Moo

Tonight we said goodbye to Maggie, our Moo.

1574

It was time, and after talking to the vet last week, we finally accepted that she was sick, and that it was time to let her go.  And it was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done.

maggiemoo

We’ve had Maggie since she was a puppy – we had 13 years of her playing fetch, eating donuts, eating popcorn, eating M&M’s (see a theme?), taking her to work, taking walks, faking out the other dogs and a million other things that made her the Moo.   She was an amazing dog, and our family will not be the same without her.

She went peacefully, under a tree outside the vet’s office.  She went with Larry, Andrew and I petting her, and with Dan and Cieara sending her love from home.    We will miss her always.

41 Responses to Moo

  1. Debbie says:

    I am so sorry Jeanne, its such a hard thing to do but its the right thing. I had to put my 21 year old cat Hobbes down too, sorry you had to go through the same thing.

  2. Stacy says:

    I’m so so sorry Jeanne. Losing a pet is losing a family member. {{{Hugs}}}

  3. Steven says:

    Oh, Jeanne. I’m so sorry you had to go through this and full of admiration that you were brave enough to make such a difficult, but necessary decision. Boy, this is bringing back a flood of memories. And thanks for posting these great pictures of what was clearly a dog with personality plus.

    Hugs to you and your family from me and Jeff.

  4. Valerie says:

    I am so sorry Jeanne. She was a beautiful girl. I wish I could give more comfort than these words.

  5. nestra says:

    I’m sorry for your loss, our pets stay for such a short time and leave such a huge hole when they go.

  6. Eileen says:

    I’m sorry for your loss. We lost a pet recently and still miss him very much. They really work their way into your hear don’t they?

  7. Walden says:

    I am very sorry.

  8. Rachel says:

    So sorry for your loss Jean.

  9. knitobsession says:

    My heart is breaking for you.

  10. Diane says:

    I am so so sorry. It’s one of the hardest things to go through, the loss of a pet. My heart goes out to you.

  11. Debbie says:

    This is one of the hardest things a person goes through in life. I’m so sorry for your loss.

  12. kim says:

    Oh, I am so sorry for your loss. I don’t think there are many things more difficult than the loss of a beloved pet/family member. Hugs to you.

  13. Denise says:

    Jeanne, sorry to hear this!

  14. Robby says:

    My deepest sympathies. It is always so hard to lose a family member, no matter how many legs they walk on.

  15. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- That is so hard. I can’t bear it.

    Dogs are our best friends. They never care if we’re not at our best- they just accept and love.

  16. Lisa says:

    Oh Jeanne – I’m so sorry – what a tough thing to do. Those eyes are wonderful – clearly a wonderful part of your family and so hard to say goodbye. Take care of yourselves!

  17. Kim says:

    Oh Jeanne, I am so sorry. Sitting here in my cube at work with tears in my eyes. Sending hugs.

  18. donna lee says:

    I have made that tough decision and I know how hard it is. I’m sorry. Doesn’t seem to be enough but know that my thoughts are with you today.

  19. iyi says:

    May she rest in peace now. I am extrememly saddened by your loss. I know what a difficult decision that was to make. It was wonderful that she had family members by her side at the end. Take care.

  20. knitwonpurltoo says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. She had such a sweet sweet face.

  21. weezalana says:

    I’m so sorry, Jeanne. She was a great dog, and was well loved. Many hugs.

  22. katie m. says:

    How sad. Sending good thoughts your way.

  23. Cookie says:

    Oh, honey, I am so sorry. That is without question the hardest thing to do, but you did what she needed you to do. You gave her the release that her body needed and, in a lot of ways, she will always be with you.

    xo

  24. rhoda says:

    awww, so sorry to hear about maggie. 😦 i’m sure it was a difficult decision to make.

  25. Stephanie says:

    I’m sorry for your loss, but glad that Maggie doesn’t have to be sick and suffering. I hope you’re doing all right.

  26. Kim says:

    My parent’s pup of 16 years went yesterday too…maybe they are romping around somewhere enjoying sandwiches (that was her favorite food).

    Hugs, so sorry for your loss.

  27. Lauren says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss, Jeanne. How sad. Sending love and hugs to you and the family.

  28. Pixie says:

    ((((hug)))

    There just aren’t words…

  29. Ren says:

    i’m so sorry to hear about your dog… pets are such a part of the family, aren’t they?

  30. Bridget says:

    God bless all of you. Everyone here will say a special prayer for Maggie and for your family.

    At least now you *know* someone special is watching over you …

  31. Opal says:

    i am so sorry, jeanne. you have my heartfelt condolensces. please know my thoughts and best wishes are with you and your family. it’s never easy losing a four-legged family member.

  32. Suzanne says:

    I am so sorry to hear about Maggie. I’m glad she went peacefully and surrounded by love. My heart goes out to you and your family.

  33. Anna says:

    Oh, I’m so sorry for your loss, Jeanne. What a sad time for you.

  34. Shea says:

    I never met your Moo, and almost started crying anyway. We’re about to have to do this with two of our dogs. One of them is 17 years old and has gone deaf and has two slip discs and the other is almost 14 and has hip issues and has to be carried up the four steps of our deck. I’m so sorry to hear of your loss. The loss of a family pet is so heartbreaking.

  35. Kerry says:

    I’m really sorry to hear your sad news. Your comfort is that she is out of any pain and went with you by her side. xx

  36. So sorry about your Maggie Moo. That is so hard, I know. Hugs!

  37. Rebekah says:

    My h eart is breaking for you guys, I’m so sorry I didn’t check in sooner, I’ve been away from the house for a few days.

    No matter how wonderful a life she had, its always so hard to say good-bye. But I can tell from her pictures she was an extremely well-loved and well cared for family member.

    I’m so sorry.

  38. kitkatknit says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your dearest Maggie. She was greeted at the Rainbow Bridge by our Rosemary, who gave her the cooks tour of her new home.

  39. Elise says:

    I’m so sorry for you and your family. Animals are so special and my heart goes out for you.

  40. Chris says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss – I know how much Maggie meant to you and I know what a great home she had with you. You’re all in my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

