Love it!

Where has toe up been all my life?

1457

Isn’t that amazing?  Look at that heel!  I love it.  It was so easy, and so fast.  OK, sure – the yarn is closer to a sport weight than fingering, but I’m knitting on a US 1 and still finished it in two days.  I used the gusset heel from Wendy’s book, and it was so easy.  And fun.  I’ve never enjoyed a heel more.   I did the leg in a 3×1 rib, and had enough yarn for about a 4. 5 inch cuff- which is fine for Larry.  Unfortunately, I already ordered more yarn, but I’ve sent an email to them requesting that the order be cancelled.  But I’m ok if they can’t  – I like the yarn, so maybe I’ll make a matching pair for me.    I can’t believe how much I like toe up.  And I’m kicking myself for not trying this sooner.  I’m going to start the second sock tonight so I have something to knit at knitting group – and I’m sure I’ll finish this in no time!

I thought I’d finally show a picture of Nefertiti – I’m just about done with chart 6, and still loving it (although got distracted from it by the sock). 

1458

This really is a great pattern – and I think its going to be really pretty when its blocked…can you see the serpentine vines?

1461

The Enchanted Knoll laceweight is amazing to work with – I’m really enjoying it.    And I love the colorway.  Sigh…so nice.   So hard to resist looking for more.

I went to the doctor yesterday and got the green light to go back to work on Monday.  So today was my last day of off time – Monday is going to be a really rude awakening after being off this long!   I haven’t done much in the last couple of days – putzing around the house, making cookies, watching movies.    Its been really nice to be off, but reality awaits on Monday.    I still have a nice weeekend in front of me – time with Larry and the kids, knitting group, and a little more time to relax. 

OK, I think I’ll go and work on Nefertiti for a while…have a great weekend!

24 Responses to Love it!

  1. Denise says:

    That is a beautiful heel.

  2. Cookie says:

    Woo Hoo!

    I knew you’d love toe-up. Beautiful lace!

    Make the most of your weekend!

  3. Steven says:

    See — I knew you’d like it. That looks like it was made on a machine! (I hope you take that as a compliment). Excellent job. And my condolences on heading back to work Monday — I’ll be thinking about you as I head off for two weeks of vacation! Seriously, though — green lights are good.

  4. Your sock is impressively great! Congrats. And Nefertiti is going to be stunning.

  5. Chris says:

    Lookit you go! Now……you just have to try magic loop! The shawl is gorgeous. And you take it easy getting back to work!

  6. Rhonda says:

    That lace is nice. Got some already thanks to you! 🙂

  7. misa says:

    Nefertiti is gawr-geous. I love the colors and the pattern. Sorry about the work thingy.

  8. brokeknits says:

    Nice looking sock! Glad you like the new method — so exciting to find something new! And the shawl looks great.

  9. Two days ~ that’s crazy fast! Nefertiti is beautiful, can’t wait to see it all blocked out.

  10. Kim says:

    Have a wonderful weekend. I haven’t mastered the toe-up yet, yours looks fantastic.

  11. Lucette says:

    So glad that you are getting better even if it means back to work. And the sock heel is so smooth, — I would like to try this heel soon.

  12. kim says:

    I have never been brave enough to try the toe-up sock. That looks so neat and tidy. I love it!

  13. Oiyi says:

    Your post title made me giggle. I don’t care if it’s toe up or top down, I am going to knit one pair of sicks this year. I swear!

  14. rebekahsyarn says:

    I made toe-ups once, of course now I can’t remember which socks it was on. They were nice to do, although I’m not really sure which I actually prefer.

    Your shawl is gorgeous! I love the color cominbations in the yarn.

  15. Linda says:

    Perfect Socks, I enjoyed that heel too! It’s great!

  16. rhoda says:

    i think that’s what I like best about toe-ups..the heel. 🙂 wow. nefertiti looks gorgeous! Love everything about it. 🙂

  17. tiennie says:

    Doesn’t toe up rock? I love that nefertiti shawl. I can’t wait to see yours all blocked!

  18. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Yes, she has some Cleopatra sock yarn up-
    I have to not look!

  19. Opal says:

    both your projects are just gorgeous! i’m in love with that lace yarn your knitting with!

    i hope you’re surviving this week back to work okay. it must be tough going back to the grind after such a lovely interlude.

  20. Mrs MJW says:

    Love the socks. They look so thick and cozy.

  21. vickiknit says:

    I really like toe up too, of course that’s all I’ve ever done. Your shawl is just beautiful!

  22. Anna says:

    I love toe- up socks – I always feel I’ll get the most out of my yarn as I can just keep going until it’s all used up. But I’ve only ever done short row heels, which I don’t like as much as a gusset heel. So, thank you! I will have to get the book now!

    The lace is looking lovely too.

  23. Wanda says:

    The Nefertiti Wrap looks amazing. That yarn is gorgeous.

  24. Carrie Thompson says:

    You’ve really inspired me to do toe-up socks! I love the way they look. Hope I can figure it out.

Leave a Reply

