Diagonal Lace Socks

I forced myself to put down Ishbel, and pick up the sock – I was so close and it was time to finish them….

1546

Pattern:  Diagonal Lace from Socks from the Toe Up
Yarn:  ShibuiKnits Sock, Pagoda Colorway (bought at the Loopy Ewe)
Started:  May 24, 2009
Finished:  June 27, 2009

Another toe up pattern from Wendy’s book – and I have to say, I really enjoyed it.  I think its a great pattern, very easy to memorize and I like the way it looks.  I used Wendy’s gusset heel, and started with Judy’s Magic Cast on.    I do love the patterns in this book – there are so many in it that I want to make, which I think its unusual.  I typically see one or two patterns that I want to make, or do make, but I can see making all of patterns in this book.   Really recommend it!

1547

I bought this yarn because I had seen it on Opal’s blog and wanted to try it.  I am so glad I did – this is great sock yarn – beautiful colors, and just a nice feel.  I’ll definitely be getting more.   There are so many nice sock yarns out there – but its always nice to find another one!

1551

I’m glad I finished these – these were my June sock of the month (started a little early, but still…!), and I wanted to get them done before the end of the month.   I have 6 bags left to pick from – but I’ve bought new yarn as well, so its going to be hard to focus and keep with the bags and not just start a new pair of socks with new yarn.  In fact, I think this pair didn’t come from a bag…but still, it was stash yarn so I’m counting it!

I’m so glad it is the weekend – its been a long week.  I’m taking a long weekend next weekend for the 4th holiday, and I’m looking forward to it!  Work has been really busy, so it will be nice to have a nice long weekend.  What are you doing for the 4th (or what do you do any long summer weekend)?  We are looking for ideas!

I’m still looking for yarn for Ulmus – I haven’t decided on what yarn, what colors yet but I keep on looking.  I’m holding off on getting anything because a) I really need to finish some of my current projects b) really should look in the stash to see if I have something that would work and c) can’t decide!  This is my favorite part of a project – thinking about what yarn to use, planning it, being excited. 

OK, I’m off – lots to do today.  Have a great weekend!

19 Responses to Diagonal Lace Socks

  1. Rhonda says:

    They look great. I’ll have to try that one.

  2. I love the sock. For some reason, oranges like that have been attracting me lately, though I used to think I hated orange.

    I just bought Wendy’s book, but I’m nervous about doing toe-up. The ONLY reason I want to do toe-up is so I can do Wendy’s gorgeous designs. I’ve heard there can be issues with fit — have you (and anyone else) found this to be true?

  3. They look great! The orange is very summery… sort of like sherbet.

  4. Rachel says:

    Lovely new socks!
    Knitting all patterns from one book is really unusual I think – go for it and have fun 🙂

  5. rebekahsyarn says:

    Those are quite beautiful. Love the colors.

  6. Denise says:

    Beautiful! They are next on my list from that great book.

  7. weezalana says:

    Great socks! I’ll have to check out that book.

    We haven’t figured out what we’re doing for the long weekend. But our little suburb has a fireworks display on the Fourth, so we’ll definitely be going to that. Everyone brings chairs and blankets and sits on the main street to watch. It’s very small town, I love it!

  8. Steven says:

    Beautiful socks. I always knit mine with long cuffs — I need to try some that are more “footie.” The combination of subtle color striping and lace pattern in your socks really works!

  9. katie m. says:

    I love the color! Very cheerful for summer!

  10. ruthee says:

    I love Shibui sock yarn – great choice for the socks. The twist is perfect for a stitch pattern like that and the color is so lovely!

  11. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Those are great. I may be tempted to try a toe-up.

  12. Valerie says:

    Socks looks great. I have a par of slips that I am this close to finishing but just haven’t gotten around to it

  13. Valerie says:

    that should be slippers… not slips… woops

  14. Kim says:

    Thank you for commenting on Shibu as there is some resting on my shelf. The yarn works very well with the pattern.

    Have a great Fourth. We will be spending a lazy day by the pool and head downtown to a park for fireworks.

  15. Oiyi says:

    This colorway is gorgeous! It’s a really nice sock pattern.

  16. rhoda says:

    beautiful! i love when a yarn and a pattern are just meant to be. 🙂 i was admiring this pattern myself in the book.

  17. Ren says:

    great socks! the diagonal lace is really pretty. : )

  18. Opal says:

    i adore these socks! pagoda is one of my favorite shibui colorways!

  19. Anna says:

    They look lovely, great yarn/pattern combination. I really want to get that book!

Leave a Reply

