Ishbel

July 4, 2009

Thank you all so much for your comments about Maggie – I was overwhelmed to hear from all of you – it helped to read all the comments.  It has been an adjustment for everyone – the other two dogs seem sad, and we’ve been trying to give them lots of attention and love.  It is weird to have just the two of them, and I think they are confused by it.  But for us, it is  the little things we keep on coming across that remind us again that she’s not here that make it hard – someone mentioned toasting marshmallows but I just couldn’t do it – she loved them so much I couldn’t imagine having without her (I know – you all think we did nothing but give this dog junk food – but she really did love certain things and she was completely spoiled).    But we know that we did the best thing for her in the end.  Thanks though – I really appreciate all of the support.

I don’t want to do to another post that makes people sad, and in the spirit of trying to keep my mind (and yours) off things, how about a finished object?  Yesterday, I cast off Ishbel.  And I’m pretty happy with it…

1584

Pattern:  Ishbel
Yarn:  Wollmeise Sockenwolle, Colorway Am Kalten Polar
Started:  June 17, 2009
Finished:  July 3, 2009

If you recall, I started this with laceweight, but pulled it off the needles by accident.  I’m so glad I restarted this with fingering weight – I like the weight of this.  This is the small version, but I like the size of it. 

1586

I really enjoyed the pattern – it really went pretty fast – just a bit more than 2 weeks.  The stockinette part was very fast, and the lace went well – a very easy pattern.  I think this would make a great beginner lace pattern.

1592

As I’ve mentioned before, I think this is an amazing colorway – it really is beautiful and really deep rich colors.   The yarn  is soft, and I liked working with it.  I don’t think the yarn base is my favorite but her dyeing is really amazing.  And this is the perfect shawl for a slightly varigated yarn.  I probably could have made this bigger – I think I have about 1/3 of the skein left, but I think its a good size.  I’m not sure who this is for – I may put it aside for holiday gift giving.  Or I may keep it for myself. 

 1588

Cieara was very nice to model for me today – she’s actually not feeling well.  She’s been running a high fever for days – we went to the doctor yesterday, and she wanted to wait unitl Monday to run tests.  So Cieara’s been taking Tylenol every 6 hours – and when she doesn’t, the fever comes back.  The doctor suspects lyme disease.  But we hope that she doesn’t have it and that she’ll be better soon – she’s very crabby and tired.    So we are taking an easy day at home today – just relaxing, watching movies, walking dogs and using our new smoker (we are having ribs – cross your fingers they come out since this is our first time using this!).   I started a new project, but more on that next time when I have some pictures.

OK, time to go grill some shrimp – if you are in the US, Happy 4th of July!  And if you are elsewhere, I hope you are having a wonderful weekend!