Nipper

087

This has been just a terrible few weeks.  On Wednesday night, Nipper, our 17 year old cat, got out and was out all night.  She showed up yesterday morning limping.  A visit to the vet confirmed that she had broken her back leg.    The vet recommended that was amputate her leg, as he didn’t think she’d do well with surgery to fix it because of her age – he said that cats, even old ones, adjust really well to doing things on three legs.  We talked to him, talked to each other and agreed.  They scheduled it for today, and gave us pain killers for her overnight.  She was ok – she was wasted from the drugs, but eating and drinking and purring. 

Larry took her to the vet this morning, and they did pre-surgical bloodwork.  And found out she had diabetes – and they couldn’t do the surgery.  The vet felt that it would take weeks to stablize her and that he couldn’t do surgery before that.  There was only one thing we could do – this afternoon we said good-bye to Nipper.

I found Nipper at work when she was a kitten – she was living in the landscaping right outside the entrance and people were feeding her.  She was so tiny, and the vet that examined her said that her early kittenhood would prevent her from going into heat or having children – so no need to get her fixed.    We moved to the country, and Nipper was immediately knocked up – had one kitten on Andrew’s bed in the middle of the night.   And about 6 weeks later, she got out – and got pregnant again.  This time she had about 8 kittens – we kept one, and found homes for the rest.  And then we got her fixed. 

Nipper was an amazing cat – very loving and was such a member of the family.  She loved head butting everyone – including the dogs.  Her favorite food was shrimp, and when I ate dinner she sat behind me on the chair just in case I had hand outs.    She was starting to slow down a bit, but still I’d see her outside running and watching birds.  She loved my spinning chair and slept on it most of the time.   I had her for 17 years – she was born the same year as Cieara, the boys were just 4 and 7 when we got her, and I hadn’t met Larry yet.  She’s been part of my life so long that I don’t remember a time I didn’t have her.

nipper

We are so sad – the loss of two pets in two weeks is just too much.    Our house is definitely emptier tonight.  And it will never be the same without her.

44 Responses to Nipper

  1. Rebekah says:

    Oh Jeanne! Poor Nipper. Your poor family, this is just to much pet sorrow too close together.

    Though I must say, you guys must be doing something right with these animals, they both had very long and no doubt very fulfilling pet lives.

    Your in my thoughts. I’m so so sorry.

  2. Robby says:

    Oh dear, I am so sorry, such a lot of emptiness where there used to be furred love. I remember that feeling, and ache for you. Hope the hurt space is soon filled with lovely and silly memories.

  3. Walden says:

    I am so very sorry. The pain of loosing a family member is not easy, my thoughts are will you and your family.

  4. Cookie says:

    Oh no. Jeanne, I am so sorry for your loss. Sounds like she had a wonderful like with you and a certain amount of adventure. ;^) I wish I could hug you and make it all go away. What a horrible few weeks you and your family has had.

    xo

  5. Steven says:

    Jeanne! I don’t know what to say. Hugs.

  6. I’m so sorry Jeanne!

  7. knitwonpurltoo says:

    Oh, Sweetie. The pain and loss are so much. I’m sorry for you all. There is no way to replace, so mourn and grieve and be good to each other.

  8. Debbie says:

    Oh Jeanne, I am so sorry for you and your family to be going through this again, that is just not fair at all.

  9. Chris says:

    I’m so sorry – I wish I could do or say something that would make you feel better.

  10. Valerie says:

    Oh Jeanne,
    I am so sorry… I’m balling here. That is terrible, but at least Nipper had a long full life – 17 years is a long time for a cat.

  11. Oiyi says:

    Oh my goodness, this really sucks (pardon my language). I am so sorry about Nipper. It’s really not fair that all of you have to go through another loss.

  12. sarah says:

    I am so, so sorry for your loss. I can’t imagine how awful this must be.

  13. Bridget says:

    Poor sweetheart, and poor you. I can only say that everyone here will say a special prayer for all of you tonight.

    This just sucks, no matter how you look at it. I’m so very sorry.

  14. kim says:

    Oh, my gosh! I am so sorry – again. What a terrible thing to lose two beloved family members. May all the good memories overshadow this sad time.

  15. Stephanie says:

    Oh no. I can’t imagine losing two pets in two weeks. It’s devastating. Once again, I’m sorry.

  16. Kim says:

    Nothing can make you feel better about loosing your pets – I am so sorry : (

  17. melanie says:

    Oh, I’m so sorry – what heartbreak to endure twice in 2 weeks.

  18. Eileen says:

    So sorry for your loss

  19. Ren says:

    i’m so sorry to hear about your loss. two pets in such a short amount of time… it must be terribly hard. *hugs*

  20. Shea says:

    Oh Jeanne, I’m so sorry to hear about your kitty. {hugs}

  21. Rhonda says:

    You’ve had too much to deal with lately. My heart goes out to you and yours.

  22. Robin says:

    I am so sorry to read about you losing your two long-time friends. So sad! You are in my thoughts.

  23. Jeanne, I’m so sorry about Nipper. It’s so hard to lose a pet, and for you to lose two is just heart-breaking. Hugs to you and your family.

  24. Diane says:

    Oh my gosh, I am so sorry to hear this. Our little furry friends become our best friends. I lost a cat last fall, it was the saddest day of my life. My heart goes out to you and your family.

  25. It’s so hard to lose a pet that has been part of your family so long. Cats are amazingly loving creatures and I can see why this one has left a hole in your hearts.

  26. Denise says:

    Oh my, so sorry to hear this!

  27. brokeknits says:

    Oh, Jeanne, I’m so sorry to hear about Nipper. Another loss so quickly after the first must be so difficult. Sending lots of good thoughts your way.

  28. weezalana says:

    Oh no! Oh Jeanne, I’m so, so sorry. My heart and many hugs go out to you and your family.

  29. Rachel says:

    Oy oy oy, I am so sorry!

  30. Jeanne, my heart is breaking for you and your family. I’m so very sorry you’ve lost Nipper.

  31. Suzanne says:

    I am so sorry. I am glad Nipper lived a long, fun life. My heart goes out to you and your family.

  32. Lauren says:

    Jeanne, Jeanne, Jeanne! What can I possibly say except that I’m so so sorry to hear about Nipper and I’m sending all my love and sympathy to you and your family. Big hugs to you.

  33. Elise says:

    I am so sorry. Life is so precious and I’m glad you adopted Nipper – she sounds like an amazing cat.

  34. donna lee says:

    Jeanne, this seem like too much to bear. Another member of the family. They do seem to fill the house and when they’re gone, it’s so quiet. My heart is so sad for you and your family.

  35. Mrs MJW says:

    So sorry about your kitty. Hugs.

  36. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- What is happening? Poor Nipper, I can’t believe this.

    My brother lost his 12 year old Chow on Sunday.

  37. tiennie says:

    I have been away from blog reading so I missed your posts about your pets. I’m so sorry for your family’s losses. I’m so so so sorry.

  38. Stacy says:

    I’m so so sorry. I’m thinking about you and the whole family. She sounds like a sweet pet and will be greatly missed.

  39. misa says:

    I’m so sorry. I know what that feels like, when I put our two cats down I still used to see them all the time out of the corner of my eye.

  40. Anna says:

    I’m really late reading this, but I am so sorry to hear this terrible news. Two pet in such a short space of time must be so hard for you all.i

  41. hakucho says:

    So sorry to hear about Nipper. Poor little kitty. Hard to lose one of the family… {{{hugs}}}

  42. Opal says:

    oh my goodness, jeanne. i’m so incredibly sorry. i wish there were something i could do for you. i want to apologize for how late i am with my condolences.

    the loss of one pet is devastating. i cannot imagine the loss of two beloved furries in a matter of two weeks. please know you’re in my thoughts and in my heart.

  43. rhoda says:

    oh honey. i read this when you first posted it but didn’t have a chance to comment yet so even though they’re belated, i send my condolences to you and the rest of your family. nipper sounded like a great cat. i particularly loved the bit about not needing to get her fixed. lol.

Leave a Reply

