I know I’ll love wearing it when it gets cold here.   So I just started it for the fouth time, and I’ll be working on it tonight.  And its going to work – dammit!

 Chris  went on vacation at the end of June, and she brought me back a present (gotta love that!).  Its sock yarn from Green Mountain Spinnery

1606

Isn’t that gorgeous?  The color is amazing, and I love the feel of it – this is 400 yards, and I think that it would make a gorgeous cowl, scarf…something lace-ish.  I think its too pretty to use for socks.    Thanks, Chris!

Speaking of vacation – we did find a house on Cape Cod, and we are going the first week in August.  I’m really looking foward to it – we didn’t take vacation last year, and I think we all are due for some time together (but I’m sad because Dan can’t go so we’ll miss him).  I love Cape Cod – so much to do, beautiful beaches, delicious lobster.  And I think there may be one or two yarn stores that I just may have to check out!  Why is it the weeks before vacation go so slow?

OK, dinner is ready – hope you are having a good week!

14 Responses to Fourth time is the charm!

  1. Valerie says:

    So glad you like the yarn.. I can’t wait to see the finished project!
    That sock yarn is gorgeous… I need to make myself some socks!

  2. Those are both beautiful yarns! I love the colors, and the pink just has a lovely halo.

    Have a great vacation! The week before my vacation flew, but that’s because I wasn’t ready.

  3. tiennie says:

    Both yarns are just gorgeous!

  4. Your cowl is going to be gorgeous once it starts working! It’s great that you’re going on vacation, it’s so important to get away every once in a while/

  5. Chris says:

    The yarn is such a beautiful, rich color – can’t wait to see how it turns out. Glad you like the sock yarn – I’m not using mine for socks either! Yay for vacation – hope it gets here fast for you!

  6. Both yarns are lovely. The pink is so shimmery! The cowl will be worth the ripping and reknitting.

    Cape Cod sounds wonderful!

  7. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Cape Cod sounds like the perfect place. You deserve some time out.

  8. Rebekah says:

    Ahhh lace, I’ve been itching to do some lace. I think I may start the tablecloth for my parents, its not particularly in a yarn I’m dying to knit with, but it is lace and gets me closer to my gift goals.

    Oh a lace cowl is a wonderful idea. I think I may follow suit with my Quivit. I’ve been debating and debating what to do with it, I’m not a huge scarf fan, except for Dr. Who length 🙂

  9. Cookie says:

    You evil temptress! That lace weight is gorgeous and even I love that blue sock weight. Evil! ;^)

    Who wants to knit socks when there’s lace to knit?

    xo

  10. Robby says:

    Why is it the weeks before vacation go so slow?

    Answer: It’s the grown up version of waiting for Santa.

  11. brokeknits says:

    Lovely yarn! In earlier years, I spent some summers in VT near the Green Mountain Spinnery. A trip there was always the highlight of the vacation! Good luck making it to your own vacation!

  12. Kim says:

    The yarn is gorgeous! You were so bad to put the link up because I had to make a purchase too. Mine should be arriving shortly and I will love, love, love it!

  13. misa says:

    I think I need more Barbara Walker books in my life, 2 isn’t enough. I’m sure your courage with ripping the cowl will reward you in the end.

  14. rhoda says:

    ooooh, pretty yarns!

Leave a Reply

