Sock of the Month – May Monkeys

Since I had a lot of knitting time this weekend, I decided that I’d finish my socks before I got really obsessed with the new project..

1427

I do love the Monkey pattern!  I can’t think of another sock pattern that knits up so fast…

Details..

Yarn: Socks that Rock, colorway Flower Power
Pattern:  Monkey, Knitty 2006
Started:  April 20, 2009
Finished:  May 9, 2009

1428

I think this is another sock that shows the difficulty of matching yarn to pattern.  This is really varigated yarn, and although there is some regular striping, I think it also has the potential for major pooling.  But the Monkey pattern seems to be ok with it – it doesn’t get too lost in all the colors.  I think that a plain sock pattern probably would be best for STR, but I would be pretty bored with doing that all the time.  I still have some Socks that Rock in the stash, so I need to look on Ravelry to see what pattern people are using with it…

1431

I do like Socks that Rock – such great yarn, such a pretty colorway.  And another month done for my personal sock club.  I have completed 3 socks so far this year – which is ok since I decided to do the club every other month.  So I’m actually a little ahead. 

I had a wonderful weekend and a very nice Mother’s Day.    Larry and the kids really were great, and made it such a ncie day for me.  I got very nice gifts from all of them, including an afternoon at the movies (Star Trek – and really enjoyed it) – and it was so nice to get out of the house!  I think I’m starting to go a little stir crazy.    I’m feeling better, but still get tired very easily. 

One of the gifts Larry bought me was a Wendy’s toe up sock book – I have wanted to learn this method for a while, so I was excited when I opened the present and saw the book.  I opened my next sock of the month package on Saturday –

726

I think this will be perfect to try Wendy’s basic pattern for toe up…and it really is pretty yarn.  Any suggestions or advice on toe up?  Do you prefer toe up, or do you like cuff down?

I did start the Nefertiti Wrap and it is absolutely gorgeous.  What a great pattern!  And the yarn – Enchanted Knoll….absolutely gorgeous, and so soft.  As I knit with it, I keep on thinking that I should go to her store and buy more.    So far I haven’t, but I can’t say that I’ll be all that strong about it!  I’m really enjoying the pattern though, and I’m just about done with chart 5 (there at 18 charts – yikes!). 

I think I’ve decided what to do with the Aeolian shawl (thanks for all the good advice!) –    I’m going to frog it today – I think I’ve known for a while that its just not working and that it needs a smaller needle.  I do think part of the issue is the yarn – the 100% alpaca just doesn’t have the drape or bounce of wool, so it just seems different in laceweight.   I will restart it after I finish the Nefertiti though – I don’t want to have two shawls going at once.    But I really do want to make the Aeolian – the finished ones I’ve seen are really gorgeous!

OK, time to get dressed and help Larry with the garden (I get to just watch – maybe hand him plants!).  Have a great week!

24 Responses to Sock of the Month – May Monkeys

  1. Stephanie says:

    That sounds like a lovely weekend! I’m glad you enjoyed Star Trek; I want to see that sometime soon too. Also, great socks! I think my sock mojo is going to hit me bad really soon, and this is helping it along.

  2. Valerie says:

    Gorgeous socks, and I think that’s a great pattern for them.

  3. Steven says:

    I go back and forth between top down and toe up. They’re both great. My advice, though, is to not let the new method frustrate you too much. When I did my first toe up sock, I was new to short rows and all the newness freaked me out. I tried that first toe 9 times before I got it right (yes, I counted).

    But stick with it — take deep breaths. A whole new world of sock knitting awaits!

  4. Lucette says:

    Your opening photo has a great optical quality, for to me it looks like sandals. And the new star trek sounds awesome. I recently attended a concert of sci-fi music and “Mr Sulu” was narrating. It was fabulous.

  5. Christianne says:

    Pretty socks! I think you’ll like toe-up – when you’re done, you’re done – and if you worry about having enough yarn, it’s easier to do the foot first. I use the Turkish cast on instead of the provisonal – I think you’ll like it! Have fun. Would love to see a photo of the shawl, too – I’m on chart 3 and it’s such a fun knit!

  6. Kim says:

    Your Monkeys are FREAKING. AWESOME.

    Another pattern that’s great for STR is RPM (also a knitty pattern) . Ampersand is a good one too (also free on ravelry)

  7. tiennie says:

    Those are very pretty! Glad you had a great Mother’s Day! I loved Star Trek too. 🙂

  8. Rhonda says:

    Oh, I do love Monkeys. I want another pair. The only STR I’ve used so far was Scottish Highlands.
    Dublin Bay pattern. That colourway did a spiral stripey thing. I loved the colour in the skein but not so much knit up, but I do have several other colours in m stash waiting.

  9. Anna says:

    Love the socks! I think the pattern works fine with this yarn – it’s kind of uniformly ‘busy’ and doesn’t seem to detract from the stitch pattern. Glad you had a good mothers’ day, and I’m jealous about Star Trek – can’t wait to see it myself!

  10. Your socks look great! I have zero toe up advice but having a book seems like a great idea.

    Hope you’re still feeling better

  11. shea says:

    The socks are cute! Every monkey sock that I’ve seen really likes variegated yarns. It may be the only pattern that I’ve ever seen that with.

    Glad your surgery went well. Enjoy all your extra knitting time!

  12. brokeknits says:

    Those are some great Monkeys! Looks like a pretty perfect pairing to me … Enjoy learning toe-up socks!

  13. Walden says:

    Congrats on getting the book! That’s one of the books I am hoping to get eventually. I love how the socks turned out. On your question about the yarn I am using on my knee-highs, it is Kauni, mine is the EQ colorway.

  14. weezalana says:

    Lovely Monkeys!

    While I generally prefer going cuff-down, I have done a few toe-ups! (Am working on one now, in fact!) I HIGHLY recommend Judy’s Magic Cast-on (from knitty) for toe-up toes.

  15. Missy says:

    ooooh I love your monkeys. Hope you had a great mother’s day.

  16. Oiyi says:

    The yarn worked really well with the Monkey pattern! I love the varigation. My friend knit me monkey socks in a more solid color and I love mine.

  17. Cute monkeys! I’ve not make any. Yet. You never know!

  18. misa says:

    I just posted my first pair of monkeys. Yours are lovely.

  19. kim says:

    I’m glad to hear that you are doing so well. I’m so far behind in commenting. The monkeys look fab!

  20. Ren says:

    great socks! love the yarn. : )

  21. rhoda says:

    glad to hear you had a great mother’s day. 🙂 the monkeys look great. i agree, str is probably best for plain vanilla socks but it wouldn’t be as much fun! I figured you’d end up frogging the aeolian.

  22. Opal says:

    i love your monkeys! they look fabulous!

    as for the toe-up vs. cuff down question? i can go either way, though i lean towads cuff down simply because i’ve done so many that way. also, i like the way heel flap heels feel. but wendy’s heels fit marvelously!

  23. vickiknit says:

    Such a pretty pattern and the yarn you chose looks nice with it. Great job!

  24. Wanda says:

    Love those socks. They turned out great. I was wondering what colorway that was of STR.

Leave a Reply

