Yarn Overload

I’m not sure where to start, but in the last few days, I’ve bought a little bit of yarn and for the first time in a long time, I can say I’m officially on yarn overload!

So what did I get? Well, I got some Sweet Georgia sock yarn from a destash on Ravelry (the destash group is a dangerous place to lurk!).

 1515

And I bought some Malabrigo Sock and Toe Jamz from The Loopy Ewe (this is totally Steve’s fault – he enabled the Malabrigo purchase by showing his gorgeous socks!)

1520 1513

And then yesterday – my knitting group went on a yarn crawl to a couple of local stores.  We went to Kraemer’s  first – I didn’t buy anything there – they seem to be phasing out all but their own yarn, and I just didn’t see anything that really grabbed me.  After a really nice lunch at a restaurant in Bethlehem (great wine!), we headed to The Knitters Edge.  I had been there before – it was pretty soon after they opened  and it was ok – gorgeous store, but didn’t have a lot of yarn.    So I didn’t think I’d be tempted when we went yesterday.  I was wrong.  The store has really stocked up on yarn – and they had so many nice yarns it was hard to decide.   I think everyone went a little overboard at Knitters Edge – but its a great store, and I recommend it highly.  They have a beautiful knitting area too, so definitely check it out when you have time to sit and knit.

OK, how overboard did I go?  I bought a little cashmere (you should feel this – amazing!)

1514

One of the salespeople was making the Knit One Below scarf – it was so cute that I had to buy yarn to make it. So I picked some Mini Mochi and Galway Worsted to make it

1522 1525

I couldn’t resist this sock yarn – I loved the colors and it is like nothing else I have in the stash – Blue Ridge Kaldeiscope

1516

Finally – to top all that off… Chris gave me some Kauni yarn – I had mentioned that I wanted to try it and she just gave it to me.  How nice is that?

1524

Are you as yarn overwhelmed as I am?  I don’t think I’ll be buying yarn for a while now.  Really.  I love everything I bought, and I’m happy I did – but its enough for now, and now its time to start using some of it! 

I bought all of this yarn with the money that I made from my book and yarn destash on Ravelry – I’ve been cleaning out my shelves and bins and selling anything that I didn’t think that I’d ever use.    Although this is a little bit of yarn, this is still less than what I’ve sold, so the net effect is less stuff.  Which is exactly what I’m going for – little less stuff, little more cashmere!

Its been such a great weekend – I’ve spent time with friend and family, and have had plenty of time to sit and knit too.  Isn’t it amazing how some weekends are just perfect?  I can’t imagine a better weekend, or adding anything to this one to make it better.  Well…maybe I can….

1509

I bought one more thing – Baby Alpaca Lace – gorgeous!  So soft.  So beautiful.  I just couldn’t resist using it immediately.  I started a scarf – but although it is the perfect color for this, it just wasn’t doing it for me.   And then I remembered a pattern that Jacqui said she loved – and I love it too.  Ishbel.  Perfect – this yarn is amazing, and I’m enjoying the pattern.  The perfect way to end my perfect weekend.

I hope your weekend was perfect too!  Enjoy the rest of it!

22 Responses to Yarn Overload

  1. Cookie says:

    Woo Hoo!

    It’s officially overload until the Visa people call to check on you. ;^)

  2. Cookie says:

    It’s not officially…

    /sigh

  3. Valerie says:

    I think we all need a little spending splurge like that once in a while… it’s like bears who stock up on food to hibernate all winter… only its yarn (which keeps you warm even better than fat!)

  4. You have a lot of knitting set out before you; it’s going to be great! I love the green alpaca lace for your Ishbel. Beautiful. And the colors of the Malabrigo Sock!

  5. Opal says:

    oooh! mini mochi! i’ve been dying to get my hands on some of that.

    really awesome haul. 🙂

  6. Oh yarn, you are so loved! The cashmere looks soft even on a monitor, I can’t imagine how great it must feel. Have fun playing with all your new goodies.

  7. Rachel says:

    Nice new yarns. It is so hard to keep being good at not buying it,,, 🙂

  8. Wanda says:

    I go through phases when I buy a lot and then I put on a cap on spending. It does serve me well in times of less spending, as I have a large stash to serve me in lean times.

  9. Robby says:

    “little less stuff, little more cashmere!” Words to live by IMO. Might as well enjoy it once you own it.

  10. Lauren says:

    OK ok- rub it in!!! So much beautiful yarn! SO sorry I missed you guys again; there are so many extraordinary things going on here these days. Next on the list- moving… again. Don’t cross me off your list yet- I’m working hard to get to a meeting soon. Hugs!

  11. Steven says:

    Mwahaha! Can’t wait to see what you make with the Malabrigo. How nice to get more stuff you really want with the net effect of having less overall. Genius. We should all aspire to that. Glad to hear your weekend went well. Here’s to more!

  12. Rhonda says:

    Sounds like my kinda weekend. And yes, that destash group on Rav is dangerous. I got on a STR kick awhile ago, and I should be good for a little while. 😉

  13. chris says:

    Great additions to the stash! I was eyeing Ishbel for my red alpaca lace – I might bring it on vacation with me – I don’t know…..so much to knit….so little time! It was a great time!!!

  14. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Are we related? Ishbel is on the list. I love all your yarn choices.

    Kauni is very shetland like, but softens up when you wash it.

  15. Diane says:

    Oh my, such gorgeous yarns! Enjoy!

    I went and peeked at ishbel. So pretty. hmmmm, might have to add it to my list.

  16. katie m. says:

    Wow! You found such great yarn! The stash must be very happy … can’t wait to see it all in action. Happy knitting!

  17. rebekahsyarn says:

    Beatiful purchases! I think I’ll stay away from the Ravelry Destash group, that is the last thing I need is more yarn. But I love living vicariously through other people’s purchases. Enjoy!

    Oh and cashmere, yum! Although I still can’t figure out what to make with mine from Alaska, it has to be the perfect project.

  18. Anna says:

    I love how you call all that a ‘little bit’ of yarn ;). What a great idea, destashing old books to buy cashmere!

  19. Oiyi says:

    Wow, they are all lovely additions to the stash! Yeah, the Book Destash Group is also just as dangerous. Don’t ask me how I know.

    That is going to be a awesome Ishbel!

  20. weezalana says:

    When I first read the title, I thought it said, “Yarn Overlord”. Which you certainly could be. 😉

  21. Shea says:

    I’m officially jealous now. That Toe Jamz yarn is gorgeous.

  22. rhoda says:

    you weren’t kidding about yarn overload–i think we all go through that though so it’s okay. 🙂 i cast on for an ishbel too!

Leave a Reply

