Something new

This morning I decided that it was time to try something new – I’ve been sort of avoiding it all week because I expected it to be really difficult…but it wasn’t that bad!

1449

Thanks for all the great advice on toe up’s!  I used Judy’s Magic Cast on and got it on the second try.  It really was pretty easy…although it felt a little awkward (sort of like how continental knitting feels – I just don’t know how to hold my fingers).

I have been working on it all day – but ended up frogging it back to the increase because I thought they were too big…but then once I got going, they seem to be going pretty fast.

1454

This is Regia Silk – I think its probably better on a larger needle, but I started these on US 1’s, and didn’t want to frog them back again.  It is a very sturdy fabric, but I think they will be fine – and warm.  I like the yarn, but have a problem – when I bought it I didn’t realize that the yardage per skein is only about 130 yards – and I only bought two.  So I can either make short socks, or I can buy two more skeins and hope that the colors aren’t too different.  I’m leaning towards the latter, and am waiting for someone to message me back on Ravelry about some she has for sale.  Otherwise, I can get them from Elann

I am really enjoying this, and am looking foward to getting to the heel – I hope that it is  as painless as the toe was!

I’m feeling better every day, and starting to really enjoy the time off work.  Yesterday, I went for a pedicure, and went to the yarn store with Chris (I’ll post pictures next time).  Today I got my hair done, and have been sitting around watching movies.  Very relaxing, and lots of knitting time.  I could get used to this!   I suppose that I’d eventually get really bored with all this relaxing…but for now its sort of nice.

Ok, I’m off to get closer to my heel..have a great rest of the week!

19 Responses to Something new

  1. chris says:

    Looks great!!!! So glad you’re feeling better – you just keep getting rest and relaxing and you’ll be good as new in no time!

  2. Steven says:

    Man, you’re really moving on that sock. And don’t worry — the heel will be a breeze now that you’ve mastered the toe. Great work! And I’m very fond of the muted dark colors, so I approve. 😉

  3. Denise says:

    I’m all for anything that eliminates finishing, and this is a great alternative to the dreaded kirchener stitch. How are you going to do the heel? I recently did a pair of socks using an afterthought heel, and it made sock go very fast. Glad to hear you are on the mend!

  4. Mary says:

    Are you sure the Regia Silk is only 130 yards? I have some in my stash that are 218 each.

  5. Valerie says:

    You’re giving me yarn envy again.. just thinking about the silk in those socks makes me want to go out and buy new yarn.

    I personally love ankle socks, but it does stink when you think you have more yarn than you really do.

  6. Lauren says:

    So glad you’re feeling well! AND so glad to hear you’re finally knitting socks the way god intended.
    Hugs.

  7. Lauren says:

    BTW- The Woolly Lamb is having a big sale this week…

  8. Glad you’re feeling better! Knitting always helps, doesn’t it? And isn’t Judy’s Magic Cast On absolutely brilliant?

  9. That’s really neat! The few times I used Judy’s Magic Cast On it’s worked so well. If you don’t wear short socks I’d get more yarn… there’s no point in making something you won’t use.

  10. brokeknits says:

    Congrats on mastering the magic cast-on! I’ve never run out of yarn using Regia, so hopefully you won’t have any trouble. Happy relaxing!

  11. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Bored with relaxing? Never. Not with your stash!

  12. Elise says:

    Very impressed that you’re trying toe up! Glad you’re relaxing and recovering well too. I like the figure 8 cast on better – only because I don’t forget how to do it like this one.
    http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEwinter02/FEATtiptoptoes.html

  13. donna lee says:

    Sounds like you’re feeling better. I like toe up socks but they always look so big until I slip them on my feet. Be careful when you get to the cast off to make sure it’s loose, very loose or they won’t fit over your heel.

    And I love your monkeys. It’s funny, I was just thinking it was time to make a pair of monkeys.

  14. tiennie says:

    Toe-up is my favorite way to knit socks for my hubby to ensure I don’t run out of yarn. I do love going cuff down just to do the kitchener stitch.

  15. misa says:

    I’ve done a toe up, only once though. It didn’t seem to hard, I used the directions in Sensational Knitted Socks. You’re cruising on those socks, I would buy more and not worry about color lots.

  16. Stephanie says:

    Awww yay! I’m glad you figured out the toe-up cast on! It seemed like it was bugging you a while ago. They do seem like they just fly when you start at the toe!

  17. Linda says:

    Judy’s Magic Cast On is the best, I’ve been using for a while and really prefer toe ups most the time. Good going!

  18. rhoda says:

    yay for toe-ups! 🙂

  19. Opal says:

    i’m so glad you’re convalescing so nicely! it sounds like you’re really enjoying yourself too.

Leave a Reply

