Little bag

I have two briefcases – one is my summer briefcase that Andrew gave me two years ago for Christmas – its my summer one because it doesn’t close, so I use it when we don’t have a lot of bad weather.  I love it because its nice and big and I can fit everything – including my lunch and laptop – and only need to bring a small purse for my wallet and and knitting.   In the winter, though, I use a different briefcase – it zips closed, and keeps my stuff dry in all the snow, sleet and rain that I get in the walk to the train station and to work from the train.  This one holds my laptop, my wallet and my knitting (but not my lunch).   

I am still using my winter briefcase since we’ve been having a lot of rain, and usually just toss my knitting into it.  Last week, after I once again pulled out the wrong needle when I was pulling out the sock project, I decided that I really needed to buy a little project bag.   I had just started reading Linda’s blog, and really liked the cute bags she makes.  I wandered over to her Etsy store, and found the perfect bag to go with my winter briefcase.

1415

This is such a cute bag – just the perfect size for a sock project.  Its holding my 6″ DPN’s and a half ball of Socks that Rock.  I was concerned when I first got it – it seemed a little small – but everything fits in perfectly, and the bag is very roomy. 

1411

I love having this in my briefcase – I don’t have to worry that I’m going to break one of the needles, or pull out something – or that my yarn will get dirty.  It is so nice to have this little bag keeping it all safe and clean.  And its so freaking cute!

1413

I don’t know how to sew, and never really had an interest in it.    So I like finding people that will do it for me – and Linda has such cute patterns – I think I may need to get another one for my summer project transport!

I took today off – it was a spur of the moment thing yesterday on the train – I texted Larry and suggested it, and we both moved meetings around and are planning on just doing some fun, relaxing things together.  I’m going to the gym in a little bit (trying hard to keep on track!), and then I think I’m going to check out the new yarn store (just looking!) in Bethlehem.  And the new golf store.  And lunch.  And maybe a nap – because its a rainy day here and what is better than a nap on a rainy day?

No Maryland Sheep and Wool for me this year – we are focused on paying off debt and saving money right now, so I am rationally ok with the decision.  But emotionally I’m sort of whiny (Larry would agree!).  This is the second year I haven’t gone, and I do love going.  But I really don’t need the yarn, and I know that I won’t be able to go and just spend a little – something about being there makes me go completely overboard.    Last night I looked through my stash on Ravelry – and really – I do have nice yarn and need to use some of it up.  I’m thinking of making the Maikell shawl next and just need to find the right lace yarn in the stash.    So I’m focusing on stash this weekend, and trying not to think of all the fun at Maryland.

OK, time to go to the gym.  I hope you have a wonderful weekend!  And if you go to Maryland – have a great time!

23 Responses to Little bag

  1. Elise says:

    Enjoy your day off and a nice long weekend! I’m not going to Maryland either – plenty of yarn although it’s always fun to walk around and see what’s new. Hope to see you soon!

  2. donna lee says:

    Good idea to take the long weekend. I love spontaneous things like that. No MDS&W for me either. Too many repairs needed. I’ve never been and was really looking forward to it. I’ll try to take in the garden state show in september.

  3. weezalana says:

    Cute bag! I have all the sewing equipment and I’m trying very hard to like it. Maybe it will get better once I stop sucking at it…

  4. Jeannie says:

    I’ve been trying to knit from stash too. It’s so hard when there’s so many pretty things out there. 😉 Enjoy your day off!

  5. Steven says:

    Nice bag! And stay strong on your non-MS&W convictions. You made the right choice — stick to it. Still, I’m jealous of the people that are going, too. I’ve only been once — four years ago — only a few months after I started knitting. I know so much more know! One of these days the calendar will magically align itself so that I can go again…

  6. Chris says:

    Cute bag – and it sounds like a nice day – yarn, golf store, lunch, nap – what more could you ask for!

  7. Have a fun day off!

    Your new project bag is so cute. I love the way it matches your briefcase. I can sew but find it boring so as much as possible I try to support people who like it.

  8. Oiyi says:

    I like your red briefcase! And that little project bag is perfect for it.

    I have never been Maryland Sheep and Wool. I only felt a twinge of envy when I heard so many people were going from NYC. We are on a tight budget with only my husband working, so I don’t mind not going. I have been doing very well this year working from my stash. I seriously have plenty of yarn that I simply forgot about until I put all up on Ravelry. If finances allow and if I get my stash down enough, I will be going to Rhinebeck this year. I spent way too much at Rhinebeck last year, but I also bought fiber, so that’s different.

  9. Valerie says:

    That’s agreat idea.. I’m going to have to sew myself a little sock project bag!

  10. Kim says:

    I feel the tug to Maryland, but realistically, it is too far. Your project bag does match nicely and it is so darn cute…is that STR Flower Power peeking out of there?

  11. rhoda says:

    you’re so cute. you got a project bag to go with your winter briefcase? 🙂

  12. hakucho says:

    Very cute bag…I can see why you like it so much! Enjoy the rest of your weekend 🙂

  13. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- That is very virtuous of you, to knit from the stash. I know that if I went to MS&W- I would totally lose my mind.

    It’s best to be honest about such things.

  14. brokeknits says:

    Such a cute bag! Enjoy the long weekend … I hope it’s a good one, even without MDS&W.

  15. Mrs MJW says:

    Lovely bag….yummy yarn….not to mention those cupcakes! 🙂 Thanks for your comment on my henley perfected.

  16. Katy says:

    What a cute bag..I’m going to have to check out that Etsy store. I’m with you on the saving money…only I am trying like heck to stay away from Sock Summit. It’s hard when it’s just a short trip across town 😦

  17. tiennie says:

    I’m a bag person. Love them! I hope you had a wonderful weekend!

  18. Opal says:

    cute bag! i’m addicted to little project bags. this is bad because i feel like it’s perfectly fine to fill them all with projects and since i keep buying more and more of them.. well you get the idea. 🙂

    i hope you had a great weekend!

  19. socksformum says:

    Well it IS freaking cute! It even makes me want to pull out the sewing machine!

  20. Lucinda says:

    What a great project bag! I love it.

  21. Anna says:

    It’s lovely! I love having cute bags to keep my wips in, it just makes me happy when I get them out!

  22. Linda says:

    What a GORGEOUS briefcase! And I’m so glad you like your knit bag. I got a chuckle about the size, that seems to be a common reaction, but I love the compactness myself, I find it perfect. Enjoy!!!! And your Monkeys came out great, I have a skein of that same yarn I have yet to use….Hmmmm 🙂

  23. Wanda says:

    I like getting cute bags for projects too. I’m not going to my local S&W festival this year either. I have plenty of yarn and am working on knitting some of the stash down. And as you stated, it’s hard to control yourself, so it wouldn’t really be much fun for me to go.

Leave a Reply

